We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old French charm”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chez Pierrette

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bize-Minervois, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard A
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old French charm”
Reviewed July 15, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

A great stay in a lovely village, Chez Pierette is in a great location, within 2 minute walk of the village square.

This is a traditional French house - if you are looking for lots of granite worktops, marble floors etc this is not for you but if you want a spacious house with good facilities then this is a great choice. The lounge/dining area is joined onto a small kitchen which has the benefit of a dish washer as well as the usual stuff you'd expect to find (no microwave but this didn't bother us).

There is a separate room with TV showing English free-to-air channels which wa a great benefit as the kids could watch Love Island without subjecting us to it!!).

Two downstairs bedrooms are of a good size hand have access to toilet, shower and a small hip bath.

The main bedroom is on the first floor and is en suite (shower which had good pressure and temperature). The ground floor rooms were cool but the upstairs bedroom did get a bit hot as there's no air con, although a fan (provided) did take down the room temperature.

There is no internet/wifi access at the property. However there is free public wifi in the village square which we made good use of!! 3G/4G coverage is good also.

The property is very private, being behind gates with a lovely garden that catches the sun for much of the day (much time was spent in the hammock relaxing!). There is also a veranda off the main bedroom which is a real sun trap.

Bike itself is small but has 2 decent bakeries, there are some lovely French restaurants and the le Bizan bar is a great place to have a drink and watch the world go by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Good bits, bad bits.”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Bize Minervois is a lovely understated French village so the setting is great - the house was spacious and had good outside space for al fresco eating. The upstairs bedroom was by far the best, with a balcony to sit out on though the views were nowt special. The sound system was also excellent with some lovely tapes to listen to - downside was rubbish wi-fi and decor that needed some tlc - the kitchen in particular needed updating though everything worked - also the owner put cleaning costs on top of rental - they seemed steep and we had a bit of a dispute about them which was not a great way to end the hols - and the cleaner accused us of having an extra guest which was not true.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2017
Cleaning is an extra cost which is paid in Euros to the housekeeper and whose charges are below average.
We have never needed to withhold the deposit in 10 years but sadly it was necessary as these guests seemed unaware of their obligations to pay for their cleaning and laundry even though they were notified 3 times (next to the prices on this website, in an email and in the visitors notes they got). They caused complaints from the neighbours for noise and the cleaner for the state they left the place but are without doubt the exception to the norm as all our other guests have been absolutely lovely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug A
London
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house in an amazing location”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I travelled with our almost-two year old daughter and had a fantastic experience.

The house was great for a small child as we could 'live' entirely on a single floor. The garden provided a great space and eating on the terrace or out back was fantastic. The house itself kept very cool (again, important with kids!) and was really nicely set up.

The village is a brilliant base to enjoy a holiday in the Minervois region - you are 15 minutes away from Minerve, 25 minutes from Narbonne, 40 mins from Roquebrun etc. The village itself is great - three great-to-good places to eat, a wee supermarket, two good bakerys (one open on a Sunday) and a couple of local winerys. Many many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaughts
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming holiday rental”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Really great find, stone village house, which is more of a home than soulless holiday rental. We are a family of 5 and there was plenty of space for us. If you're wanting modern luxury then it may not be for you, but if you're wanting comfortable accommodation with charm and tranquility in a great location, then this is it. River swimming is wonderful, and a tad cold, local restaurants great, local people really friendly. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everitts2...
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staying here is a wonderful village experience in the heart of beautiful Languedoc”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a delightful house. It is set in an idyllic village where you are at the heart of the community. Each day a walk to the boulangerie for freshly baked bread is a wonderful way to start the day. The house is very well-equipped with everything necessary. The garden is wonderful for relaxing, eating al fresco and stargazing. The house is ideally placed for trips to Narbonne, Béziers, Carcassonne, the mountains, the Mediterranean Sea and many other attractions. We heartily recommend this holiday house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely atmosphere of the house and garden
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H
Blaby, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely house, garden and village with superb river swimming”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It really was perfect for us. It was the river swimming that attracted us and it didn't disappoint. It was lovely to have that so close at hand and the lakes nearby and the river at Roquebrun and Legrasse also. The garden was key though. It just made it such a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. Our son Tom loved the hammock - he read 5 books during our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Established family home with garden in friendly authentic village
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr_Eagle...
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok - although not as comfortable as we'd have liked and a real hassle sending keys back”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in this gite in July 2013. The gite is ok but not one of the best places that we have ever stayed and is a bit old fashioned in decor and quite dark heavy decor! Kitchen is basic and can cook simple meals (not a lot of dishes to prepare quiches/cakes etc) - but you will have to be a but of a contortionist to be able to open the oven and put things in and out! The visitor book that lists where things can be found is quite out of date and not everything is where it should be and not quite sure which information you should be following.

We quite like our comforts on holiday and so were disappointed that there were no sun-loungers and cushions to laze on in the garden. There are 4 big cushions to sit on, but would have been a real squish if 8 people on the comfort level and are quite heavy to drag into the garden and back. We didn't manage to find cushions for the plastic chairs during the whole of stay which made sitting at the table a bit uncomfortable.
The garden is quite nice though and the patio area and gazebo area are ok.

Bize-Minervois is a tiny town - restaurants are really not great, which is disappointing - we tried 2 of them and the food was average.

Although most people would probably not find the following a problem, we found dealing with the owners (who seem very nice) made the booking process etc more stressful than normal and have never had to deal with so many questions and emails before going away. We've booked a number of cottages/gites etc before from various websites and directly through owners and this has been far and away our worst experience in terms of hassle and questions and emails.

Make sure you buy a map and figure out your own route as the directions provided by the owners are a not great! Also surprised that upon booking the whole gite we were asked how many rooms we wanted making up - surely if we have paid for the whole property you just make the whole place up? We found the extra questions and contact with the owners a bit of a pain - probably because we were manic crazy at work and just wanted to book somewhere and turn up and not have to deal with yet more emails in our inboxes for something that should be relaxing and easy.

Also, beware - you will have to send the keys back to the owners - by recorded delivery at your own expense (and the map that they send you!) once you return to the UK and you will not get your deposit back until you do this - which is fine if you don't work and live near a post office, but if you aren't able to get to a post office upon your return you will have more stress to sort this out.

I would not go back to this gite - mainly because of the extra hassle involved in booking with emails and having to deal with the keys and I like to be alot more comfortable on holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Mattresses were comfortable
Liked least: Hassle of dealing with owners and sorting out keys
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your holiday.

Regarding the points you raised, when you arrived in the garden only the hammock would have been left out because the irrigation comes on at night but there were both cushions for the garden chairs and sun loungers available to you. A certain amount of initiative is needed to either look about for them (they are in an outhouse) or to read the Visitors Notes in the house, or the copy you had been sent.

You only had 2 personal emails before you went, one to ask how many bedrooms the 2 of you wanted made up and another with the Visitors Notes, a map of the Village and very detailed directions attached for you to print off. 

You yourselves generated the email traffic after your stay by not leaving the money for the cleaner and your issues with returning the keys. 

Our long key for the thick wooden exterior gates doesn't fit into a key safe like ones you may have used before, if posting keys back is an issue for potential future guests we can always arrange for the cleaner to meet you and let you in, however no one has ever found it so stressful before.

Perhaps even the Mediterranean sun in a beautiful medieval village can't warm every heart! 
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing