We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so loud!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bouliac
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“so loud!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is an amazing location, beautiful restaurant, wonderful service. But, they did a very modern small hotel attached to a wonderful old building. modern is form over function - stark, no room for anything and so loud...with cement floors and no carpet, there are no sound buffers. so only stay here if you dont need to sleep, you can hear people walking three floors below.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    109
    26
    24
    5
See reviews for
45
303
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The design of this hotel and individual rooms is intriguing, if not particularly comfortable. Because the rooms are long and thin, there is no chair next to the bed and there are no bedside tables. This makes it hard to put anything next to the bed, even a glass of water. The bathroom is in the middle to the deluxe rooms, and it is very dangerous to take a shower, as the bathtub is incredibly slipery. There is a table and two chairs near the entrance. The best feature of the rooms is that they all have gorgeous views of St. James vineyards and the city of Bordeaux.

The front desk personnel is of variable quality. However, they are often understaffed. We often had to wait as much as 15 minutes to ask a question.

Madame Chloe is exceptionally nice and helpful. Unfortunately, when we arrived on a Sunday night, she wasn't available. The hotel does not have doorbells, and at night and during the day, if you enter from the parking lot, you need to know the code. The receptionist forgot to give us the code when we arrived (I speak French, so it was not a problem of language).

One night we arrive late after dinner in heavy rain and couldn't enter the hotel from the parking lot. We had to walk around the hotel building to enter through the main entrance, and we got drenched. They appologized, but they didn't offer to iron my dinner jacket which looked like a wet rag due to their negligence for not telling us that there is a code.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank degusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
160 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff is great. The food is amazing.
The view is breathless and the environment peaceful and zen.
The rooms are great (ask one with its access to the garden on the ground floor).
But the bathrooms are nice but the finish touch around the walls and tub is cheap and not very steady.
That was the only flaw.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pincesdecrabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived on a wet Easter weekend. We had asked in advance whether the pool would be working, they said they would switch the heating on. They did and a great pool too. Warm, great view and long enough for laps. The rooms are large, good value, if a little quirky. The B&O sound system is a little dated but the furniture remains edgy. This is Jean Nouvel, not consensual chain style. The food is excellent, the wine list well priced and the staff unscathed by the usual supercilious manner of some Michelin gigs. Reception staff are very helpful and there was no wanton charging of irksome extras that characterises some R&C properties. You have to love a hotel that handles all age groups with such easy grace and provides a charming and affordable baby sitter at short notice without a hotel mark up. One of the better places I have visited in France.

Room Tip: rooms are a little noisy in a storm... modern architecture is more style than function
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outtahere-gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed there one night while visiting family nearby, and I had dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant exceeded my expectations and deserves more than 1 Michelin * according to me. I definitively recommend it, all the more as service was both efficient and casual. Minor complaint: Bordeaux greatest crus were priced at undecent levels (sometimes twice as expensive as in 3 * restaurants in Paris). Anyhow, this gave me a good opportunity to try less famous wines, which turned out to be excellent too.
As for the lodging, its eccentric design is fun but also a bit outdated now. Walking to the rooms requires passing in a corridor that separates the restaurant from its kitchen (very strange) and walking up and down stairs. If the bedroom offers an interesting view, it is not breath-taking as, besides of the vineyard in the foreground, you mainly see freeways and commercial malls around Bordeaux in the distance. Furthermore, you may also have a view of your neighbours' bedroom (see picture), meaning you and your neighbours have no privacy. Except if closing the roller shutter and finding yourself in the dark (no curtain in the room, why ?).
I had some minor issues during my stay, such as the housemaid entering my room at 11h15 am on departure day while I was taking a shower. As rooms have to be left at 12 noon and as I had not checked-out yet, I do not understand why she entered my room in the first place. The hotel does not provide a "do not disturb sign" and the door lock I had engaged obviously doe not prevent people from entering the room. I also suffered from noise coming from the room above mine (when people flushed their toilets and so on) and I am afraid the rooms conception is too old to provide modern sound proofing. I also regreted the fact that toiletries were not refilled for turndown service.
Anyhow, this is a nice property and hotel location is good to explore Saint Emilion and Pomerol areas. As Bouliac is far from the Medoc area and as driving to Bordeaux can take quite a while with the traffic jams (railway station is a 15 minute easy drive but going really to Bordeaux downtown can become a nightmare), I would recommend staying at the Saint James for a short stay, focused on Saint Emilion and Pomerol, and on indulging oneself at their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here on our road trip around Europe and we weren't disappointed.

Friendly staff, good service, fantastic food (although I don't think I've ever eat so much and so many courses in my life) and big well appointed rooms overlooking Bordeaux.

There isn't a lot to do in Bouliac, there is a small town, but if I read correctly the town was closed for renovations so we were mainly confined to the hotel.

We spent most of our time relaxing by the pool and enjoying the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgT_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We had the Harley Suite forb3 nights and paid far too much for what this room offers. We couldn't sit at the table infront of our room. There was no umbrella/shade and in summer you need it. There was an empty coke bottle lying next to the chair. The service was poor. They couldn't serve us a lunch next to the pool because they used all the tables for formal restaurant. Why do they have a pool menu. The staff was rude! Will not go back and what alot of money waisted.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouliac
4.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
Address: 3 Place Camille Hostein, 33270 Bouliac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bouliac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bouliac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauterive Saint James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing