We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, very original accommodation, good for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bouliac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed there one night while visiting family nearby, and I had dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant exceeded my expectations and deserves more than 1 Michelin * according to me. I definitively recommend it, all the more as service was both efficient and casual. Minor complaint: Bordeaux greatest crus were priced at undecent levels (sometimes twice as expensive as in 3 * restaurants in Paris). Anyhow, this gave me a good opportunity to try less famous wines, which turned out to be excellent too.
As for the lodging, its eccentric design is fun but also a bit outdated now. Walking to the rooms requires passing in a corridor that separates the restaurant from its kitchen (very strange) and walking up and down stairs. If the bedroom offers an interesting view, it is not breath-taking as, besides of the vineyard in the foreground, you mainly see freeways and commercial malls around Bordeaux in the distance. Furthermore, you may also have a view of your neighbours' bedroom (see picture), meaning you and your neighbours have no privacy. Except if closing the roller shutter and finding yourself in the dark (no curtain in the room, why ?).
I had some minor issues during my stay, such as the housemaid entering my room at 11h15 am on departure day while I was taking a shower. As rooms have to be left at 12 noon and as I had not checked-out yet, I do not understand why she entered my room in the first place. The hotel does not provide a "do not disturb sign" and the door lock I had engaged obviously doe not prevent people from entering the room. I also suffered from noise coming from the room above mine (when people flushed their toilets and so on) and I am afraid the rooms conception is too old to provide modern sound proofing. I also regreted the fact that toiletries were not refilled for turndown service.
Anyhow, this is a nice property and hotel location is good to explore Saint Emilion and Pomerol areas. As Bouliac is far from the Medoc area and as driving to Bordeaux can take quite a while with the traffic jams (railway station is a 15 minute easy drive but going really to Bordeaux downtown can become a nightmare), I would recommend staying at the Saint James for a short stay, focused on Saint Emilion and Pomerol, and on indulging oneself at their restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 499 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here on our road trip around Europe and we weren't disappointed.

Friendly staff, good service, fantastic food (although I don't think I've ever eat so much and so many courses in my life) and big well appointed rooms overlooking Bordeaux.

There isn't a lot to do in Bouliac, there is a small town, but if I read correctly the town was closed for renovations so we were mainly confined to the hotel.

We spent most of our time relaxing by the pool and enjoying the food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgT_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We had the Harley Suite forb3 nights and paid far too much for what this room offers. We couldn't sit at the table infront of our room. There was no umbrella/shade and in summer you need it. There was an empty coke bottle lying next to the chair. The service was poor. They couldn't serve us a lunch next to the pool because they used all the tables for formal restaurant. Why do they have a pool menu. The staff was rude! Will not go back and what alot of money waisted.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Although the main attraction is the restaurant (2 Michelin stars), this is a charming hotel set in beautiful grounds. If you don't need to be in the centre of town, it is a good option. Our room had a magnificent view of Bordeaux, the bed was extremely comfortable and generally it was of a high standard. Only complaint was the ineffective air conditioning (badly needed as there was a heatwave when we visited and the temperature was around 37 degrees). It made a lot of noise but did not seem to cool the room at all ! The pool is very nice and large enough for lap swimming. Service was very pleasant, although our request for extra pillows was met with a simple "we have run out of extra pillows and we don't have any more" - which was a bit disappointing. The restaurant is excellent - although I was very pleased that we dined on the terrace as the interior dining room does not have much ambiance. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Bordeaux but certainly not our last! The St. James was a great choice for our visit. The location is excellent – outside of Bordeaux but not as far as St. Emellion.

Lets start with the Food, since it is the real highlight!! Dinner was outstanding – one of our best meals outside of NY. It was so adventurous and innovative and what a fabulous use of citrus and spices. Even if you do not stay here, you should dine here. Service at dinner was also excellent – professional, even (balanced), well-timed, attentive but not too intrusive. Tables are large and spread nicely. Breakfast is also wonderful by the way!

The hotel is quite modern and has many nice art pieces. The view from the terrace is amazing especially at night!

We had the Jacuzzi suite – which would probably be lovely for a couple but was too small for our family of 4 – we chose this because we thought it would be nice to have the Jacuzzi – and it was – but we would have been more comfortable with the option of two rooms. Rooms could be much better cared for......

Hotel staff was wonderful and helpful – gave us many recommendations. However, they do not book wine tours for you – you need to do this in town at the office of tourism (OR on line ahead of time!) Some info from the hotel in advance of the logistics of wine touring would have been appreciated.

All in all a great place to visit the area and to eat fabulously well!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our first visit to Bordeaux but certainly not our last! The St. James was a great choice for our visit. The location is excellent – outside of Bordeaux but not as far as St. Emellion.

Lets start with the Food, since it is the real highlight!! Dinner was outstanding – one of our best meals outside of NY. It was so adventurous and innovative and what a fabulous use of citrus and spices. Even if you do not stay here, you should dine here. Service at dinner was also excellent – professional, even (balanced), well-timed, attentive but not too intrusive. Tables are large and spread nicely. Breakfast is also wonderful by the way!

The hotel is quite modern and has many nice art pieces. The view from the terrace is amazing especially at night!

We had the Jacuzzi suite – which would probably be lovely for a couple but was too small for our family of 4 – we chose this because we thought it would be nice to have the Jacuzzi – and it was – but we would have been more comfortable with the option of two rooms. The rooms are also not of the highest quality furnishings or particularly well cared for.

Hotel staff was wonderful and helpful – gave us many recommendations. However, they do not book wine tours for you – you need to do this in town at the office of tourism (OR on line ahead of time!)

All in all a great place to visit the area and to eat fabulously well!

Room Tip: Suites are way to small for a family! But probably nice for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are going to stay at this hotel only stay for one night after you have dined in the restaurant. Hotel guests are an afterthought - we stayed for 3 nights, had reservations in the bistro for two nights and the gourmet restaurant for one, yet for the entire stay we felt welcomed only when we were in the gourmet restaurant. If we wanted anything we had to ask - no guest services whatsoever. Might have been ok with this if it was a restaurant with a few rooms upstairs, but this is a very expensive hotel in it's own right. They seem confused as to what they want to be.

The restaurant itself was fantastic and worth every penny - just don't bother with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouliac
16.7 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
978 reviews
4.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 177 in Bordeaux
409 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 177 in Bordeaux
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Grande Maison de Bernard Magrez
8 mi away
Chateau Grattequina
Chateau Grattequina
#1 of 2 in Blanquefort
210 reviews
8.8 mi away
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir -...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux

Address: 3 Place Camille Hostein, 33270 Bouliac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bouliac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bouliac
Price Range: $210 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauterive Saint James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing