We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and great location to explore the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bouliac
Certificate of Excellence
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
359 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great location to explore the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Bordeaux but certainly not our last! The St. James was a great choice for our visit. The location is excellent – outside of Bordeaux but not as far as St. Emellion.

Lets start with the Food, since it is the real highlight!! Dinner was outstanding – one of our best meals outside of NY. It was so adventurous and innovative and what a fabulous use of citrus and spices. Even if you do not stay here, you should dine here. Service at dinner was also excellent – professional, even (balanced), well-timed, attentive but not too intrusive. Tables are large and spread nicely. Breakfast is also wonderful by the way!

The hotel is quite modern and has many nice art pieces. The view from the terrace is amazing especially at night!

We had the Jacuzzi suite – which would probably be lovely for a couple but was too small for our family of 4 – we chose this because we thought it would be nice to have the Jacuzzi – and it was – but we would have been more comfortable with the option of two rooms. Rooms could be much better cared for......

Hotel staff was wonderful and helpful – gave us many recommendations. However, they do not book wine tours for you – you need to do this in town at the office of tourism (OR on line ahead of time!) Some info from the hotel in advance of the logistics of wine touring would have been appreciated.

All in all a great place to visit the area and to eat fabulously well!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    109
    26
    24
    4
See reviews for
44
298
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
359 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our first visit to Bordeaux but certainly not our last! The St. James was a great choice for our visit. The location is excellent – outside of Bordeaux but not as far as St. Emellion.

Lets start with the Food, since it is the real highlight!! Dinner was outstanding – one of our best meals outside of NY. It was so adventurous and innovative and what a fabulous use of citrus and spices. Even if you do not stay here, you should dine here. Service at dinner was also excellent – professional, even (balanced), well-timed, attentive but not too intrusive. Tables are large and spread nicely. Breakfast is also wonderful by the way!

The hotel is quite modern and has many nice art pieces. The view from the terrace is amazing especially at night!

We had the Jacuzzi suite – which would probably be lovely for a couple but was too small for our family of 4 – we chose this because we thought it would be nice to have the Jacuzzi – and it was – but we would have been more comfortable with the option of two rooms. The rooms are also not of the highest quality furnishings or particularly well cared for.

Hotel staff was wonderful and helpful – gave us many recommendations. However, they do not book wine tours for you – you need to do this in town at the office of tourism (OR on line ahead of time!)

All in all a great place to visit the area and to eat fabulously well!

Room Tip: Suites are way to small for a family! But probably nice for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are going to stay at this hotel only stay for one night after you have dined in the restaurant. Hotel guests are an afterthought - we stayed for 3 nights, had reservations in the bistro for two nights and the gourmet restaurant for one, yet for the entire stay we felt welcomed only when we were in the gourmet restaurant. If we wanted anything we had to ask - no guest services whatsoever. Might have been ok with this if it was a restaurant with a few rooms upstairs, but this is a very expensive hotel in it's own right. They seem confused as to what they want to be.

The restaurant itself was fantastic and worth every penny - just don't bother with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We visited about four hotels during our stay in France, and we would rank our experience in this hotel as our best. The location is decent, about 10-15 minute drive from the main Bordeaux city area. While the design of this hotel is not lavish, it offers a quite and peaceful atmosphere, exactly what we were looking for. It has a small plantation which adds to the charm of the hotel. We stayed in one of their luxury suites - the Jacuzzi suite, an excellent room with a pleasing view. The staff was also warm and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slainte33, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear customers,
We thank you for having taken time to share your opinion
We are very happy that you appreciated the atypical charm and the philosophy of our establishment Saint James.
We are enchanted to have participated in the success of your stay and, we shall not miss to transmit your compliments to our teams.
In the pleasure to welcome you on the occasion of a next stay.
Best Regards,
Marie Borgel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
286 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The style of this little hotel would be described as minimalist. This might have been cutting-edge & modern in the early 1990's, but not now. The rooms look like little studio units, just perfect for a student taking a course in the cooking school downstairs. You could describe the room as functional, efficient, spare, but not comfortable. My husband & I so wished we had stayed instead at the Regent in Bordeaux. Our topmost 3rd floor room had a fabulous view though, of everything, including our friends on the ground floor of the building beside us!So take note, if you book a room here on the ground floor, always keep your blinds down.
The staff are friendly and try to do their best. The breakfast buffet was okay; lots of complaints about runny and overseasoned scrambled eggs though. We ate all our lunches & dinners in Bordeaux, which was a good 20-30 minute drive away. For someone like me who likes to shop, and try different restaurants, it would have made more sense to stay nearer to the city center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear guests,

We thank you for the time you took to write a message on TripAdvisor. We felt sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

We would like to assure you that we constantly strive to achieve the highest level of service, because we do really care about our clients and are attentive to offer a guest-minded service.

Your remarks will surely help us in providing a pleasant and comfortable stay for our future clients .

We stay at your disposal should you need to and remain with all our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

In a suburb conveniently located to Bordeaux wine country is this wonderful Relais and Chateau. The service from the moment you arrive is impeccable. The reception could not be nice and more helpful. Our suite the "haute rive" was huge sunny and well appointed. We were greeted with pastry and coffee that you could make for yourself at any time. The bath was modern and spacious. There was a beautiful pool on a terrace surrounded by a vineyard overlooking Bordeaux. It had a magnificent sunset there as well. The restaurant service was extra ordinary and friendly and very thorough. The concierges Cecile and Chloe were so helpful and found us entry to the local wineries even at a late date. The little town was charming and quaint outside the hotel.

Room Tip: If available get a suite and try to include breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellys38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slainte33, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for the taking the time to review our property.
Your comments are most appreciated and will be passed on to the team here at the hotel.
Again thanks for the kind comments and we hope to see you back with us again shortly.

Sales & Marketing manager
Séverine Perrier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Not a god Value for money. The hotel has an undefined modern style but its not coherent. The view is lovely and it has a nice garden, but the beds are not comfortable, too high, the walls are dirty and the general maintenance is bad. We had reserved for a couple with a child and at checkout an extra charge was presented for the extra , mentioned at reservation.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler-plus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouliac
4.4 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.0 mi away
InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel
4.4 mi away
Hotel Burdigala Bordeaux - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel de Tourny
Hotel de Tourny
#2 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux

Property: Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
Address: 3 Place Camille Hostein, 33270 Bouliac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Bouliac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bouliac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hauterive Saint James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing