We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie du Vieux Moulin
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bouilland
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adorable”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Imagine a tiny, lovely village surrounded by wheat fields, and yet very close to Beaune and many famous vineyards in Burgundy... a small river running by your table at a starred restaurant with delicious food... charming welcome by the owners... a nice bedroom with plenty of space and a balcony overlooking a sunny landscape - truly a little corner of paradise! I came with my teenage daughter, who loved the long walks over the nearby hills, marvelled at the gourmet "degustation" diners and admired the flemish-style Beaune's Hôtel-Dieu as much as mum did! A great séjour, and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciainParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    5
    8
    1
See reviews for
9
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,064 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Stayed 1 night in May 2010 part of our Burgundy trip and discovery of the aera.

Location of Bouilland is relaxing because in the middle of nature and nowhere. If you look for this, for relaxing, quietness and walking, then this is a place to go. Hotel staff was nice and polite too. Under Swiss management staff.

Hotel itself looks old styled, rooms are old fashioned for a 3*. Booked via internet a Double Deluxe room but it was not a good one apart the room size. The room we had (24) was crapped like decortion, furniture, carpet, wall colors, bathroom furniture (old style).
Paid much too much (170 Euros for 1 night) for the hotel quality and room quality.
Very disapointed about this. Breakfast buffet was 18 Euros per person (didn't try).
Another bad thing was the Swimming pool which was dirty and might not be very clean (we finally didn't try it as we've seen mold everywhere on the walls especially near the changing room). State od cleanliness was very doubtful.

The only good thing here was the restaurant. Very good quality and service, high price for food and wines.
But don't sleep here, choose another place near Beaune or the aera.


I would not go back there again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villepot
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Bouilland is a quiet little village in a most attractive small valley about 15 minutes drive out of Beaune. On one side there are hillside meadows and opposite are some quite spectacular towering cliffs. Both provide some lovely walking.

We have stayed at the Hostellerie du Vieux Moulin around eight or nine times over the last ten years or so and knew it before the current owners took over eight years ago. There is quite a spread of room prices and on this last one-night visit we were in one of the cheaper rooms which is in the same building as the reception and restaurant - you do however have to take a few steps across a courtyard to access the bedrooms. Umbrellas are available.

Our room looked out over the mill stream with the sound of water tumbling down a small weir. With the double glazed windows closed this is not intrusive but with the windows open some guests may find themselves making frequent visits to the bathroom!

The en-suite comprising lavatory, wash basin and a good size shower was equipped with a hair dryer, tissues and a small selection of toiletries and useful odds and ends.

The room itself, although not large, was comfortable with a king-size double bed. A good size built-in wardrobe with shelf and full-length mirror was the only storage - a small chest of drawers would be useful if staying for more than one night.

The larger - and more expensive rooms - where we have often stayed, are thirty meters or so away on the other side of the quiet lane where the hotel is situated. Again umbrellas are provided. Many of these rooms have a balcony and are generally quite large. This building also houses the indoor swimming pool etc.

The restaurant is quite large and of a high standard, with a couple of set menus, one offering choices at each course. The wine list is extensive and, unusually for France, does list wines from other countries, although why would you drink South African wines when you are in Burgundy?

Neither the hotel nor the restaurant is cheap - and the breakfast, although plentiful and a cut above many French breakfasts, could fairly be described as pricey - the standards are somewhat higher than the average French establishment. At least high enough that we found ourselves dining next to a British Cabinet Minister on a previous visit.

The owners have always been on hand when we have stayed and are attentive and friendly, as are their staff.

We will return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le-pecheur-Villepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

This is a lovely hotel in a small village about 10kms north of Beaune. It is situated in a picturesque, peaceful valley, and as the setting is rather remote you really need good weather to appreciate it fully.

We had a very well furnished modern room in the annexe with a balcony overlooking the village.

The food was excellent as you would expect from a chef who has a Michelin rosette but with prices to match.

  • Liked — lovely setting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hartlandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

On a cold, rainy November evening, the last thing one wants is to have to leave ones car and search for the reception. This hotel is in two parts, one of which is mainly dedicated to food. Even the receptionist had to put on a coat, to accompany us some distance to the allocated room. This was chilly and rather bleak.

After fruitless attempts to turn on heaters we phoned reception. When 30 mins. later no-one had arrived, we donned coats, walked across to reception, and asked for another room which we were given, in the same building as the restaurant, but this time a long way from the car-park!

The room was large and initially warm though it cooled down considerably during the night. Three cheers for the hair-dryer plug near a mirror, a rarity.

The maitre d was self-opinionated with a penetrating voice. There was a choice of a very expensive a la carte menu or a long tasting menu. which they were reluctant to alter even though an allergy negated one course. It was one of those 'we know best' sort of places.

They were very reluctant to serve a carafe of water - heaven knows what the bottled was costing as everything else was over-priced in our opinion.

We declined breakfast as again it was vastly over-priced and felt that the whole experience was poor value for money.

One plus: the lady at reception was unfailingly courteous and did her best to help.

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Disliked — Price and inconvenience re. parking
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
life
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2007

the food was gd n de was frindly de locals were dead on it was in a gd location not far from de local village. the rooms were comfertable 2 stay. there was also alot 2 do there

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sweet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2004

Rather disappointing for a Michelin starred hotel. Rooms OK, clean comfortable but dated in main building, cant speak for annex. Resturant smart. Went for food which was not bad but they put all the "foreigners" in one room and french in the other. We only had 2 inexperienced staff for 17 adults and 3 children, so the service was very slow. To be fair when meals arrived they were pretty good especially the deserts and cheese which were excellent. Although the 60 euro menu no better than the basic one. It may have been better in the "French" dining room!

Indoor swimming pool would make it quite good for people with younger children out of season.

Helpful?
5 Thank indigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bouilland
6.5 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
483 reviews
7.2 mi away
La Gentilhommiere
La Gentilhommiere
#1 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
328 reviews
8.3 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
592 reviews
3.9 mi away
L'ouvree
L'ouvree
#2 of 3 in Savigny-les-Beaune
48 reviews
8.7 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Vieux Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Vieux Moulin

Property: Hostellerie du Vieux Moulin
Address: 1 rue de la Forge, 71400 Bouilland, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Bouilland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bouilland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Vieux Moulin 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostellerie du Vieux Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Vieux Moulin Hotel Bouilland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing