We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply not worth the long and difficult drive and not worth 3 stars”

l'Auberge du Vieux Puits
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply not worth the long and difficult drive and not worth 3 stars”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Unfortunately this restaurant did not live up to the reviews or its 3 star rating. Compared to other Michelin restaurants (1 to 3 stars) that we visited this restaurant was simply not up to standard. For example Le Parc restaurant at Les Crayeres in Reims which is currently only 2 star rating was way ahead in food quality and service standards.

The restaurant is difficult to find though we had GPS so we did get there but the restaurant makes things more difficult by seemingly operating under 2 names, and the name on the building does not match the official name of the restaurant or the name of your booking. Really recommend that they change this.

The restaurant is very expensive and we knew that in advance, which would have been fine if the food and service had lived up to the expected standard and quality.

The restaurant was very crowded - the tables are quite close together and the massive cheese trolley (which is impressive) has to squeeze past your table many times throughout the meal.

We did not have the same waiter twice throughout our whole 7 course degustation I don't think which was very disconcerting. There was a different person for each course and I really think the same staff should have attended to us throughout the whole meal.

Some of the courses were excellent - about 2 courses really stood out and the rest were just average unfortunately.

Further, the atmosphere from the waiters was not warm and welcoming. Don't get me wrong - they were polite and professional but just not welcoming like we had at other places. In fact on reflection they seemed a bit usy and rushed and I think they needed to employ more waiters to cope with the number of people.

Overall sadly it just wasn't that impressive and we went away thinking we had spent far too much money for the experience. I can't recommend this restaurant to others at the prices they charge. A 3 star rating is meant to mean that it is worth going out of your way to go there - unfortunately this is not the case with this restaurant. We ate at a number of other Michelin restaurants and had far better experiences elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleReardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    56
    32
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exquisite food, beautifully presented”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were suprised to be able to get a Friday lunchtime reservation at very short notice - and very lucky as the restaurant was full (despite being in the middle of nowhere).

We chose one of the set menus (Quelques pas dans la Garrige) before which we were presented with a tray of four amuses bouches - the first of which, a bread ball with a liquid truffle filling, was just amazing.

The menu lived up to every expectation. Everything was stunning to look at and the flavours wonderful. Two dishes stood out: first, a lightly poached oyster with a "pearl" which had to be broken with a small hammer to release a smoky essence. Second (which my wife had thanks to her seafood allergy) a hen's egg with a tomato sauce and a bacon sabayon. My description simply doesn't do it justice - it was one of the best things I've ever tasted.

The service from the senior staff was impeccable; some of the more junior ones seemed rather disinterested. That is really the only downside of this place: the service isn't as slick, as joined-up, as it should be.

Yes, this is expensive dining, but actually much less so than other etablishments of a similar quality. I thought it excellent value for money.The wine list is very good and the sommelier's advice was spot-on.

Forget the slightly iffy service - the food is the star here. It's wonderful. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JR4763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food although we liked it more when it had two stars..”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We discovered this restaurant 4 years ago when in the area and had the most memorable meal there. So it was with a lot of excitement that we booked it this time. Whilst the food was still exceptional we felt that the pressure of three Michelin stars has put a lot of emphasis on the presentation whilst what we liked about the place the first time were the earthy flavours. Still a favourite though and recommend to those who haven’t tried it yet. We will go on searching for another perfect meal though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank demanding_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my best restaurant experiences, but not always ***”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

By all means, the restaurant is an experience you should allow yourself if you happen to be in the area. But when visiting a Michelin *** restaurant, the bar is raised as high as possible. For me, that would be a comparison with Daniel and Momofuku Ko in New York, and Michel Sarran in Toulouse. Of these, Daniel is the flawless one, and Momofuku the most memorable, and these will still be after visiting Gilles Goujon.

To start on the positive side, the location makes visiting this restaurant something very special, and to start a romantic dinner with the house cocktail and extremely good hors d'oevres in the saloon was close to ultimate. One of the hors d'oeuvres, with truffle, was so good that I wish i could keep it in my mouth forever.The service was friendly, not as professional as Daniel, but with more charm. We chose the surprise menu Air de fete en Corbieres, and it started out high with some excellent starters, the tomato oeuf pourri as a highlight. Unfortunately, the main courses was a little disappointing compared to the starters, by all means good, but not something I will remember for very long. These were red mullet with safran fish soup and pigeon. What I found very positive was that Gilles Goujon came out for a chat after the meal, the personal touch is appreciated.

Then to the reasons I cannot give a full score to the restaurant:

- The sommelier was not very helpful. Choosing a surprise menu, we had to rely on him choosing wines, and we were hesitating in between one glass of white and a bottle of red, and vice versa. He confirmed that there was only one fish course, and that the meat would be light. Hence he led us into believing a bottle of red would be appropriate. Consequence - we were sipping to one glass of white through two vegetarian courses, one shellfish course before the mentioned fish course. The bottle of wine was finally served to the meat course, the very last course before cheese and dessert. This alone means a low service score despite the very good job of the young waitstaff.

- There was simply too much food. When coming to the pigeon course, I was already full, and by the dessert I didn't manage to fully appreciate it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SindreN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If you do nothing else again - Eat Here!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

As part of a two week holiday and a birthday celebration we have the pure joy of eating in this most amazing restaurant.

From entering the front door to leaving 3 hours later we were treated to an amazing feast for both our palates and our eyes. Our amuse buches were explosions of flavour almost as a tease of the treats to come. One course after another was just pure theatre of taste and presentation. The service was second to none. We were delighted to see the chef Gilles Goujon come and speak to each table at the start of our meal and to wish us "Bon Appetite" . This was no super ego chef - this was someone who was genuinely passionate about he art he was creating. The tone was set by his presence as his staff began to serve with a care and attention second to none. From the very young wine waiter, to the Maitre D, the staff were exceptional. The Maitre D - Claudio, was a master - he explained what each course was as he served each table, informed customers how to approach, eating/disassembling the fare in order to get the best mix of flavours. He happily took photos of people with the creations on their plates and paid such genuine care and attention to an elderly couple at a table near us that it was touching. He made such a lovely difference to our whole experience.

We were amazed again when, as we were having our coffee , the chef appeared again to see how we had enjoyed our meal - when I explained how much we had enjoyed the entire experience we could see he was genuinely moved. What a humble man this was - not like some of the prima donnas we experience as Michelin Star TV Chefs.

I cannot recommend this establishment enough. So far our experience is enough to bring us back to this part of France again next year so we can again experience the craft of Gilles Goujon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gourmand60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed l'Auberge du Vieux Puits also viewed

 

Been to l'Auberge du Vieux Puits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing