We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Defenitely we will be back!”
Review of Chateau de Coudree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Coudree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2011

After reading the previous emails I decided to write my opinion about the hotel.
My husband and I just spent 4 nights at this hotel. Every think was exellent! The location is great, just 30 min from Geneva. Surroundings is peaceful! The staff was very friendly , the service is excellent, rooms are clean, I would highly recommend this hotel!

(For people who was disappoinded that there is no elevator, please pay attention - it's a XII century castle!!! :))

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 221 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

We have eaten here several times and stayed here twice now.

The food is just great - you can just have a simple two course meal, or take your time and enjoy the seven course gala - they adjust the quantities so you can actually make it! We had our wedding reception here in 2010, and stayed in the dungeon room - lots of character, an amazing room (although freezing cold at the time). We have stayed here again this year in May, returning for our anniversary and stayed in a different room.

The setting is amazing, the staff are knowledgeable and friendly, and yes you do pay for what you get!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Medieval castles don´t have lifts, but you´ll get the charm of a real "château"; many call themselves so, but few look like one. Exclusive breakfast. Judge the rest by yourself from the photos.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANTIALFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

On arrival at the Chateau one thinks 'Great Choice, but it ends there.

There is no lift and with rooms on the second floor it was a long climb with luggage to the room.
The Room was sold as a Lakeview room. Yes you could see the Lake from the window but you needed a chair to stand on with your head poked out of the window! The room smelt musty and damp and the carpet, linen and general furnishing was pretty awfull. The Bathroom was ok but there was a 20 cm step down to room level which one needed to remember when visiting the Bathroom. The room layou was odd to say the least and in urgent need of refurbishment.

The restaurant was ok but unfriendly. The wine prices were a rip off with local wines starting at €48 a bottle. a decent white Burgundy was €75/85 price range. If you want a Beer beware, it works out at €24 euros a litre. If you ask for extra water for you Tea it clocks up a further €4 charge. I did wonder if there would be an extra charge for looking twice in the Mirror !

The building is quite run down when you look closely and it is odd things such as signs which say 'Do not use this fire exit stairway' that made us wonder about things in general.On the subject of 'Rundown' we had our meal in the Restaurant adjacent to a warning sign about the missing floor tiles.

There was Free Internet but It was out of service.

The Breakfast was pretty poor and as a tip check the dates on the yoghurts. The ones we nearly ate were quite a few weeks out of date.

All in all a dissapointing and expensive experience

Room Tip: Visit a Different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We attended a wedding at the Chateau de Coudree and stayed just one night. It's a beautiful spot for a wedding - a drinks reception in the elegant garden overlooking the lake (the bride and groom arrived by boat at the hotel's private pontoon - from which you can also swim in the lake, much more fun than the pool), followed by a delicious meal in the hotel's sumptuous and gorgeous old ball room. The lunch and breakfast we had by ourselves however, were a bit hit and miss - they obviously think a lot of their food but I'm pretty sure the plate of sorbet I had for €21 came with whipped cream out of a can - something I hadn't seen for decades. The atmosphere in the restaurant was overly formal and pompous, especially for lunch. The coffee at breakfast was lukewarm and horrible. Our room (and many other areas of the hotel) looked like the hadn't been touched since the 1980s - even the bed linen. The carpet was stained and the bath full of dead bugs. We were glad to stay their for the convenience factor, but I would not recommend staying there otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stayed at this chateau for work so I did not pay for the room out of my pocket. I had a lovely time and thought the staff was very friendly. The owner made sure that our group was completely looked after and she was lovely. She gave us the history of the property our first night there before. dinner. Once I found out what the rooms rates were my view of the hotel changed. The rooms are not in keeping with the period of the hotel and bathrooms, for this level of hotel, should be updated immediately. They are plastic and very 80's. The food was good but not available outside of meal times. The service is excellent but if you are expecting a luxurious chateau facility then this is not the place for you. However the Chateau itself is interesting and the lake is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mizzerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

My wife and I were looking forward to the Chateau. What a disappointment. Food was poor, service was poor. We had food poisoning from the oysters.We were on medication for over a week, feeling ill. With arthritis, climbing stairs up and down with no elevator was torture. Signs are poorly placed and I scratched my car.Avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank beit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sciez
10.8 mi away
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
#2 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
822 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
1,776 reviews
8 mi away
Auberge Le Moulin de Lere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Villa Cecile
Villa Cecile
#2 of 5 in Yvoire
188 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Royal - Evian Resort
Hotel Royal - Evian Resort
#1 of 2 in Neuvecelle
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Coudree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Coudree

Address: Avenue de Coudree | Bonnatrait, 74140 Sciez, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Sciez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sciez
Price Range: $142 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Coudree 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant dans des murs du XIIeme siecle, un cadre enchanteur et hors du temps sur la rive francaise du Lac de Geneve, pied dans l'eau. Nos chambres de caractere composent avec l'architecture medievale du chateau: chambres avec mezzanine, hauteurs de plafond, fenetres de defense, un style historique. Les chambres sont situees au 1er et au 2eme etage. L'acces se fait par les escaliers, sans ascenseur. Venez gouter la cuisine gastronomique: a l'honneur les legumes et herbes de notre potager et les meilleurs poissons du lac et de mer, les viandes de la region et de France prepares avec la simplicite et le respect du gout original des produits. Confort moderne. Terrasses bar et petit dejeuners au bord du lac, terrasse du restaurant abritee par le mur du Chateau. Cocktails et repas de groupes jusqu'a 140 personnes a l'interieur, et 500 personnes a l'exterieur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau de Coudree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing