We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word - Excellent”
Review of L'Yeuse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Yeuse
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chateaubernard
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In a word - Excellent”
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My colleagues and I thoroughly enjoyed Chateau de L'Yeuse and would enthusiastically recommend it for a sophisticated traveler who enjoys life's finer things. The food was exceptional and the rooms were comfortable, clean and unique. We expect to return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgdpuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    91
    26
    9
    0
See reviews for
21
181
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

If you are looking for a modern, relaxed atmosphere - forget it. Travel to revamped Novotel in La Rochelle for better rooms, service and value.... Overall decor of this hotel was kitsch Laura Ashley - more 1980s than 21st century. The wooden panels in the restaurant were painted in lurid colours to match the curtains. Chandeliers covered in articial flowers.

Paid for room with view over Charente at 133 euros. Very average. Shower attachment, with no means to attach it to wall. No branded toiletries in the bathroom. "Double room" actually means two singles... No alcohol of any kind in the mini bar(!).

Restaurant - no vegetarian option on any of the dinner "menus", therefore elements had to be taken from the a la carte menu - for which they tried to charge us full price (risotto at 40 euros per bowl?!). We complained and were given a grudging reduction. Coffee was stone cold (both cups), inexcusable. Souffle completely tasteless (egg white with unmelted granulated sugar in the bottom) - Grand Marnier used for flambee instead of Cognac (as stated on menu). Cheese was the best course. Food overall not impressive for the price.

Service not excellent - receptionist didn't even ask if we'd enjoyed our stay... Overall we did not feel relaxed in this atmosphere. According to the clientele in the restaurant, those that seemed to be enjoying themselves were middle-aged businessmen trying to impress guests with the "chateau" setting.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Strongbowbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

Stayed for one night - very good service - lovely location and views. Rooms pleasant. Menu choice and food of above average quality. Wine listings were in a book with an extremely varied choice available. Slightly out of town but lovely and quiet. Definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Attentive courteous manner of staff
  • Tips/Secrets — The food served for dinner is typically Nouveau Cuisine but excellent
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPSalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

This hotel is a real gem of a place. Stayed for 2 nights on our way to Biarritz. Thoughts as follows.
Good Points:
Beautifully appointed bedroom and very comfortable bed. Good quality bath towels and products.
Very nice staff who have a sense of humour and willing to assist if called upon.
Fantastic food. I couldn't agree more with a previous reviewer. They do deserve some type of recognition for their efforts. The service was very good with excellent wine recommendations from the sommelier.
Clean swimming pool with seperate areas for the toilet, shower and changing room.
Nice views over the valley.
Not So Good Points:
Swimming pool area is very close to a busy side road and the generated noise began to annoy me on day 2 of our visit. There was also a small dog in a nearby private property which yapped consistently for most of the day. Out of the hotels' control but very annoying.
There must be a military base in the vicinity because there was lots of "dog fight" activity from 0000-0300.Take ear-plugs!
Apart from visits to the Cognac factories there's not much else to do in the area. Cognac is not a particular pretty town.
The hotels' biggest weakness is no air-con.
Overall, would use hotel again as a stop off point for 1 or 2 nights but no more and only if they have air-con installed.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — noisy swimming pool area
  • Tips/Secrets — take ear plugs
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2006

Though Cognac is not a town we would visit again without a purpose ( we thought once was interesting enough) we would definitely return to this charming hotel run by wonderful staff who accomodated our every need. For instance, when we enquired as we were leaving for a drive into the town of Cognac, about which Houses to visit, two were suggested to us. We chose Hennesey (hot contemporary French architect designed their new showroom), two tour tickets were booked with no fuss by the Reception Desk.

The hotel is tastefully and beautifully decorated creating a perfect setting for a country stay with all the comforts of home. We had a lovely large room with a terrace/balcony attached. Perfect for reading or sunbathing privately. Hard to find in Europe for North Americans used to pillow top mattresses, was the comfortable bed.

There is a nice size swimming pool, a Wi Fi connection and several lovely spots to sit adn read in or to have a spot of tea if one should wish.

Madame Celine Desniazieres, the owner was gracious at all times. We have never been to this part of the world before but found it wonderfully unusual and gracious that she would sincerely enquire of each guests welfare every day.

The food was delicious and we think deserves a one Michelin star! We certainly ate at one and two starred restaurants in other parts of France where the menu was nearly as exciting as this one. The dining room was busy when we were there and was ably and professionally handled by its a young staff.

Yes definitely would return to relax and enjoy the ambience for a day or so on the way to some other beautiful towns missed on this past trip to France.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank decorate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Ah, an hotel, tres gentile.. if that makes grammatical sense. We stayed here for one night between a week in Centerparcs (near Orleans Fri - Fri) and a week in a gite near Perigeux (Sat - Sat).

Having corresponded with the hotel in advance via email, all was in order when we arrived, save the room not being ready - the only minus point of the stay as this was around 3pm. We were offered and took advantage of drinks on the terrace whilst the room was completed. I, my wife and our two daughters (11, 13) stayed in a suite overlooking the Charante valley. It was furnished with a variety of interesting pieces, had two independently controlled air conditioning units and felt very comfortable.

Dinner was an adventure as our daughters were vegetarian which still appears to be a novelty in France. (One succumbed later to the smell of roast chicken in the gite, but we always thought she would waver). However, as we had mentioned this during booking, the chef had prepared an interesting starter of vegetables pureed in a sorbet style. Whilst the girls didn't go a bundle on the taste, they did try everything and we appreciated the attention. For a main course they had an omelette, which was even prepared as requested in the English - well done - style. We all ate a menu which allowed the girls to try the every course; we all ate very well. The post dinner cognac came from a large list for which I took advice from the friendly staff. On our return to the room after dinner, all sofa beds had been made and chocolates placed on pillows...

In the morning we visited Hennesey, which was booked for us by reception without fuss.

All in all, a stay worth the money. Oh, the pool was a bit chilly...

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank craigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2004

This Chateau hotel is everything the discerning traveller could wish for. As soon as you enter, until you depart, there is nothing to find fault with at all. The staff are helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are superb and spacious and well equipped, even down to the luxurious bath robes. All the reception rooms are beautifully decorated. One of the lounges has floor to ceiling glass fronted cabinets displaying in excess of 200 different types of Cognac for you to choose from after dinner. But I have saved the best till last! The food is SUPERB! Served in a calm relaxing atmosphere, by unobtrusive, proffessional staff. The chef is one of the most innovative, exciting chefs I have come across in France, using lots of fresh local produce.The wine list is extensive. On departure we mentioned that we were moving on to La Rochelle, and the manageress not only recommended a delighful hotel, but also a restaurant in La Rochelle, thus taking the worry out of the next leg of our journey. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough or put into words the experience of it. Suffice to say we will be returning soon.Anthea Holmes.

Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateaubernard
1.7 mi away
Hotel Francois Premier
Hotel Francois Premier
#1 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Domaine du Breuil
Domaine du Breuil
#4 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cheval Blanc
Hotel Cheval Blanc
#3 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Quai des Pontis
Hotel Quai des Pontis
#2 of 10 in Cognac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Cognac
Ibis Styles Cognac
#2 of 4 in Chateaubernard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Yeuse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Yeuse

Property: L'Yeuse
Address: 65 rue de Bellevue, 16100 Chateaubernard, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Chateaubernard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chateaubernard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Yeuse 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Yeuse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Yeuse France/Chateaubernard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing