We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An expensive "castle" to visit”
Review of Chateau de Berne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau de Berne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An expensive "castle" to visit”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Chateau de Berne is a lovely destination. The location, the grounds, the equipment of the hotel are all very good. I would not dispute the very positive evaluations prepared by other guests.

My more balanced evaluation relate to two elements. That hotel is very remote from its environment. You will not hear the "provencal accent", neither will you discover anything Provencal in the place. I have visited Provence many times, once for months, and my personal appreciation is that one who would choose the Chateau de Berne to discover Provence will stay at distance to the country. This said, I want to be understood: this place is very very nice, located among vineyards in vast hilly and forested surroundings.

Rooms have nothing extraordinary. They are comfortable, but not luxurious.

I mentioned two elements. My second disappointment relates to the food. For dinner, the only option is a gastronomical restaurant. The restaurant is good the first day, but I doubt that one wants to repeat refined tastings every evening. The breakfast is offered at 26 Euros per person. It may be fine with you, but in my opinion this is ridiculous. You can get a breakfast for two at the village for one tenth of that amount.

So, the place, if very nice, is disconnected of its environment. Still you can drive around, so I could have lived with that. However, the limited and too costly meal options lead us to go to Lorgues, a charming village close-by (8 Km), for breakfast and dinner. Taking that into account our 6 days stay became less comfortable and luxurious.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are opposite to the terrace where the breakfast and the dinner are served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    77
    42
    8
    6
See reviews for
76
226
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just found a lovely and beautiful place where everything looks and smells good! The room was amazing, as the wine therapy massage and all the service people. I certainly recommend this place for everyone who wants to spend wonderful days in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbivanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

if you decide to unwind and 100% relax - this the place - an absolute wine therapy in combination with perfect food! Service very attentive. All the premises of a luxury hotel, with an exception of - not crowded! Feeling of privacy. If yo stay longer, the Chef would prepare our favourite Provancial dishes for you inmind. Cooking classes available although i did not attend visiting the markets around the area. Very relaxing, charming, luxurious chateau. Still have time to try the Spa!

Room Tip: ask for the room with a terrace not balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lovely place, totally calm, in the middle of vineyards and treed-hills.
Perfect quiet terrace outside, where all you can do is enjoy and relax.
Good beds. Nice restaurant. Lovely gym overlooking the pool and mountains.
Ndulge... you can arrive there from Nice airport by helicopter.... :-)

Room Tip: Junior suite, room 3, very quiet and good size. With fireplace to add to the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedoniaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but rather were guests at a friend's wedding. It was fabulous- stunning scenery, delicious food. Really a very special setting.
We looked around the brasserie & hotel & were very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
374 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have been dining in the restaurant, of the hotel, L'orangerie, several times, and everything is always perfect. This time we were 5 persons, one a vegetarian, and we were all taken care of in the best way. Wonderfull and very good tasting 5 course dinner and wine. At the price of 90 euro p.p. It is hard to find something that good at that price.
Everything is freshly made by ingredients from the local area. The wines ar selected from the cave of the castle.
The restaurant is elegant and cosy. One feels very confortable. Not at least thanks to the very friendly, smiling and competent staff.
I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We did'nt stay at the hotel but had a wonderful lunch, and a nice tour and wine tasting.

We had the 3 course set lunch with wine and everyting was cooked to perfection, plated fantastic and tasted even better. The wines picked by our waiter was also a very good match, especially liked the "muskat"!

After the lunch we had a walk on the property, followed by a tour of the production site and wine tasting of white, rose and red wine.

All in all a wonderful place well worth a visit. Hope to come back sometime!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BardAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorgues
5.7 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
280 reviews
13.8 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
480 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Moulin de la Camandoule
10.6 mi away
Hostellerie Des Gorges De Pennafort
17.5 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Berne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Berne

Property: Chateau de Berne
Address: Route de Salernes, 83510 Lorgues, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Lorgues
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lorgues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Berne 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Berne is a 1,500-acre private estate, situated in the Var region, in unspoiled Provencal countryside between Lorgues and Flayosc. Dating back to the 18th century, it is a truly exceptional site, promoting relaxation and wellbeing around two main themes: Provence and Wine. It is the ideal choice for today's Wine Tourism travellers. Discover the estate in a different way: mountain bike rental available and professioanl tracks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau de Berne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Berne Hotel Lorgues
Chateau De Berne Lorgues

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing