We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Du Midi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorgues
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maison Du Midi
Ranked #3 of 20 Lorgues B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our third trip back to 'Maison du Midi' and, as usual received a warm welcome with a carafe of rose and nibbles.
Jette and Bent are marvellous hosts and their home is full of character. The house and the garden are very well maintained.
Jette is an excellent cook and her breakfasts are the best around with lots of homemade goodies. We also spent a very enjoyable 'Bastille Day' meal with them and some other guests in the courtyard.
Lorgues has a large provencale market right outside their front door every week and I would thoroughly recommend this as an experience- various stalls and local characters.
There are many places of interest nearby including Les Arcs, Cotignac and the Gorges du Verdon.
Thank you, once again, to Jette and Bent for welcoming us to your lovely home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    20
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
60
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
francaise a edimbourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved this guest house. Lovely location in the picturesque town of Lorgues. Quiet setting. Tastefully decorated old house with character. Warm welcome. Very clean. Breakfast in a provençal courtyard, plentiful, delicious home made bread, lovely teas. I wish I could have stayed longer than one night in this stunning retreat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This B&B was referred to us by friends, who had stayed there a couple of years ago. We had booked room 1 on the first floor in the B&B section, but on arrival, we were advised there was going to be a party the next night and it would probably be quieter if we moved to another room (No 12 on the second floor at the back of their self catering section). This room looked at least as good and we were helped to get our bags up the stairs, so we agreed. (It turned out to be a 75th birthday party, all over by 11 o’clock anyway, so no problems!)

The room was a good size, very bright, with a small ’kitchenette’ - microwave, fridge and sink plus some crockery and cutlery if you want to self cater. We didn't and had probably the best breakfasts of our French trip - Jette is an excellent cook, making her own bread rolls and the best ever croissants each morning, as well as offering fresh fruit (different each day), yoghurt, juice, coffee, ham, cheeses and an egg if we wanted. Good free wifi as well.

The property is right near the main church in Lorgues, and about 100m from the main street. Parking very close by is difficult, but there is a free car park about 200m away. There is not much of interest in Lorgues itself, but we did a day trip to the Gorges du Verdon which is absolutely stunning and visited some of the charming nearby towns - Cotignac is particularly nice.

Our only concern with Maison du Midi is that they seem to be both a B&B and a function centre - B&B guests who are not involved with the function group, don’t seem to get quite the same attention.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiekpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was greeted by Jette and a glass of local rose wine when I checked into Maison du Midi. The room was lovely - comfortable and full of character, and the courtyard below was a piece of heaven - a sun-trap, with beautiful geraniums, and, beyond the hedge, a swimming pool which Bent had just cleaned for me. The breakfast was delicious and varied - so much that I struggled to do it justice. The location was perfect for the small ancient town. I enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
783 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rooms and studios with a lot of charm and spirit in an old town house in the middle of Lorgues. The owners, Jette and Bent, are danish, but decided to make Maison Du Midi their life project. The rooms and studios are all carefully renovated with consideration to this old house.
We saw several of the rooms, but did not stay overnight - but for sure we can recommend to do so, if you need a good place, reasonably priced, in Lorgues.
But we came to taste Jette's food. This evening it was Steaks and cheese! Terrific, at a price of only Eur 25. Jette is a good cook, the food really homemade - and the bernaise joining the steaks was superb! A fine selection of cheese to end this excellent dinner. The winelist is not big, but the wines are good local wines - Lorgues is the center of some of the best wineyards in Var area.
We had an enjoyable evening in the garden of the Maison. If you wish to go and taste Jette and Bent's good food call them in beforehand and reserve. This summer every Thursday night is "Steak and Cheese" evenings - but every other night there will be a "Daily Dish" if you reserve it in advance. Go there, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely renovated. Talk to Jette or Bent when you reserve, they can advise you. Be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargemon, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have known Maison du Midi for many years. And every time I visit this area of ​​Provence, I stay here. Why? It is so very much French atmosphere about the place mixed with Scandinavian management that it is a pleasure to come there.
I highly recommend the rooms, breakfast and to enjoy an aperitif in the beautiful garden by the pool.
Reinhard Muller

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinhardmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jørlunde, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Maison du Midi is a very nice B & B with both rooms and studios. It is situated in the middle of Lorgues, which is a lovely old town. The rooms are different in decoration and size, and all over the big house is a lot off french charme. The garden includes a courtyard where you can eat your very delicius breakfast all homemade by Jette and served by Bent. There is allso a pool and a place to play boule. You can help your self with drinks in the garden, and Thursdays ind the summer you can have BBQ and you can allso book a homemade dinner by Jette. Lorgues have many restaurants of a high level and it is nice to walk around the city and in Tuesdays is marked in the street. If you want to experience the near area you can hire bikes of a good quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lone Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorgues
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
378 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
54 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Enclos
L'Enclos
#6 of 20 in Lorgues
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Abrialys B&B
L'Abrialys B&B
#5 of 20 in Lorgues
26 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Josephine
Villa Josephine
#7 of 20 in Lorgues
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Du Midi

Property: Maison Du Midi
Address: 14 rue de l Eglise, 83510 Lorgues, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Lorgues
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Lorgues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison du Midi, as it is called, has a beautiful, large, private garden with palms, mature chestnut trees, several terraces, a boules court, summer kitchen and a swimming pool. All rooms have en suite 'shower rooms and some a small kitchen. The house has three floors and a large rustic wine cellar suitable for receptions, exhibitions, meetings and the like. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing