We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Ermitage de Corton”
Review of Ermitage de Corton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ermitage de Corton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful location (vineyards of Chorey-les-Beaune), just 2-3 km North of Beaune Center. Very clean and quiet hotel…. Very good breakfast and *** Michelin restaurant.
VERY helpful and incredibly stuff.

Yes, I would recommend the Ermitage de Corton.

Room Tip: All rooms are Good. I recommend back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaCancun007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Ermitage de Corton is easy to find on the D974 out of Beaune to the north, and is a small hotel with 14 excellent rooms and suites, enjoying a very pleasant setting amongst the vineyards of Chorey-les-Beaune and Savigny-les-Beaune.

I have to say that our whole experience with L'Ermitage has been excellent right from our first contact by telephone, the welcome when we arrived, the standard of the accommodation and the service throughout our stay. The owners clearly aim to maintain high standards, and the staff without exception support these goals.

Some previous reviews have commented on the closeness of the D974 at the front of the hotel. I would estimate this around 40 metres from the front door, so it is of course noticeable for the front facing rooms when windows/doors are open. However, we had a front facing suite with terrace, and I can honestly say that the road was not a significant distraction for us and we enjoyed sitting out to read on the terrance each evening despite the road. When windows are closed the road becomes barely noticeable and certainly did not impact sleep quality in any way. If and when we return, I would have no hesitation in booking the same front facing suite (No. 103) again, it is very spacious, tastefully decorated, with large separate lounge (turned into a large twin bedroom for two teenagers for us), large main bedroom and spacious bathroom with good shower plus a Jacuzzi bath.

I believe the hotel has undergone some re-landscaping at the front exterior and some internal refurbishment over the past couple of years, and it would seem that the work has been done to a high standard. Rooms and all public areas are impeccably clean and well maintained.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would look forward to staying here again if and when in the area.

Room Tip: If you are really obsessive about quietness, you might prefer a room to the rear of the hotel, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerfrom203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Ermitage de Corton was recommended to us by family who had stayed there years ago and loved it. It is certainly a very impressive building, as you approach. We had a suite situated at the side/back of the hotel, which had an upstairs bedroom and the sitting room downstairs was converted into a bedroom for our two children - all in all, very good and everything supplied including bathrobes. The suite was air-conditioned, which was also very welcome.

This is a very nice area to explore - Beaune is very pretty, not too touristy and the food is excellent, everywhere, not to mention the wine!

The hotel was fully booked for dinner the first night, which was good because it meant we had to go out to eat and we would have missed the opportunity to try one of the excellent restaurants. I really cannot say enough about the food in this area - you could put on a stone or two very quickly.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite good, but could be improved by a little more service - we had stayed at several other hotels by the time we arrived at the Ermitage, so we were probably getting a bit picky and breakfast is 'my thing'. It says in the brochure (and the brochure has a whole page about how important breakfast is...) that you can have eggs, etc, cooked as you want, but it seems that you must ask if you want anything cooked (since no-one asked us anything.)

The second night we had dinner which was quite spectacular. Several very delicious 'tasters' and then three courses, cheese followed by really good petit fours to finish. The standard of food at the Ermitage de Corton is excellent.

On the last day we wandered into breakfast to be told that they didn't have a table for us, but they quickly laid up a place on the terrace, which was fine, but it was as if they weren't expecting us to show up! The lady and her husband seemed very nice, but a little bit rushed - perhaps they were particularly busy at the time. We booked online which meant we were entitled to a half bottle of Chablis which was in the minibar all along and would have been nice to have on arrival, but I had to ask about and I wouldn't have known it was there. Still, again this is picky, since I cannot fault the place and I am comparing it to some extremely charming little places that we had stayed in prior to the Ermitage which were perhaps not quite so luxurious but had that extra 'something.'

Yes, I would recommend the Ermitage de Corton, since it is in a great area and the suites are good if you have teenagers or children. It has a little pool in the back garden with a nice view. If you are going, I would also recommend dinner, but only for one night, since you must try some of the places in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our travels from Calais to Turin. It was about a six hour drive from Calais, so it was the perfect place for a pit stop. Our room was decorated superbly, with antique French boutique furniture. It was like a gorgeous boutique hotel. The bed and pillows were so comfy and the Egyptian cotton sheets were gorgeously soft. We felt very pampered here! We dinned in the restaurant for our stay, where we choose a set menu called "the taste from burgundy with a bit of our chef's personal touch". Myself and my father both choose to start with the 'poached egg in a red wine sauce with onion and bacon' which was divine. For main I had the 'fried pike perch fillet, shallots candied in a granadine syrup' which was lovely and my father choose the 'farm chicken leg stuffed with conte cheese and mustard and served with mash potatoes', which was very succulent. For dessert I had the 'gingerbread ice cream', which was wonderful and my father had the 'apple and blackcurrent soup with a Pinot noir wine jelly' which was deliciously fruity. All together it was a lovely stay and we will defiantly be making this our pit stop place when traveling through France.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlottedav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent two nights here on the way down to the Riviera from Calais. We love the Beaune region and this hotel made it even more enjoyable. The booking was handled very efficiently and the hotel was easy to find if you follow the website guidance. We had a junior suite, which was roomy and well appointed with rustic furniture and a view onto the rear garden. The staff were very helpful. We chose the hotel partly because of the good restaurant reviews. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the wine choice was outstanding if a little pricey. Overall we had a great stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly staff and comfortable accommodation. We stayed here for one night on our long journey back from Provence. Good location just north of Beaune on the D974 at Chorey Les Beaune. We had a suite in the pavilion at the back of the hotel so very quiet, with nice terrace outside the room. Large garden with pool. Access on foot from the back of the garden into the village and vineyards. Eating in the restaurant was a lovely experience with good food and a nice relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is family friendly. There is a beautiful aspect from the front of the hotel (although the road is a little busy) and sunset over the vines is spectacular. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SARA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What can we say...Nicholas and Clemence were perfect hosts for our dream visit to Burgogne at their lovely Ermitage, located right on the Route de Grand Cru between Dijon and just north of Beaune. They work very hard and it shows. Proud owners for the past 5 years or so, this young couple has made this Inn well worth a visit when you are visiting Beaune or the Burgundy region. From the moment we pulled in and were greeted by smiling Nicholas, we felt welcome and at home. A bit nervous about our poor Francais speaking skills, his excellent English quickly put us at ease. Our garden pavilion suite was spacious, bright, and airy with views of the famous vineyards from every window (even the bathroom window!) Decor was charming, modern and comfortable. I think we could have stayed for weeks! Lovely bath products and other touches like in-room coffee and tea made it extra nice. The wifi worked great, too. Dinner at their beautiful dining room was superb. As the sun set over the vineyards, we enjoyed a truly world class gourmet meal from start to finish. The skilled sommelier not only helped us select a amazing wine, but she patiently taught me how to pronounce it: Chambolle-Musigny! Turns out that wine is one of Clemence's favorites, as well. Breakfast includes some wonderful fresh breads, meats and fruit, as well as great cafe au lait. A great way to start your day of winery touring. They have a spacious back yard with a nice in-ground pool but it was a bit too chilly to swim. The Burgogne wine region boasts some phenomenal wineries that should not be missed. Don't miss the tonnelerie, as well, where they make oak barrels. And when you visit be sure to stay at the Ermitage. Cannot wait to go back soon!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OhioSilverLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorey Les Beaune
2.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
863 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
329 reviews
8.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
662 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Challanges
Chateau de Challanges
#14 of 62 in Beaune
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermitage de Corton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage de Corton

Address: D974 | Route de Dijon, 21200 Chorey Les Beaune, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Chorey Les Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorey Les Beaune
Price Range: $115 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ermitage de Corton 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a small charming hotel, managed with passion by the owners, Clémence and Nicolas Chambon, go no further than the Hôtel Ermitage de Corton. In the heart of the Burgundian vineyards, close to Beaune, between the Côtes de Beaune and the Côtes de Nuit, you will find a guesthouse offering all the services of a hotel: the philosophy behind the Ermitage de Corton. Guests feel completely at home in these friendly atmosphere and charming surroundings.An extensive residence built to a classic design, the Ermitage de Corton will delight lovers of beautiful homes. At the Ermitage, authentic style enjoys precedence over showy renovations. Parquet flooring, stone, period ceilings, antique furniture with the patina of time. A sense of history and the enthusiasm of its owners have given the Ermitage an extra special character: a warm atmosphere with a refreshingly modern twist: including swimming pool, terrace with panoramic views, views over the vineyards or gardens, air-conditioning throughout, minibar, boiler, free wifi, ipod/iphone docking station, flat screen and satellite TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ermitage de Corton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage De Corton Hotel
Ermitage De Corton France/Chorey Les Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing