We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine country retreat”
Review of Ermitage de Corton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ermitage de Corton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I attended a conference in Lyon and wanted to retreat to burgandy before returning to the U.S. After researching the alternatives (thank you Trip Advisor), my wife and I selected this hotel. We were not disappointed. The room was large and luxurious, overlooking vineyards. The staff was quite friendly. The hotel is located just a few meters from the Aloxe Corton wine area. Other famous domains are just a few kilometers away. We were highly satisfied with our experience here and in the region. One word of caution, though. The hotel does not have an elevator, so be prepared to carry your bags up a flight or two.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the vineyards. The front of the hotel faces a fairly bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rcovington4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments about the room (just been renovated) and the staff.

Unfortunately, we can’t install an elevator in the building but we are more than happy to carry your baggages up and down as we offered you to do. Do not hesitate: we know what it is to travel and our staff is here to give you assistance and make you feel like at home!

We are glad you could enjoy all the great domains of Burgundy located so close from our hotel and we are looking for ward to welcome you again soon,

Best regards,

Nicolas Chambon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 368 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

On our way back from Belgium to Switzerland, we decided to stop in Burgundy to make it in two (less tiring...) days than one ! And we were right to do so at this charming hotel ! Reservation easily made trough the phone, the lady owner as nice as possible to register it, a very comfortable and large suite freshly redone, with a nice view on the vineyards of Chorey-les-Beaune, at an unbeatable price ! And the bed, a premium class one, so important ! When it gets to the dinner experience, worth a detour ! A young and highly talented chef (soon to receive a Michelin star, no doubt !), a very comfortable, wide and pleasant dining-room, with round tables well apart one from another, a perfect service (the "sommelier-maitre d'" lady is extremely helpfull and nice !), a stunning wine-list (worth a Wine Spectator Award !!), with a fantastic choice of marvellous wines ! We definitively had an exquisite dinner, perfect all way trough ! The gastronomical ideas, the freshness of the food, the presentation, the perfect cooking time, we are looking forward to our next visit ! A slight undertone might be the breakfast, quite sufficient and good, but could be served in a more joly and imaginative way !
A really good adress if you wish to discover Burgundy, it is so centrally located and minutes away from Beaune and the highway ! Do not hesitate !!!

Room Tip: Suite 208 facing the vineyards is comfortable,quiet, large and well situated !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrH704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments. We love when what could be just a stop on the road is turned into a great moment of pleasure!

The room you had has just been renovated so we are happy you liked it so much.

The chef and the staff of the restaurant were pleased to read your comments about their work and would like to thank you as well.

We will be more than happy to see you again soon,

Nicolas Chambon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice place very friendly staff en route to the Alpes. Restaurant very accommodating although room disappointing. Wines and food excellent. Wifi didn't work, Plenty of secure parking and ideally placed to tour the centre of the Burgundy wine region

Room Tip: See it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shardeloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about the quality of our restaurant.

Do not hesitate to come back as the room have been renovated and I am sure you will like it now. If not, we have other rooms to show, also renovate recently.

We are sorry for the wifi if it didn’t work during your stay: sometimes it just needs a reboot, so please mention it at the front desk when this happens. It takes less than two minutes to restart the system.

Best regards,

Nicolas Chambon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a cycling holiday. We arrived in after a hard days cycling against wind in a bit of disheveled state. We were welcomed so warmly by a lovely lady who took one look at me, read my mind and said "Would you like a hot chocolate?" Those words were music to my ears. She took us to our suite and brought the drinks up to the room.

Our suite was spacious, luxurious and beautifully designed. There was nouveau french style furniture in the room. The suite had wooden beams and I would describe the decor as soothing and indulgent. It was old meeting the new in a sophisticated way. The bathroom was divine and the finishings were of a very specification. This renovation has been done to a very high standard. I wonder if it has been renovated since some of the more negative reviews were written?

I have to make special mention of the wonderful and warm staff. Nothing was too much trouble. They worked long hours, but always had a smile and were attentive, but not intrusive. This goes for the reception, service at breakfast and at dinner. They obviously have a passion for what they do and were very proud of this fine establishment.

Yes, this restaurant is off a main road, but as soon as one gets into the place, one will forget this. It is positioned far back from the road, so the road noise is not heard. When sitting down for dinner, if you look out of the windows, all you will see is the most glorious vineyards. Quite breathtaking and spectacular. That is, if you can steal your eyes away from the beautifully interior designed dining room. Design aficionados will be in for a treat spotting the design classics and how they are put together.

The food at dinner was very good. The chef put up very appetizing menus that were faultless. The wine list was brilliant and the cheese board is well stocked with an excellent choice of regional and national cheeses. The French do good cheese trolleys. I wish that is something that we could learn more from.

We were sad to leave this place. I would highly recommend it if you plan to be in the area. It is a real gem.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kateland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Kate,

The way you describe your stay is the reason why we are doing this job. Thank you so much!

Yes, we have the passion for what we are doing and we are glad you could see it from the staff, to the cuisine and not forgetting the quality of our room renewals.

We have the passion of service and want our guest to feel like at home. Thank you for letting us know we’ve reached that goal during your stay!

We hope to see you again soon,

Nicolas Chambon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for 6 days at the Ermitage and it was a wonderful stay. Since we were staying for longer than most people we decided to stay in the Junior Suite in the Garden Pavllion which was a 2 story room, with the bedroom upstairs and everything else downstairs, though going to the bathroom at night was a little hazardous it's was well worth it, It was quiet, lovely, spacious and romantic all at the same time. Our room was decorated in French Countryside decor with a modern bathroom - delightful. The owners are the best, really helpful when it comes to the local attractions and things to do. We ate there 3 times and enjoyed each dinner. Breakfast was fine, not over the top and certainly enough to start the day. If you want eggs, learn how to say eggs in French in case you get one of the server whose English is not the best. Take moment and have an apertif in the bar before dinner and unwind. Though the menu isn't massive, it certainly extensive enough to suit each palate, and the wine list is great with lots of local wines you wont' find anywhere else, especially in the US. The gardens are lovely, with a beautiful weeping willow, so take a stroll and even venture into the vineyards next door. We hired a car from Dijon and it was as straight shot south on D974 and really easy to get to and use a base for your trip around the Burgundy region. Such wonderful memories and would definitely recommend this place versus a hotel in Beanue, you have free parking and just as easy access to everything else. Keep all your Euro coins so you can use for parking in Beaune if you need to.

Room Tip: The Garden Pavilion was a great location and quiet since we were on the back side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duckmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Duckmate,

We are very happy that you had a great time in Burgundy thanks to our advices. We are pleased you could spend 6 days in the area without being bored at all: there are so many things to do in Burgundy!

Thank you also for your nice comments about the Junior Suite in our garden pavilion and about the restaurant.

Best regards,

Nicolas Chambon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel sits on the busy D974 just north of Beaune but is well located to explore Beaune and beyond. Our large well furnished room (with large balcony) faced the road (west), bringing memorable views across the road of the famous vineyards (Savigny les Beaunes left and Aloxe Corton right), the sunsets, and, one summer afternoon, a rainstorm across the Cote. Out back is a small terrace at which to eat or take a drink, a good pool and a large rambling lawn. The restaurant deserves high marks, presenting cuisine with effort and a clear notch above standard tourist fare, and well served. However we did not take breakfast at the hotel, partly because of the price but mainly for the feeble coffee. Preferred to ride to a nearby boulanger (especially at Savigny les Beaunes) for pastries to eat over real (espresso) coffee at a bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear William,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about the quality of the food in our restaurant.

We are also very pleased you liked our Superior Suite in which you could enjoy the view from the large balcony: sunset on the vineyards is indeed a great moment. We are very happy that you enjoyed it!

Next time, I recommend you to try our breakfast buffet for two reasons:

- The quality of the coffee: we serve two type of coffee: the fist one is a brewed coffee made with high quality coffee (light but preferred by people who wants large cups) and the second one is made with our “Jura” espresso machine using fresh beans where we can make espressos, cappuccinos and latte macchiato.
- The price: booking online on our website, you can choose to book the room with the breakfast included in the price, which makes a breakfast at only 12 euro per person!

Best regards,

Nicolas Chambon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The staff are really very helpful in this hotel. The downstairs and garden are superb. The food is mostly very good. However, wow!, was I disappointed with our room. We had booked the superior suite for 2 nights as a treat and the only way to sum it up is that it was very dated. Apricot 1970s bathroom facilities, horrible dark grey carpet and drab furniture. Size was the only thing in its favour. Not what I was expecting from the photos on the website and in the magazines. Glances through open doors into other rooms led me to believe that other rooms were nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Annie,

We thank you very much for your comment on our hotel and also you for your nice comments about the quality of the restaurant.

We are pleased to inform you that the room you occupied has now been fully renovated (like the two other Superior Suites) and is nothing to compare with what you had.

We also change the bathroom and have included a water massage bath, which has a lot of success! Should you be back again, please mention you want Suite number 103 (or 104) to test it!

Best regards,

Nicolas Chambon
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorey Les Beaune
2.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#3 of 62 in Beaune
867 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
669 reviews
8.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
470 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Challanges
Chateau de Challanges
#15 of 62 in Beaune
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermitage de Corton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage de Corton

Address: D974 | Route de Dijon, 21200 Chorey Les Beaune, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Chorey Les Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorey Les Beaune
Price Range: $102 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ermitage de Corton 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a small charming hotel, managed with passion by the owners, Clémence and Nicolas Chambon, go no further than the Hôtel Ermitage de Corton. In the heart of the Burgundian vineyards, close to Beaune, between the Côtes de Beaune and the Côtes de Nuit, you will find a guesthouse offering all the services of a hotel: the philosophy behind the Ermitage de Corton. Guests feel completely at home in these friendly atmosphere and charming surroundings.An extensive residence built to a classic design, the Ermitage de Corton will delight lovers of beautiful homes. At the Ermitage, authentic style enjoys precedence over showy renovations. Parquet flooring, stone, period ceilings, antique furniture with the patina of time. A sense of history and the enthusiasm of its owners have given the Ermitage an extra special character: a warm atmosphere with a refreshingly modern twist: including swimming pool, terrace with panoramic views, views over the vineyards or gardens, air-conditioning throughout, minibar, boiler, free wifi, ipod/iphone docking station, flat screen and satellite TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ermitage de Corton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage De Corton Hotel
Ermitage De Corton France/Chorey Les Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing