We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located close to Beaune, noisy and over priced”
Review of Ermitage de Corton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ermitage de Corton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Ermitage de Corton is conveniently located right outside Beaune (so you avoid the clutter of the city and yet are close to it). It is right on the motorway and so does not offer the tranquil experience that being in the middle of the vineyards should. The windows and doors are sound proof - so when you shut them you can have a good night's sleep - however if you want to enjoy the views from the terrace or simply sit outside and enjoy the sunset you have to inhale the CO2 and have the highway noise as well. Rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are large as well - however the materials and the decorative style is tacky - the price is very high for what they offer. One big plus - the staff is very nice and very helpful - they offered us great advice on which vineyards to visit and helped us plan the visit.

Room Tip: Superior suites have a terrace and lot of sunlight in the evening (faces west). Junior suites seeme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thandadoodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2015

Thank you so much for your nice comment about our staff and our recommendations for visits!

We also have rooms at the back facing the garden. Do not hesitate to contact us directly to choose your room. We will assist you with pleasure.

Looking forward to seeing you soon again at l'Ermitage de Corton,

Best regards,

Nicolas Chambon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 364 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

The rooms in the garden were ideal when travelling with a dog! Near to the motorway, but no noise from that, but on a very busy ordinary road. The food was excellental! Friendly staff, so no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCotswoldsWhizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Situated by a busy main road, the hotel is surprisingly quiet, and our 1st floor room was spacious and charmingly presented. No charge making up a 2nd bed or bringing a travelcot, and the receptionist was genuinely friendly and helpful - pretty much the model of high-grade hospitality actually. Limited selection on the wine-by-the-glass menu (surprising, given the area) but what was there was good. Priced at average 12E per glass, so only the very rich are getting drunk here!

Nice pool, enclosed pool area with lloyd-loom style loungers, and an adjacent play area for kids (close enough to the bar-terrace that parents don;t feel deliberately ostracized from the civilized people!).

Dinner a disappointment - only because the bar advertises 'bistro' food, but we then discovered this is not offered in the evenings, and had to choose from the more expensive and 'formal' (three strategically arranged peas and a bit of swirly foam, anyone?) a la carte menu. Very hard to keep two young children quiet through two hours of this type of food - and the portions are so titchy that you have to have all 3 courses just to leave the table with hunger satiated - anyway - this was our prob for bringing littlies to the fining room, and staff did their best to distract them with a bowl of plain pasta, so I digress..)

Price for the night - around 440E. A bit pricey, but one of the best hotels in the area, and they really made an effort, so don't begrudge it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knightsbridgemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Spent 3 nights at this hotel in July 2011. The staff are great, really accommodating and helpful in terms of making recommendation for restuarants and wine tasting. They have extensive knowledge about where to go and can provide guidelines in terms of good price quality dealers and vineyards according to your budget. The restaurant in the hotel is brilliant - but quite expensive, we spent around 100€ per head all together. Breakfast was perfectly fine, quite limited but this is to be expected in France. Our room was incredible, we had room number 5 which is a standard room, but would be a junior suite by most hotel standards - it was enormous with a great walk in shower, huge bed and plenty of storage space for all those cases of vino. The hotel has a huge garden and a nice size pool, unfortunately we did not get ot make use of these as the weather was dreadful whilst we were there. Two points to be aware of; check in time is 3pm, so if you arrive early there is a good chance the room will not be ready, the hotel is quite small and has a small staff so you may not get access earlier than 3pm, however they are very accommodating in getting everything sorted as quickly as possible. Secondly the hotel is situated on the D974, this is quite a busy road during the day and thus traffic can be heard in the grounds - fortunately our room was at the back so this did not cause us any problems but I imagine it would be a frustration for some. There were lots of families staying whilst we were there so you may also wish to consider this if you are looking for a peaceful retreat whilst in Bourgogne.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Conveniently situated for travellers on the A6, this small hotel is friendly and welcoming. Our room was furnished with an assortment of furniture, some old and good, some old and not so good. It was comfortable enough. The bathroom was modern and well lit but it was impossible to put the plug in the bath without standing in it unless you have very long arms because of a fixed shower panel. This is no more than irritating trivia but makes all the difference to a room being user friendly. The smallish pool had only one occupied umbrella on a boiling hot day, making the small garden more or less unusable except for sun-worshippers. The loungers were a peculiar modern design which were not adjustable.

But now we come to the evening meal: it was exceptionally good. The skill of the chef was evident, the menus interesting and the wines a good range of local vineyards. We stayed out of season at the beginning of the week and there was only one other table occupied. This is a pity as the meal would be worth a detour.

We probably expected a little better ambience for the room price and I doubt we will return but it is a convenient stop in Burgundy for those heading from northern Europe to the Med.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ermitagecorton, Propriétaire at Ermitage de Corton, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2015

Thank you so much for your nice comment about our chef cuisine.

Looking forward to seeing you soon again at l'Ermitage de Corton,

Best regards,

Nicolas Chambon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had the taster menu and it was fantastic! there were supposed to be 5 courses, but with the Amuse Bouche and Canapes it seemed much more. All was beautifully presented. No cheap but worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

One word 'faultless' would describe our overnight stay. Fantastic 'huge' room with oulook over the local vineyards and garden. Very attentive staff (English spoken) and a gourmet restaurant. Buffet breakfast @ 15E not cheap but excellent choice (champange on ice if you wish to indulge in a bucks fizz in the morning). Reccomend this hotel if visiting Beaune or overnight stop as it is just outside the city & although by the main road we experienced no noise at night.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garibaldi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorey Les Beaune
2.3 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
863 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel le Clos
Hotel le Clos
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
330 reviews
8.9 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
662 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau de Challanges
Chateau de Challanges
#14 of 62 in Beaune
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ermitage de Corton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ermitage de Corton

Address: D974 | Route de Dijon, 21200 Chorey Les Beaune, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Chorey Les Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorey Les Beaune
Price Range: $108 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ermitage de Corton 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a small charming hotel, managed with passion by the owners, Clémence and Nicolas Chambon, go no further than the Hôtel Ermitage de Corton. In the heart of the Burgundian vineyards, close to Beaune, between the Côtes de Beaune and the Côtes de Nuit, you will find a guesthouse offering all the services of a hotel: the philosophy behind the Ermitage de Corton. Guests feel completely at home in these friendly atmosphere and charming surroundings.An extensive residence built to a classic design, the Ermitage de Corton will delight lovers of beautiful homes. At the Ermitage, authentic style enjoys precedence over showy renovations. Parquet flooring, stone, period ceilings, antique furniture with the patina of time. A sense of history and the enthusiasm of its owners have given the Ermitage an extra special character: a warm atmosphere with a refreshingly modern twist: including swimming pool, terrace with panoramic views, views over the vineyards or gardens, air-conditioning throughout, minibar, boiler, free wifi, ipod/iphone docking station, flat screen and satellite TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ermitage de Corton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ermitage De Corton Hotel
Ermitage De Corton France/Chorey Les Beaune

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing