We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Chateau de Vollore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Vollore
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We only found this lovely b&b at the last moment. A spectacular position, wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. Well maintained family home with 4 bedrooms available. Room extremely comfortable up two flights of a circular stone staircase - good big bed, good bathroom with fluffy towels and robes. AND a good hairdrier! Hosts very welcoming offering use of the swimming pool, reclining chairs and booking a delightful restaurant 7k away for us.
Breakfast very good - lovely local bread and croissants, home made preserves, yoghurts and orange juice. After dinner we were offered the use of the family beautiful sitting room with stunning furniture and family portraits. We shared this with a delightful german couple with whom we shared (very carefully) a bottle of red wine. Next time we are in the area we will return

Room Tip: Not suitable for disabled - all rooms at the top of the chateau via stone steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

The historical Château, the original antique furnished rooms, the wonderful gardens and the history of the Marquis de Lafayette family was what motivated my husband and I to visit and stay at Château de Vollore, Auvergne, France for a few days in June 2011. We visited the environs and ate and drank the local cheeses and wines and were amazed by the quality of the Auvergne cuisine, the friendship of its people and the beauty of the countryside.
We enjoyed the conversation with the Château owners who are direct descendants of the Marquis de Lafayette and learned much more than history books could tell.
It was a tremendous experience which we would repeat any time mainly during the summer when they have their music festivals.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaSofiaMoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank cha06000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Angelique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mupepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fixalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres avec vue sur la plaine d'Auvergne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank motomotoLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Vollore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Vollore

Address: Chateau de Vollore Ville, 63120 Vollore-Ville, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Vollore-Ville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Vollore-Ville
Price Range: $236 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau de Vollore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de Vollore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing