We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the bill”
Review of La Tour du Roy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Tour du Roy
Ranked #3 of 3 Vervins B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Watch the bill”
Reviewed December 4, 2006

The building is lovely but our room was tiny and dark with only 1 small window and very low arched ceilings. I admit we did book late but make sure you enquire about your room prior to confirming your reservation.

We decided to eat in the hotel as the town was limited in restaurant choices. The set menu was okay food although we couldn't fully enjoy it as the dining room was stinking hot, how hard is it to get the air con working?!

I also read in previous reviews about the dubious hotel manager and incorrect billing so I was on my guard when we checked out. Rightly so because when we checked out in the morning having avoided breakfast (it was an optional extra not included in our room price) our bill was waiting for us (written in French). The bill had extra items and costs I didn’t understand and as my French is limited I enquired what the charges were for. At this moment the managers English became very limited…..he had spoken English easily the previous day! After a bit of to and fro, he said the costs were for breakfast. We didn’t eat breakfast but he had set a place for us at the table assuming we would want it, so was going to charge us anyway! I insisted I would not pay as it was an optional extra which we didn’t commit to having so he finally agreed to take it off. Not nice to have this confrontation.

I definitely won’t be going back. Also the town seemed very safe, despite him saying it was VERY dangerous to park on the street. If you do go to this hotel I would avoid the 15 euro charge to use their car park and park out the front for free.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gypo_lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    34
    27
    21
See reviews for
10
90
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2006

We saw a beautiful picture of a french chateux which is why we made the booking. We were shocked when we were shown our rooms which were across the road and down the street in an apartment building. The shower leaked and the ceiling creaked. When I went to complain and see if we could work out an alternative arrangement, it took ten minutes for someone to come to reception. Then I was rudely told that I had agreed to stay in the apartment at the time of booking. This was utterly untrue. While I explained this, the waiter waved goodbye at me and walked away. This was disgraceful. He wouldn't bring his manager out to speak to me nor would he consider a reduction.
To say Vervins was a sleepy town is an understatement. We went on a Friday night and couldn't even find one human never mind a restaurant on the street. We ended up with a very disappointing meal at a nearby hotel - cheval noire and again very very rude service. Do not recommend this hotel or the surrounding area.

  • Liked — the way it looked on the internet
  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go there.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Danandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vervins hotels

England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed one night in summer 2006. The surroundings are unprepossessing, but you get what it says on the tin: dinner was good.

There were two niggles. We stayed in the Constance room, which is v nice but there is a connecting door to the adjacent room, so you may learn more about your neighbours than you may wish to know. Second, they added on a 15 euro charge for parking, which was not flagged up at either the time of reservation or on checking in. So check very carefully whether this is included, and avoid it by parking on the street if it is.

We gathered from other guests that this hotel is widely used by agencies like VFB, and many seem to have used this hotel each year and keep coming back (and they're not charged for parking!)

  • Liked — Good dinner
  • Disliked — Poor soundproofing of connecting door to adjacent room
  • Tips/Secrets — Check for parking charges
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We stayed here for the one night on our way back to Calais in July 2006.
We found the hotel charming. It was very quaint and comfortable with an ‘old chateaux-charm’ about it. There is a beautiful stained glass window in the main stairwell. Although the hotel was situated in the centre of the town, it was a very quiet and peaceful place to stay. It has a pretty courtyard garden with ample parking.
Our room, Les Moissonneurs’ was extremely quaint, clean and comfortable. It had air conditioning, a t.v. and mini bar. The bathroom was also very quaint and clean. It had a bath but no shower but there was a hairdryer provided.
The staff were very efficient and polite. The restaurant was a gourmet one and the food absolutely delicious and beautifully presented and I feel, for the price, reasonable. Continental breakfast was included and was quite adequate.
The town was quite dead on a Friday night.
Would happily come again if passing through this area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2005

We took a very late booking for this hotel and were advised that we would be in the annex rather than the main hotel. This we took to mean across the carpark but in fact we were in a house about 30m away across the street. This was adequate but very old fashioned and probably not worth the EUR 95 per room which was charged.

The restaurant is very good and provided what we wanted.

The area is not endowed with many places to visit unless you like to see a number of fortified churches. The Tourist Information office was a bit on the thin side.

Perhaps we would have had a different view if we had been in the main hotel but I doubt we would go there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

We have been staying 3 times in this hotel, which offers quite outstanding excellent food and accomodation, if you can cope with the occasional water shortage or electricity black out, typical for a French village. Eric, the Maitre de is helpfull and nice - that is until you are getting charged for your stay. In the morning of departure, he is nowhere to be seen, and your bill is always inflated- not by that much, but very anoying. The proprietor, who collects your money refers to Eric and of course he has no idea why you complain, which then results into a confrontation of sorts, leaving you with a foul taste in your mouth.
One mistake one can overlook, but on three occasions??? I have written to the hotel after our third stay, but never received as much as an acknowledgement or reply. My advice: Go and enjoy- a wonderful place, but make sure you check what you spend...We, unfortunately, will not go there again.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Redsilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2004

This is an excellent hotel , lovely rooms and superb regional food. What makes it is the charming, ecentric Manager. He seems to be on duty 24/7 and has his eye on everything going on. Dinner is an entertainment whilst he conducts it.

A sort of (in the nicest possible way) Basil with a bit of Del boy.

If your headind south towards Rheims then take the detour and enjoy Erics place

Helpful?
11 Thank RogerBrightonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vervins
15.1 mi away
Domaine de Barive
Domaine de Barive
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Les Lavandieres de Fontaine
5.4 mi away
Le Bocage Chambres d'Hotes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Les Chambres de Ribeaufontaine
5.0 mi away
Le Clos du Montvinage
Le Clos du Montvinage
#1 of 1 in Etreaupont
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tour du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour du Roy

Property: La Tour du Roy
Address: 45 rue du General Leclerc, 02140 Vervins, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Vervins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vervins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tour du Roy 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your La Tour du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing