We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome awaits you!”
Review of huntspill arms - CLOSED

huntspill arms
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Great Torrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome awaits you!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My sister and I enjoyed a fabulous lunch here. We were given a very warm welcome by all the staff and Josh, behind the bar, was extremely helpful. You know you have gone to the right place when the staff are smart and friendly.
The decor is pleasant and comfortable.
The lunch menu offered something for everyone. The food was well presented and plentiful.
I will certainly visit again.
Plenty of parking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    19
    18
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really lovely and very good value for money......”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My Hubby and I had a lunchtime meal in this nearby restaurant and we really were pleasantly surprised. All the main course meals are buy 1 get 1 free every day of the week, which was great value for money and the meals were good size portions and delicious. I opted for the steak, which was cooked to perfection and the stilton and pepper sauce is an absolute must, it was the nicest sauce I'v ever tasted with a steak and my Hubby chose the chicken breast with a creamy garlic and mushroom sauce, which again was delicious. All the staff were very friendly and the service was quick. I would definately recommend this restaurant to others....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurassica22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark, Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shambolic Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I booked a table for 6 for Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday. On arrival we were told that all that was left was 'roast chicken', well the chicken wasn't roasted, it was dry, grey and tasteless, accompanied by poor quality peas, cold carrots and baby potatoes, roast potatoes, a beast of a yorkshire pudding, watery sour gravy. A thoroughly unpleasant meal. Will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Melina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, england
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great personal service”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went to the Huntspill arms to celebrate fathers birthday, as soon as we entered the building we were given a warm and friendly welcome and were treated Ike old friends, the service was really good, the food excellent, a fantastic surprise was when a birthday cake was delivered to the table which made all the difference to the celebrations, thank you for a lovely time

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget dining? Cannot be beaten!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have had better dining experiences but only in exclusive (very pricey) restaurants. If you are on a budget the Huntspill Arms cannot be beaten. The food is of a very high standard and our waitress was fantastic, wish we had taken her name for our review (petite blonde girl). This is our first time at The Huntspill Arms, we only called in for something cheap and cheerful as we couldn't face cooking after a long journey. Feel like we have stumbled upon a real local gem. What a find, we would have spent more in Tesco and would have had to cook and clear up too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed huntspill arms also viewed

Highbridge, Somerset
Highbridge, Somerset
 
West Huntspill, Somerset
Highbridge, Somerset
 
Highbridge, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing