We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Accommodation”
Review of Crossways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crossways Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Highbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for 1 night on the way to Devon and we were very impressed. Our room was very stylish and had everything we needed. The ensuite/wet room was out of this world, very roomy and the shower was the most powerful we had ever used. The food was good too and obviously very popular with the locals as we had to book, even on a Monday evening. If we had to find a criticism it would be that the room backed onto the Skittle Alley, we could hear the noise, however we were warned beforehand so we just turned the TV sound up. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

stayed here for three nights with sister and 92 year old mother great welcome nothing was too much trouble rooms very clean and comfortable food very good with plenty of choice very friendly staff would recommend crossways inn highly

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights the rooms have been refurbished and was done to a high standad.The food was good and the breakfast excellent with very fieindly staff .The pub needs a bit of TLC but they are doing this as the toilets have been done to a very high standad would go back again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel but went for the annual bank holiday beer festival. A good selection of ales in a good location with entertainment laid on. A play area was provided at the rear of the beer tent to keep the grandkids amused while my son and I enjoyed the ales and the music. The beer tent was in the back garden of the pub. A large car park is provided across the road from the pub for the designated driver, wife, babysitter who accompanied us on this trip. A good day out was had and some fine ales consumed. There was a stall selling hot pork rolls and a display of live owls which seemed quite happy to sit while kids handled them for a small donation towards the owl sanctuary. Will be going back next year and may stay over as the wife says she would like to have a drink next time and I certainly won't be offering to drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomersetToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had this pub recommended to us by the receptionist at the Days Inn (M5) whilst driving around looking for a room last minute after a day at the beach.
We had a lovely welcome and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely new rooms, massive bed & bath room. We had a lovely meal from a great looking menu & some great real ale to accompany it. My 3yr old son loved the play area which is secure and safe. The staff really made a fuss of us and my son in particular, not charging us for two bottles of milk before we headed off to bed and giving him seconds at breakfast the next morning. As for the breakfast, all i can say is eggs benedict mmmmmm...!
Overall, a lovely find, and one which i can whole'heartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Crossways for 3 nights and were thoroughly delighted with the room, food, staff helpfulness and friendly locals.

The owners had thought of everything to make you comfortable, including, safe, electric fan, extra comfy pillows iron and ironing board etc. The bathroom was large and well equipped.Food and service excellent. Would definitely go again if in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which had huge double bed no view to talk of but that is more than made up for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked this room last minute as we wanted somewhere to stay. The room itself was lovely and the bathroom newly refurbished to a high standard with a double shower. The bed wasn't the most comfortable; too springy for my liking but that's just personal taste.

The service really let our experience down. At check in things were just all a bit rushed to get us to our room quickly. They couldn't find my booking which I had made almost 3 hours earlier; eventually they did. Then when we were shown to our room it was a twin when we had requested a double. So we vacated for a while for this to be put right. On our return we had been told when initially shown to our room that the TV was equipped with Freeview. However; we tried time and again but couldn't get the TV to work at all.

On check out we went to hand our room key and were asked if were joining for breakfast. Unfortunately, if the job was done properly on check-in to make guests aware of breakfast times etc. we may have got up a little bit earlier to make a proper start to the day.

Disappointed for £65!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highbridge
2.4 mi away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
200 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Crossways
The Crossways
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
376 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wall Eden Farm
Wall Eden Farm
#1 of 3 in Highbridge
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Greenwood
The Greenwood
#2 of 4 in Highbridge
102 reviews
4 mi away
No photo provided
Greenacre Place
#2 of 3 in Highbridge
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways Inn

Address: Withy Road | West Huntspill, Highbridge TA9 3RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Highbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Highbridge
Price Range: $85 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossways Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crossways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing