We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful clean friendly small island with a great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful clean friendly small island with a great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

This is a beautiful beach front resort and not in a busy crowded tourist area. 3 big pools, disco club, rum & cigar bar and several nice resturants. Unbelievable pizza shack next to the pool. I have been goinghere for 4 years at least twice a year. Great overall in usual Marriott style.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPSMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    1,102
    382
    163
    117
See reviews for
697
1,129
77
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

This was our 3rd trip to St. Kitts which pretty much makes us experts since there is not very much to see on the island. We have stayed at the Marriott both with and without kids.

The good...

If you are looking for an island that is quiet with beach and pool as the main activities, St. Kitts is probably the quietest and least congested of the Caribbean islands (we have been to many). It is home to several Medical and Veterinary Universities and is relatively safe (you can walk outside the resort even at night). Reggae beach ($44 round trip in a taxi) is a great place to spend the day on Cockelshell Bay (have lunch at Reggae Beach or walk over to the Spice Mill). A catamaran trip with snorkeling arranged via the hotel is a great way to spend a half-day. The Beach House in the newly developing Christophe Harbour, is a fantastic restaurant with great ambiance. The Shiggedy Shack is a must for Thursday night bonfires on the beach and a cheesy, yet entertaining show by the "Fire Man". Other restaurants I recommend include La Belle Vie (fine french in low key environment), Serendipity, Ciao, and Cathy's (think ribs and rice while barefoot on a beach eating on a picnic table with a plastic cover).

I think that's it for the good...

St. Kitts is fairly new to tourism and unfortunately is shows. The staff in most places are on "island time", which would be fine, but on St. Kitts "island time" loosely translates to "we'll get to you when we get to you...if we get to you." Poor service would be more acceptable if it came with a smile and pleasantries, but on St. Kitts, that is the exception to the rule.

The Marriott, while less than 10 years old, is already showing signs of major wear and is dated. The architecture supports large conventions, as it is vast and concrete (I'm sure it helps to weather the frequent storms, but flooding is very common). Most days the hotel appears near empty, even though the reception desk claims it is at capacity. Do not expect any sort of crowd or activity unless there is drinking group on a business trip or a gathering of local students at happy hour.

The hotel food is mediocre and expensive. Kids under 5 eat free in all of the restaurants. Breakfast buffet at Calypso is a choice of continental or international with a significant difference in price. Lunch poolside or at the oceanfront restaurant is provided by a limited menu with very mediocre quality food. I'm not fond of any of the restaurants and considering you are stuck with them for breakfast and lunch, I recommend dining off property for dinner.

On the beach, the vendors are very friendly - saying no once is usually enough. You can "rent" a monkey for 30 minutes at $20. I know this supports a bad practice, but our kids were drooling at the mouth. Our monkey was cranky and pooped in his diaper while sitting on my lap (baby diapers...not meant for monkeys...enough said). You will be offered, and sometimes given without consent, a massage "sample". I did a beach vendor massage 2 years ago and opted to use the hotel Spa in the years that followed (Ruth Lynn gives an excellent massage). It wasn't bad per say, but lack of privacy makes it a bit uncomfortable and you are covered in thick globs of aloe from head to toe by the end.

The pool is vast, but not very well maintained. Pool volleyball, a swim up bar and a football toss are the main attractions here. Some activities thru the Activity Desk also include water aerobics, bingo and water sports. There is pool and beach side waitress service, but it is infrequent and on "island time". If you really want that drink - head over to the bar and get one from the bartender yourself.

The main nightlife in the hotel is the casino. Yes, there are several bars, but most of them have a small group of people in them and live entertainment is provided mainly on the weekend nights. The casino usually has a casino group or two that make playing more interesting (a lot of big stakes gamblers). This year we watched a woman win and lose $50,000 in one night playing blackjack. Drinks and cigars are complimentary to table players. The casino is open until 2:00 am during the week and 4:00 am on the weekends. To be a "rated player" you must be betting $25 per each hand. If you are a "player", know that the BJ decks are 6 deck shoes so you play with 4 decks (a disadvantage vs. the 8 deck shoe in the US).

For the kids, there is a kids club, but not much going on during off-peak times. Babysitting is unbelievably expensive - $14 per hour for 1 child, $10 for each additional child. Last year we went with my brothers family and had 4 kids - that is $44 per hour with a 3 hour minimum and extra fees for weekends and transportation after midnight. We brought our babysitter this year! If you plan to go out on a regular basis, negotiate a discounted rate in advance directly with a sitter. We ended up paying $30/hour instead of $44.

There is a lot of talk on the island about development that is on its way. This is true, but remember....island time. Construction is done much the same way and with the economy tanking, both the Mandarin Oriental and the Hyatt contracts are on hold. I really do hope that one or both of them come through because I believe that the standards of customer service and hotel class will force both St. Kitts and the Marriott to improve on both fronts. Competition should make this island a more desirable place. The local Kittians really need this development since the Marriott is not going to be able to support the tourist economy there forever.

Would I go back again? Not until either the Mandarin or the Hyatt are open and some time for staff training has passed. We do love the quietness and unspoiled nature of St. Kitts. It is what attracted us to go there and then go back again...and again. The third time for us wasn't a charm, and I don't think we will be back for a very long time (I'll take the over on the 5 year projected time frame for Christophe Harbour to make St. Kitts "a yachtsman's paradise". Would I recommend the St. Kitts Marriott? Yes, because if you want to go to St. Kitts it is the only place I would stay, but I would give them full disclosure of what to expect and especially what not to expect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

I got married at the hotel in October 2010 and did not enjoy the area or the hotel at all. The best thing about the hotel was the lobby. First of all, the beach and grounds looked HORRIBLE (certainly not what I expect in the Carribbean). The upkeep is not at all what it should be for a Marriott. The windows in the lobby were dirty and when I asked the front desk to have them cleaned, she said, "we're expecting more rain so it doesn't make sense to clean them". I said "what if it doesn't rain?" The rooms had a bad odor and many of the restaurants weren't open while we were there. The food is way too expensive and only average. The casino was okay. Regarding my wedding, many of my guests for the wedding had to return to the front desk upon check-in because their rooms were filthy (dirty towels left, tub not clean, sheets dirty, etc). Our wedding coordinator, HADIYA, was horrible. She hardly took care of anything we asked for, except the welcome reception. Our guests weren't given the welcome letters we sent her; the photographer and videographer were horrible and spent most of the reception standing around talking to one another. They were late and unprofessional and didn't even go upstairs to get pictures of the groom and his best man before the wedding. The DJ that the Marriott's wedding coordinator (HADIYA) hired spent most of our reception on the phone instead of playing the music we requested; the grass area where the wedding was held was not manicured very well; the food that was served was cold and the 2-tier wedding cake we ordered from the hotel was so bad, we didn't even want to take the top layer home for our anniversary. I WILL NEVER AGAIN HOST AN EVENT AT A MARRIOTT IF THIS IS WHAT I CAN EXPECT. I'd NEVER visit this resort again. The pools were so so but not really up to my or Marriott standards. This area is not tourist ready yet. Save your money and visit another island.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tima843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Marriott is a huge mega resort with all the standard amenities you would come to expect at such. The resort was not crowed as our stay was towards the end of hurricane season, but I can imagine that it gets overwhelmed during the peak season. The room was clean, modern, and comfortable, with the sheets, pillows and towels all being seemingly new. The beach towels were hit and miss, with some being new and clean, while others were tattered and in desperate need of replacement. The main pool was fairly well kept, although it could stand to be cleaned more thoroughly each day. We did not take the all inclusive option, but the food and service at Blu was good, while the portions at the Bohemia Pool Bar & Grille are large. Drinks at the resort bars are OK (try a Ting with a Sting), but by far the best deal is the half price drinks at Bohemia between 4-6 pm. The beach was practically empty and fairly clean, but due to the somewhat poor weather, the water was a bit rougher than expected.

Although rough, the water visibility was good. You can snorkel along the beach, but there is nothing worth venturing out for. We inquired at the activities desk about booking a snorkeling tour, and even called a few tour companies ourselves, but all said that there were not enough people to depart, so we ended up not getting an opportunity to do any decent snorkeling. We rented a car to explore the island, and also to see what the snorkeling was like at the other beaches, but were disappointed. Cockleshell Beach had fair visibility, but aside from some rocks and bits of coral at the at the end of the eastern point of the bay, there was nothing but garbage, debris, seaweed, a few starfish, and urchin to see. The western part of the bay was too turbid to see anything, although the weather might have had a part to play in that. There is a very small reef off the beach at South Friar’s Bay in front of Shipwreck Bar that provided the only snorkeling we did on St Kitts and Nevis.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMcChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

While I was there, electricity supply to the area was interrupted for long periods during the night. There was a problem with the electricity supply from the hotel generators to the buildings away from the main building for a while and some guests were somewhat unhappy for a while but I think that the problem was addressed promptly.

The only problems I had (nitpicking really) were as follows:
Eating at the outdoor restaurant near the beach was an exercise in frustration. There were persistent and aggressive flies. But this seems to be a symptom of the area and not specific to the hotel.

Internet cost was too high, but in light of the deal I got from the hotel, I really should not complain.

Bed was made up, but could have been made up more tightly and neatly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
226 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Great location , very friendly staff, great beach with plenty of shade pods, very hot sand:) great pools(4) good variety of restaurants BUT lunch at the beach area restaurant meant fighting off the flies that appeared in groves when the food appeared. At sundown the "no see ums" will eat you allive unless you are covered with 100% Deet. Did arrive here after leaving Frigate Bay Resort(see other write up) and were treated very nicely and with understanding of our situation. Grounds were well maintained and staff always asking how we were and always a friendly hello. Overall, better islands to visit then St Kitts so we will not return BUT if we did, and had gallons of insect spray, we would retrun to Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

Arrived at the hotel long after check-in time to be greeted by a friendly and competent young man by the name of Joel. Spacious hotel with excellent security.
Very spacious suite with nice furniture and fittings, could easily sleep 6 although the pull out sofa mattress was very uncomfortable. There was a welcoming hand written card and a bottle of wine which was a lovely touch.
Air conditioning a little noisy but necessary at night. Be careful when in the shower! the waste pipe is large enough to lose jewellry.
The overall cleanliness of the rooms could have been much better, I could write a list! and the turn down service was adhoc.
Breakfast staff were efficient, particularly Erica and there was a wide variety of food to chose from although much of the cooked foods was over salted. On Sunday's arrive early as Sunday is popular with the locals and you may have to wait up to 45mins for a table.
The beach is beautiful and clean with very little haggling from vendors offering massage, excersions and jewellry.
We hired our vehicle from a car hire outside the complex as the onsite company was not there on the two ocassions we went to book.
The casino has a greaty system of supplying drinks whilst you play.
Outside the complex there is some interesting sites, you must visit Brimstone Hill, eat some local food at Elfredo's on the Bay Road and do the Catamaran trip to Nevis.
When visiting town be warned!!!!!! the only public toilet never has soap or toilet paper-Take your own.
We would definately return to St Kitts Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0003863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
10.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Property: St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing