We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weeks stay at the Marriott” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weeks stay at the Marriott”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Travelling regularly with my business I use a number of chain hotels.
The Marriott in St Kitts is very much in keeping with the brand although the hotel itself is showing signs of age and could do with a revamp in my opinion.
The location is good with all the features you would expect.
What I wanted to comment on was the excellent staff, everyone I came across was very polite and always willing to help. A special mention for the HR director who I met when walking through the reception area in the hotel, she provided me with some great information and help and was clearly dedicated to the staff and the hotel - an excellent advert for the brand.

Room Tip: Ensure you get something on the top floor if staying in one of the blocks - lots of noise from foots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKMarriott, Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing to join us at the St Kitts Marriott Resort.

We were very happy to note that our associates continued to showcase our unique brand of Kittitian Hospitality and made you a frequent traveller, feel welcomed. We have just completed an over US$5 million renovation on our rooms and we are not done yet. This year we have quite a number of external projects that we have already started.

Thank you so much for joining us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    1,108
    384
    163
    117
See reviews for
700
1,133
77
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (714)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at St Kitts was great! Despite what others say about hotel staff and wifi we found both great.
The beach was beautiful with soft sand(rough water a few days) and pool clean and spacious. Nice gradual entrance with water fountains for toddlers.
Room was always cleaned and well stocked. Restaurants were good and reasonably priced. We ate out most evenings because so much other to choose from. TV Chanel's were great as we had a 2yr old so had early nights.

Took waitresses 5 days to tell us about the children's menu(that gives kids 4 and under free meal) but after that no issues.
We went for anniversary and didn't receive our promotion that was said at time of booking but no big deal. If you are looking for special occasion info you better ask guest services before hand.

All and all great trip with our 2 yr old. Very short walk to grocery store, at least a dozen restaurants and the Caribbean ocean!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Iantryinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in a 2/2 Vacation Club / Timeshare and the room was fantastic. Really huge, great furniture, nice balconies. Common areas, pools, and beach were great. I snorkeled at the beach in front of the hotel and saw stingrays and 2 sea turtles that let me swim with them for a bit.

A couple complaints that I can agree with: It was pretty windy and a bit rainy when we were there, which it seems might be pretty common (at least in December). Rain didn't last long, but the wind was pretty constant. We also had problems with internet going down (which also made renting a car from the on-site Hertz office so slow that we decided to forget the car rental and just take taxis.)

Complaints I don't agree with are problems with cleanliness or attitude of the staff. All seemed fine to me.

Secret Tip: Ask a staff member to take you up in the tower. Views there are awesome but you have to ask a staff member to escort you up there.

Overall, we thought it was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are staying 2-8-14 to 2-15-14. Marriott found a great location for this hotel. It has a huge wide beach area with plenty of chairs and shaded areas. Ther are plenty of good restaurants and bars in walking distance. There is a small grocery about 3 blocks south of the hotel. There is a Duty Free shop in the lobby of the hotel. (Rum was only $8) We are staying in building 13 room 314, we have a great view of the ocean. When we arrived we were greeted with a smile and a welcome from Mikhail who also hauled our bags up the stairs to our room. Maricia checked us in and got us the room location I had requested and gave us some good tips for the island. The main pool is large with plenty of chairs.(some idiots still come down early and put towels on chairs they are not using for a few hours) All the girls at the pool bar are great and attentive. The gentlemen taking care of the housekeeping in our building always says good morning and ask if there is anything we need. The property is a little beat up, but what can you expect being located right on the Atlantic Ocean. Our room is very clean and spacious.
Negatives: There is a lack of good breakfast options. The buffet is $26 for the standard Marriott buffet. We tried to go to the beach restaurant the first morning. There was a long line of people waiting to order one of the only 4 options on the menu, not sure they even had sit down service.
The music in the main pool area isn't appropriate for the Caribbean or for the median guest age. Techno-rap is not what I want to hear while trying to relax. Some more reggae, mixed with some 70's would be more fitting the guest profile.
No big issues. Love the property and the people. We are already planning a return trip. B. Taylor

Room Tip: The rooms in the buildings away from the lobby are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceandLeslietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have just returned from a trip to St. Kitts and a 10 night stay at the Mariott St Kitts and I was quite frankly quite disappointed with certain aspects of our stay in the hotel. It was interesting to note that on the day we checked out the large group of customers checking in were treated to a very different experience then what we had received 10 days earlier, there was a welcome drink, a cooling towel and lots of attention.
My husband and I got a very basic level of service - here is your room key, here is the general direction of the room, do you want any assistance with your bags? Given that we were all inclusive I was quite surprised that we weren't afforded any additional information or even advised of the correct location of our room!. In fact we had to keep returning to the front desk to find out basic information.
We were only told a week into our holiday that wi-fi was free in the lobby area and provided with a code, previous requests had only gleaned limited information that we would have to pay for wi-fi access.
Querying with the hotel front desk about what was included in the all inclusive deal we were told that we weren't down as all inclusive, which we provided the necessary documentation the day after we arrived, however this was not actioned and we were presented with a large bill the day before check out! I do have to commend the staff member who helped us with the issue as it was resolved by check out, but quite a unpleasant shock at the end of a holiday.
The room was very clean, though we did suffer from a minor ant issue by the last day, but nothing to get too concerned about, the noisy AC unit was possibly more annoying! Breakfast was superb, with a huge choice. The other restaurants were hit and miss, as there were issues with our reservations on 2 nights and they are not always open. The menus don't change ever, so on a 10 night stay, my best advice would be to walk down the street to the nearby restaurants for a welcome change.
The pool bar was ok, service could be slow and the insistence on closing out every check once you ordered a drink, irrespective of the length of time you planned on sitting there was not very relaxing!
The waterfall in the lobby never worked when we were there and the small cascade by the north pool only worked on the last day we were there which did make the resort hotel look a bit sad and not looked after.
the beach was great and the sea quite warm on the Atlantic side, and you can get a great walk in down the beach which was fab!
I would also advise folks to head to the Carambola beach club, $12 each way by taxi, to enjoy the Carribean sea, and even to walk on down the beach from there and enjoy cheaper beds/umbrellas then the prices of the Carambola. One word of advice, you would need to be there before 10am as that is when a lot of folks from the cruise ships arrive, so if you are early you have best pick of the sun loungers!
Basseterre was good for a visit, again $12 e/w by taxi, however watch out if you buy any postcards from the shop called Piranaha, as we got had by the assistant for stamps! we got charged $1 US per stamp when it should only have been 1 East Carribean Dollar, no wonder he advised me to bring the cards back to him to post! I didn't twig until later that we had been stung for quite a few US dollars!
I did love St Kitts, and thought the island had a lot to offer, including a fantastic walk up Mt. Liamigua and would love to go back, but I wouldn't stay at the Mariott.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed in that time very new Marriott St. Kitts Resort in 2005 and at that time we loved every moment of it. We were very much looking forward to returning to the island and the Marriott. Unfortunately the level of service is not as it used to be, in fact it is very far from the level we experienced 9 years ago. We bumped into the 1st problem at the checkin. Being a gold card holder we were supposed to get an upgrade, well in fact we did receive a downgrade, we booked aresort view room with balcony and we got a room overlooking the entrance of the hotel. When we returned the key the receptionist tried to explain that this is in fact an upgrade as we have a resort view room booked with no balcony and the room he gave had a balcoyn even if it was not resort view. When I showed him the confirmation, he was surprised hat a resort view woom with balcony way confirmed by Marriott.com and said that they do not have such a room. I said no problem, but since we have this type of room confirmed by them, we just want what we booked. What a surprise after 2-3 minutes of searching he did find a room that was resort view and with balcony. We checeked the room it smelled horrible, sombody did smoke in the room and also the balcony was shared with the room next to us. We had no choice but to return the key again. At this time I was a bit upset as I beleive this is not the way how a gold card holder should be treated. After a little bit of searching we were offered an other room, this one was fine, but again the balcony was shared with the room next door. This is weird, complet loss of the privacy. So not that we were not upgrade but we had to wait almost and hour to get a room that was booked by us and even that one was not 100% what we booked and there was not any warning at the time of booking about the shared balcony. In fact the room was nice, the bed was fantastic, no complain about that. One (in this hotel in fact the only) of the benefits of being a gold card holder is the free wifi. Well it was down almost all the time. FÍirst we thought it is only for a few minutes, then we thought it is only for a few hours, but that we had to realise it is for many hours and days. When we went to the reception after dinner to complain about it, they said that they are working on it, When it was still not working the following morning and called the reception they said that the specialist just arrived and working on it. I was a pit puzlled, how come that he just arrived when we were told the same the night before. I also believe that Marriott should look into this as it is unacceptable that there is n wifi for several hours and days. They shoudl change the provider, the specialist or whoever. This is 2014!!!! (especially that the littl caffe on the main road, 5 minutes from the hotel coudl provide excellent wifi to their guests...) In fact this is still nothing to what we noticed in the stairways when we climbed down to the pools. The stairs were dirty and the same rubbish was there during our whole stay. This clearly shows that the cleaning staff did not clean the stairs and also that there is no one who checks this. (see photos). Also the reception area would need much more plants, it is far too bare. The waterfalls at the main lobby did not work, it looked all sad. For breakfast (as in this property it was not included with our gold card) we used the caffee in the hotel. The selection is fine, but the yogurt granola is so sweet and full with sugar, almost inedible, would suggest that they should also make it with plain yogurt. Now the good thing. The sea/ocean is beautiful. The pools are great. The bar at the pool is fantastic. And the top place is the seafood restaurant The Blue. We simply loved it. Wish the whole hotel would be at the same service level. We had the feeling that the hotel doesn't have a manager and the staff just do not care------ Also on the bright side after returning from this property to the USA we spent one night in Fort Lauderdale and that property gave us back our faith in Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vizslabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugacity, Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we do appreciate your feedback. We are deeply sorry to hear that you encountered so many challenges while staying with us; these incidents are highly uncharacteristic of our staff, as we pride ourselves on providing the best possible service to our guests. We were happy to note that there were some bright spots during your stay and you highlighted them in your review. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us, our aim is to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My experience at the Marriott in St. Kitts was amazing. We stayed for one week in early February and were blown away by the beach! Despite the reviews that said it was colder and more rough on the Atlantic coast, this beach was gorgeous, with excellent sand, and warm gentle waves that made body surfing and swimming fun! A short walk up the beach revealed secluded areas that were calmer as well. If you've got a swim mask or goggles, you will see some beautiful fish near the plants in the darker portion of the water.

We were on the 3rd floor of the Newton House, which was conveniently sandwiched between two pools, the beach, and the main building! Our room was clean and everything worked well. We enjoyed some Canadian highlights of the Sochi games too on the Sat TV ;). We did experience a slight problem with ants, but this is likely because we left some food on the counter.

They had a movie night, where they played the newest Hobbit movie outside by the pool! It was really nice, because you also got a great view of the stars overhead... And they were beautiful! We ended up coming out to view the stars many nights during the week. Gorgeous!

We rented a car for 1 day and drove around the island in 3 hours. We stopped at the Brimstone Hill Fortress, and it was incredible. The views were unbelievable! Totally worth the $10 US admission fee. There were great views of Mout Kittitian, as well as the Caribbean Sea! Gorgeous. Some other highlights: The Black Rocks, Turtle Beach (on the peninsula), and North Friars Bay. :-)

We also took a day trip to Nevis on the ferry from Basseterre. It was a nice ferry ride, which gave us a great view of the island's Carribbean coastline. Lots of sailboats... very picturesque. Once in Nevis, we took a taxi to the beach, and just relaxed and collected some shells.

For an excursion, we decided to do the horseback riding tour in the rainforest with Trinity Stables. We asked Pam the Air Canada rep to ask for a deal, so we got it for $70 US Cash. It was a great ride, although the horses went much faster than I anticipated. My bum was sore for a couple days. It was nice too, because we were able to walk into the rainforest and see a huge banyan tree. Caution: Its a little bit muddy in there.

I also went to the Casino at the hotel and made $75.00. I played slots for 30 mins. I am not a big gambler, so I was ready to walk after I won that! :-)

As for food, we ate in 3 restaurants on the trip: 1) The Sunset Cafe - Great local food. My friend had the stewed chicken with vegetables and rice, and I had the flying fish burger and fries, and we shared the jerk chicken crepe. Lots of fun! 2) Bombay Blues - Indian buffet on Sunday 12:30 - 2:30 pm for about $20 US. Good food, but we overate and felt fat afterwards! Haha. 3) Pizza Boys - It was nice. Good pizza, reasonable prices and perfect for the last day while we waited for our bus to take us to the airport.

Overall, the trip was wonderful! I would return here for sure. Have a great trip!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BonarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
10.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Property: St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Frigate Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing