We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort but poor country and limited snorkeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A short (3 hour) but expensive trip from Miami gets you to St. Kitts. We opted to do taxi’s rather than a rental car, $16 US from the airport for up to 4 people. Contrary to a lot of other reports, people have been super friendly. The staff at the Marriott always have a friendly greeting, probably the most nicest staff of any Marriott Resort. Ocean views are reserved for owners and our 2 balconies had a view of the grounds. The grounds and pools on the property are not spectacular compared to other Marriott resorts. The only spa (hot tub) is heated to 95 degrees. We own in Orlando and have swapped over the past 15 years to many Marriott's. This Marriott was empty this time of the year so we had no problem accessing anything. Cruise ships are also down to one on Friday meaning that a lot of tourist operations like the train were not running.

We had a 2 bedroom villa on the second floor of the Canada House, room 1020. The rooms are spacious, relatively clean except for the tile floors. Kitchen utensils are bare minimum, but adequate. Separate thermostats in each room is great for those that like different temperatures. Wireless internet provides a weak signal so connections drop occasionally. The TV’s are wide screen, stretched viewing (everybody looks fat). You cannot change aspect ratios. The main TV has the 3 network HD stations located at 95.1, 95.3, 95.5. These stations have to be located manually as they are not identified anywhere. All stations come from Miami.

Food is expensive! It is almost impossible to get fresh vegetables and fruit. The Rams express down the street has enough to get you started but the IGA is the best for groceries. The Bohemia Grill on the property has good food but service is super slow and be prepared to share your food with the flies. Cathy’s restaurant down the street is great for lobster. Most restaurants are good with plenty of food. The Calypso restaurant was one of our favorites for lunch.

We are in St. Kitts with our friends to explore the islands and snorkel the beaches. The snorkeling at the Marriott provides a poor quality reef but has turtles, sting rays and some small fish. We were rained out on our trip to Cockelshell Beach. We did the island tour and trip to Nevis. In Nevis we snorkeled Pinney Beach but it was not very good. Nevis is a cleaner island and the highlight was a tour of the Golden Rock Inn, great tropical garden. We have had a lot of cloudy, rainy weather and there is not much other activities. We snorkeled Shipwreck Beach on the Caribbean side Saturday before we left because of the winds off the Atlantic. This beach is the weekend hangout for all the medical students, 3 medical schools on the island. The snorkeling was poor as the water was dirty but watching and talking to the kids was fun. Lots of monkeys at Shipwreck Beach. The food was mediocre.

TAXIS - The taxi service on the island is supposedly regulated with standard rates, the Marriott posts rates. The main occupation on the island is tourism service. US dollars are pretty standard currency. We used recommendations on Trip Advisor for a highly rated driver, Leroy Procope. Specific drivers can be called by the bellhop. After using Leroy for the first bunch of trips we realized he was charging above legal rates. I suggest getting a taxi from the bellhop and asking about the rates. Other drivers were very nice and some had better vehicles than Leroy. We took an island tour with Leroy, 6 hours the fee was $30 per hour. We met other people who took an island tour, their fee was $100 for five people for 6 hours. Remember this is a third world country totally dependent on tourism.

In conclusion, it was an interesting experience but we are done with Caribbean vacations, back to Hawaii.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 442 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We enjoyed a three bedroom villa on the third floor with an ocean view. It was incredible. The villa even had a little reading nook with a lovely lounger. We had a huge balcony off the dining room and two other balconies off the master bedroom and living room. Everything was clean, everything worked, we were extremely comfortable, and everyone was very nice to us. I am especially thankful to Melisha Joseph the concierge. She was fantastic. This IS a very large place, but when you have your own villa, it really doesn't matter! We would definitely come back here. The whole island was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCTaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We only went here after our flight was delayed 8 hours and BA made the arrangements. Thank heavens we didn't stay here any longer. Reception told us lunch and dinner were included including drinks (no mention of alcohol or otherwise). For lunch in the beach bar we waited 40 minutes for a plate of chips which were lukewarm on arrival. For dinner we chose an Italian buffet at a set price of $35 each. As a vegetarian, the already-made pasta dish looked uninspiring and congealed, I opted for a piece of lukewarm and stale pizza and, again an uninspiring salad bar. My husband, as a meat eater, was equally unimpressed. Another couple sitting next to us were also very disappointed. If we had been paying for this awful food we would have refused. The hotel itself is like a prison wing (rooms are large but dull) with plastic, Las Vegas style décor - YUK! Wifi costs $26 per DAY!!! On leaving we were given a bill for $31, apparently for a couple of drinks at dinner. When we pointed out that the receptionist did NOT clarify that alcohol was NOT included in the BA costings they argued against this. After seeing the manager we were told it was OK and they would forget it, however I have just received my credit card bill and they have charged this amount to it. You could not pay me enough to use this hotel again. Thankfully we stayed at Ottleys Plantation which was superb in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just came back from a wonderful week in St. Kitts at the Marriott Beach Club. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa in Trinity House. We had an end unit on the third floor. We had two balconies, one off the living room and one off the master bedroom, as well as a lovely ocean view. We bought some groceries down the street at Rams, within walking distance. We ate breakfast and lunch in our villa and did dinners out at the various restaurants around. The beach is gorgeous with plenty of shade if you need it. There were always plenty of chairs. We were not bothered by vendors either. We did snorkeling right at the beach in front of the resort. We also used both the main pool and the smaller pool in front of our villa. We spent a great day on a catamaran to Nevis (Bluewater Safaris) and also did a cab ride around the island of St. Kitts. We enjoyed the Romney estate and the Caribe batik factory and a tour of the Brimstone Fort. The black rocks are also interesting to see. I must admit that the cab tour was a little too long and got a little boring toward the end. You might want to do the half island tour instead of the whole island. We had lovely dinners at Caio, the Carumbola Beach Club, serendipity and Marshall's. I would recommend all of these restaurants. We met lots of great people while vacationing here and we will definitely return again. The only negative was the fact that we come from Boston and we were down in St. Kitts during the marathon bombing and the lockdown of the city. It was stressful to be away during this time and fortunately we had good coverage of the situation by watching CNN in our villa. Everyone was so nice to us and gave their sympathies to us when learning we were from Boston.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank spedsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stopped for the day in St. Kitts on a cruise and asked the cab driver to take us to the best beach on the island. He took us to the Marriot and we made ourselves at home. Since the beachs are all public just walk through the hotel like you know what you are doing. We found a cabana on the beach with enough chairs for 5 and stayed on the beach all day. The drinks at the bar were good and the beer was cold. The beach was great and made the day in St. Kitts alot of fun. Obviously I did not stay at the hotel so this review is merely for the beach and bar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank 01MattAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Here is the ideal place to leave your tensions behind and relax. This resort blends all the ingredients of a good holiday without being too visible ... only after a couple of days you realise whatever you wanted was there almost without asking !! Has a great beach , a couple of large swimming pools,a spa, huge open spaces with walkways with trees swaying to the breeze, restaurants offering different cuisine and a shopping centre inside the resort and a casino to keep you busy in the night Good place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Rooms outside the main building have great balconies to enjoy the sun and breeze and take in the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We vacationed here in early March 2013. Stayed in the Canada House which was conveniently located to both pools and the main building. Short walk to the beach area. We stayed on the third floor for a wonderful ocean view which was above tree level. There are no elevators so only request the second or third floor if you can walk the steps! Room only had one main balcony off the living room area. Would have loved additional ones off each bedroom area like the ones in Aruba.

Both pool areas were lovely however the smaller pool was quieter. Never had a problem getting chairs with awnings at either pool regardless of time of day. The grounds at other Marriot time shares are nicer but this is still beautiful.

Beach area offered much shade with many huts. Were not bothered too much by vendors offering a massage or selling their wares.

Wasn't too happy with the service provided at the restaurant located by the larger pool area. We ate lunch here a number of times and service was exceptionally slow and disorganized. Chicken salad wrap is extremely tasty!

Chose to take taxis everywhere since car rentals are expensive, gas is costly, roads are awful and unmarked in many areas and also a temporary license is required to drive a car. Taxis are easily obtained at the lobby entrance of the Marriott. Highly recommend using Leroy Procope who was courteous and prompt. He always walked us into the restaurants to make sure we were well taken care of. His wife is wonderful also (used her for a tour) and they both can be reached under the name Christian Girl Taxi Services. Also recommend Cappy of Cappy Taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
5.4 mi away
Park Hyatt St. Kitts Christophe Harbour
3.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
10 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
0.2 mi away
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Frigate Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Frigate Bay
Price Range: $342 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning new oceanfront Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club offers 2 and 3-bedroom villas with separate living and dining areas, full kitchens and private balconies. These first-class amenities will be yours to enjoy, including luxurious spa services, championship golf, 3 pools, gaming and excellent restaurants. Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club is perfectly paired with the romance of St. Kitts, an undiscovered island paradise quickly becoming the jewel of the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club Frigate Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing