We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Here is the ideal place to leave your tensions behind and relax. This resort blends all the ingredients of a good holiday without being too visible ... only after a couple of days you realise whatever you wanted was there almost without asking !! Has a great beach , a couple of large swimming pools,a spa, huge open spaces with walkways with trees swaying to the breeze, restaurants offering different cuisine and a shopping centre inside the resort and a casino to keep you busy in the night Good place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Rooms outside the main building have great balconies to enjoy the sun and breeze and take in the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 444 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We vacationed here in early March 2013. Stayed in the Canada House which was conveniently located to both pools and the main building. Short walk to the beach area. We stayed on the third floor for a wonderful ocean view which was above tree level. There are no elevators so only request the second or third floor if you can walk the steps! Room only had one main balcony off the living room area. Would have loved additional ones off each bedroom area like the ones in Aruba.

Both pool areas were lovely however the smaller pool was quieter. Never had a problem getting chairs with awnings at either pool regardless of time of day. The grounds at other Marriot time shares are nicer but this is still beautiful.

Beach area offered much shade with many huts. Were not bothered too much by vendors offering a massage or selling their wares.

Wasn't too happy with the service provided at the restaurant located by the larger pool area. We ate lunch here a number of times and service was exceptionally slow and disorganized. Chicken salad wrap is extremely tasty!

Chose to take taxis everywhere since car rentals are expensive, gas is costly, roads are awful and unmarked in many areas and also a temporary license is required to drive a car. Taxis are easily obtained at the lobby entrance of the Marriott. Highly recommend using Leroy Procope who was courteous and prompt. He always walked us into the restaurants to make sure we were well taken care of. His wife is wonderful also (used her for a tour) and they both can be reached under the name Christian Girl Taxi Services. Also recommend Cappy of Cappy Taxi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I had a great stay at the Marriott. The apt was clean and the beds super comfortable. The beach was nice, no need to rush out in the morning to get a cabana either. I have to signal out Horace, Teshani and Kay who were really nice...they saved the day actually as I found the waitresses up at the Calypso Restaurant a wee bit surly. needless to say, after the first day we just did not go back there! The other restaurants on the property were fine. The food good and the service were equally good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Trini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here March 16-23, 2013. My In-laws traded their Aruba Marriott TimeShare to stay here 2 weeks. We stayed with them the last week. Arrived to a free beer (Carib - local Caribbean beer) and juice for the kids and people that do not drink. Oh my, the lobby was very nice.

In-Laws showed us to the timeshare room. 2 bedroom timeshare room (very spacious). The guest room had 2 queen beds and the master had a king. There was also a pull out sofa in family room.

In my title I wrote bad service - I say this because almost every employee seemed disinterested in their job. Not very friendly. Just seemed like just a job rather than a service industry. Not all were like that, but more than you think. Just a lack of detail on the part of the employees. Such as the Water by the pool never got refilled. They filled it once in the morning and that was it. Once we ordered food from the pool bar and took it over to the table by Blu. Several hours later I went to the Beach Bar and saw the trays our food was served in was still staked on the table. It must have been there for at least 3 hours and no one even thought to pick it up.

The only good thing was that Carib beer was only $ 2 during happy hour - but then don't forget the 22.5% sales tax on the island.

That was one thing I was not happy about - the high prices - but oh well. Went to the drocery store by Taxi and dropped $ 270 (Caribbean Dollar) - we charged it to let the vredit card company deal with exchange rates - turned out to only be $ 100 (but we did not get a lot).

At the Italian Fiesta night at Calypso - great food, but service sucked. Meals were prepared while you waited in line. There seemed to be no rhyme of reason in the line. Took me over a half hour to get my meal. By the time I returned to my table my party had already finished with their dinner. Then it took our server 20 minutes to get me my check. Needless to say he got a very poor tip.

I have been to St Kitts and can now drop off my to visit list. So far, I still prefer Hawaii. I admit though I have many islands in the Caribbean to visit

Room Tip: The prices at the Marriott are in USD. Outside the resort is Caribbean Dollar, but ask to make sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PATRIOT4657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took a chance on St. Kitts (and on the Marriott) and stayed in the Beach Club.The island itself and landscape are stunningly beautiful, and less developed than other Caribbean vacation spots. We stayed in a modern unit in the Trinity House, which lived up to its name "ocean view" (not all of the rooms do). Our large 2 BR was perfect for our family of 5, and we enjoyed the comfortable bedding and the low noise level.

Some negatives:
-The whirlpool is only semi-heated, and only some of the time. Why no regular hot tub?

- A "tidy" service is included, but a "full clean" (sheet change, vacuum, toilets) was $10 extra. We were willing to pay, but the cleaners didn't show up until 5:30 pm on some days, and only after multiple phone calls and a certain amount of begging.

- The one-towel-per-guest-per-day policy in the vacation club is ridiculous. You take a fresh towel from your room (this is a problem if your room is not cleaned until 5 pm) to use for the day- no exceptions under any circumstances! My husband had to resort to bribing staff members for extra towels, and even that was hit or miss.

- The beach on the property is not inviting (choppy, cooler Atlantic waters). The Marriott has a good number of standing gazebos to provide shade, but these are set back far from the water, making it impossible to relax in the shade near the ocean. ,We took almost daily rides to the Caribbean side, including South Friars and Cockleshell Beach.

Service on the island in general is lackadaisical. The message seems to be "we have no intention of actually serving you." We encountered this at nearly every restaurant, both on and off the Marriott campus.

Beware of the Shiggidy Shack restaurant (not on Marriott property). The bathrooms are the MOST DISGUSTING that any of us had ever seen, and would be swiftly shut down if on US soil. STAY AWAY!!

I should add that all of the Marriott bathrooms were clean. Overall, we had a very good week. The Marriott could implement some improvements without too much difficulty to make it a better experience.

Room Tip: Beware that "ocean view" may or may not live up to its name. Ask for a discounted room rat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aja516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

As a Marriott time-share owner, we traded to come to St Kitts, and while the physical property is beautiful, there are issues that must be improved. The service is horrible at the restaurants on property, meals take way too long to get, servers ignore your requests and don't know enough about the food to answer questions. The breakfast Buffett is a nightmare, over priced and you have to wait in long lines to get an omelet or waffles because they don't have enough line chefs making the food for you as you order.
Housekeeping is another major issue for us. We were asked to fill out request forms as to our needs about 2 weeks before we arrived via email. I also called a couple of days in advance to reconfirm my simple request of foam pillows due to allergies to feather pillows. This request was not done, housekeeping was called twice and the housekeeper who came to tidy our room was also verbally told. To no avail were we even contacted! In all the years of dealing with Marriott, we have never had such issues, housekeeping has always been right on top of things and responded in a timely manner. I believe that management at this site needs to improve and get on top of things, because a paying customer needs to be kept happy if they want them to come back.
Now the physical property is magnificent, beautifully laid out with pools in good locations, a basketball court that was in use every day, a swim up pool bar that was always packed and a beach that surpassed our expectations! The beach was so beautifully set up with lounge chairs and gazebos all down the beach, the Atlantic had barrier rocks that blocked heavy waves from coming onto the beach. Just a great set-up for a wonderful relaxing day. The casino adds to something to do in the evening. The concierge service was very helpful in answering questions and setting up dinner reservations at nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and not patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jersey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you like a cool room do not go to the vacation club. we have been here 5 times and not once has the AC worked for the entire stay. No matter how good everything else may be the lack of AC in the room for 3 days brings it to a terrible rating.

Room Tip: stay in the hotel AC works there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
5.4 mi away
Park Hyatt St. Kitts Christophe Harbour
3.3 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
10 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Frigate Bay
Price Range: $340 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning new oceanfront Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club offers 2 and 3-bedroom villas with separate living and dining areas, full kitchens and private balconies. These first-class amenities will be yours to enjoy, including luxurious spa services, championship golf, 3 pools, gaming and excellent restaurants. Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club is perfectly paired with the romance of St. Kitts, an undiscovered island paradise quickly becoming the jewel of the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club Frigate Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing