We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Timothy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
“Great local feel”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you are looking for luxury, think again. This place was one of the most laid back and comfortable places I've stayed and the staff truly felt like family. I felt as welcome as next of kin with all my new friends. Great views, great local cuisine on site and seconds walk down the beach. Felt like home. Snorkeling was easy and sunsets were amazing. Monkeys, monkeys, monkeys all across the hill and side of the grounds. Definitely recommend paying the little extra for the ocean side rooms if you like the balcony as much as we do. The views didn't disappoint. Thanks for a great trip TBR.

Brett

Room Tip: Hard beds are the thing, but we weren't in our rooms much. Ocean side is the key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettSJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    291
    86
    25
    9
See reviews for
102
300
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our stay was from March 13 to March 23, 2014. The property is very well located with easy access to restaurants and nightlife by walking and by car. We typically ate breakfast at the hotel which was usually a 1 1/2 hour experience. Don't plan on fast anything at the hotel as the service is super laid back. The rooms are spotless and the staff responsive although they did forget to service our room one day. By all means get an ocean view room as it is a delightful start to the evening to relax with a glass of wine prior to leaving for dinner. There is really no beach, just a path with some grass, sand and concrete with chairs and umbrellas but there is access to the water and it is easy to negotiate the patches of rocks and stay in the sandy areas while swimming. A public beach adjoins the property plus there are excellent beach clubs like the Shipwreck (best fish tacos for lunch) Reggae Beach and Carambola Beach Club (a deluxe place with an excellent restaurant open for lunch and dinner but more expensive than Shipwreck or Reggae Beach for chair and umbrella rentals.) In addition to Carambola for dinner, Mr. X's next door to the hotel has a Thursday night dinner with good entertainment but you need to get there by 6:30 to get a table. Serendipity and the Spice Mill were excellent. Lunch at the Spice Mill was OK but I had a superb fish special for dinner. Perhaps one of the best fish preparations I've ever had. The hotel beach bar didn't open until late afternoon except on weekends. There was always an interesting crowd there at happy hour. As other's have noted there are monkeys early morning and early evening plus and assortment of chickens, cats and mongoose roaming around at any particular time. Beware the alpha male monkey will sit near you at breakfast and suddenly grab your toast from your plate. Driving is generally not a problem as there is not much traffic except in Basseterre. Beware, some stop signs are painted on the road only, no signs. This island is laid back and not overrun with tourists except for the cruise ship people who are generally at a location for an hour or two. It is worth a trip to Nevis to visit some of the plantation resorts which are beautiful but expensive. No bugs other than a few outdoor "palmetto bugs" and an occasional centipede. We were advised to avoid the centipedes and a sting would entail a trip to the hospital but we only saw two in ten days. Pretty much bug free. The hotel and the location was great and our trip was wonderful. Don't be in a hurry, just go with the flow. You'll find it a pleasant departure from large cookie cutter hotels. We will go back!

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room as they have a nice large porch and a good view of the sunset. Mountain v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Willie_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

It was perfect. We were on our way to the Four Seasons and had 2 days to kill prior. Wanted to experience the "local flavor" and Timothy's was perfect. The facility was very clean, staff was great and everything within waking distance . Lots of wild monkeys, roosters and friendly birds added to the local experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at Timothy Beach Resort, January 16-25, 2014.

We were looking to try something besides the typical all-inclusive option and a little less busy; we were not disappointed! Timothy Beach Resort is small and cozy and quiet – it is not the Marriott. If you want that level of service, activity, chic, etc. at your disposal that would probably be your better bet.

That being said, Timothy Beach Resort is the classic laid-back island experience. Warm breezes, warm aqua water with a sandy bottom beach, beach shack eateries to stroll into (whether you have flip-flops on or not), very low-key. We didn’t have a suite but a regular hotel room with just a fridge but it was enough to hold water, juice and some snacks for a few days. We walked 2 blocks to Ram’s grocery to re-stock.

Get a room facing the beach with a balcony. Noise wasn’t an issue, A/C was on most of the time. Bathrooms have been remodeled with all new tile and were clean (we are SUPER picky about bathroom cleanliness!). Our TV was very small, but we are not huge TV watchers so this was not a big deal for us. The balconies are large and a great place to have coffee in the morning or a drink in the late afternoon. No mosquitoes.

The Sunset Café is good for breakfast and they have a few theme nights which we tried, too. It was fine. As I mentioned, there are a lot of good places on the beach or a short walk to something more upscale. A word of caution though – there is a 12% VAT tax and 10% service charge in all restaurants, so remember to figure that into the price! The grilled lobster dinner at Cathy’s on the beach was great!

There is a new little beach bar on the grounds. A fun place to meet other travelers for happy hour but it gets crowded quickly!

Staff is very friendly and easy going. We received especially good service from Ashton and Juliette.

About the beach, yes, it is very small. However, it is literally steps on the sand to the large public beach which was big and had a nice sandy bottom. We would leave our chairs and things on the pool patio and run down to the beach. The water was very warm during our January visit.

The animals are a bonus! Three resident chickens (a rooster and 2 hens), mongoose, cats and monkeys! The green Vervet monkeys are quite entertaining but can be very mischevious. They seem to be quite used to people being around and they provided lots of laughs (I’m sure the staff may have found them less endearing than the guests)!

Walked to the Marriott one day to check it out. Big and beautiful. Gorgeous and huge beach, but the surf is much rougher than our smaller Carribbean-side beach. Not really the vacation experience we had wanted in St. Kitts, but glad we checked it out anyway. We did gamble at the casino one evening after a lobster dinner special at Blue Restaurant in the Marriott (think that’s the correct name of the restaurant).

The pool at Timothy Beach was small but enough for all the guests and clean. Many times we had it all to ourselves.

Shopping in Basseterre is OK, a busy but small capital city. Port Zante is the best shopping for jewelry, liquor, perfume, etc. Also a small craft market outside the port. Shopped at Kay Jewelers, which is recommended by the cruise lines. Very pleased with the selection and my jewelry purchase from there.

Do take a day trip to Nevis, the smaller and quieter sister island. A guide drove our small group around the island and made several stops for us: Natural hot springs, Hermitage Plantation, Nesbit Plantation for lunch (gorgeous!), and a beachside place for “Killer Bee” punch. Delicious but potent!

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room with a balcony (not the mountain side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diddakoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
738 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our group travels to islands every February and we've been to several different hotels and resorts in the Caribbean and Central America. We would agree with all the reviews about TBR, but we were really disappointed in what they call a beach. There is no beach. Oh there is a public beach right next to the resort, but you have to rent chairs there. The "beach" at TBR was about 10 feet of sand and some rocks. We hung out at the pool most of the time. Half the staff was very friendly and the other half not so much. The grounds are maintained beautifully. Monkeys everywhere!

Room Tip: We had the beach view room with a large balcony, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

A strange situation, on a very short depth of beach on the ( famed) " strip". A murder there during our first week! A lot of the beach bars were closed down and derelict, and it was all a bit sad. Do not eat in the hotel as the food was not good and one waitress was so rude, we were unsure if it might be a strange joke. The room was O.K but the bathroom was not. The wash basin taps were surrounded with disgusting black mould as were the overflow holes. Nothing happens quickly on Kitts..."island time", "rush slowly"...gets on your nerves after a while...rooms cleaned at 5pm. Huge noise problem from the remaining beach bars and obnoxious wealthy American students.
Get your beach spot organised by 10a.m.before the cruise boats disengorge or you won't get one!
However we did like the island for its simplicity and nice people. Just for the moment unspoiled, but this is about to change as large areas are being altered (ruined?) for a big hotel chain and condos.

We do recommend the Reggae bar and Cockleshell beach, which is the best on the island. The food, staff and atmosphere are superb.

Room Tip: Avoid mountain view rooms at the back at all cost!... sea view with kitchen is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribMktDir, Public Relations Manager at Timothy Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
The reply below is from Timothy Beach Resort’s managing director:

It is a true disappointment to us when we do not make our guests happy, however, the most disturbing aspect of this review is the misleading information about a murder on “The Strip.” Indeed there was no murder on the strip and it is very unfortunate that the guests’ misunderstanding affected their stay. This would be quite alarming to us as well, but again it did not happen. We do have security at the hotel for our guests and staff.

These guests stayed with us from February to mid March and we never heard a word of complaint, but feedback received at any time can still be a positive learning experience. Had they notified us during their stay, our front office staff would have been more than happy to address even the smallest issue to their satisfaction.

We thoroughly inspected the room where these guests stayed and found no evidence of mold or any other uncleanliness. The room was in good repair with no apparent issues.


We apologize for the waitress who was “rude.” We have some excellent staff members, but did receive some complaints about one of our restaurant staff, who was still employed when these guests visited Timothy Beach Resort. She is no longer employed by the hotel.

Again, our goal is to provide the best vacation / holiday experience possible to all Timothy Beach Resort guests. We are sorry that we did not succeed in this instance and appreciate the feedback from this guest.


Richard Boon
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. We wanted to experience the true island flavor so chose to stay here over the Marriott. The location is nice with a good walking beach next to the resort. The buildings are perpendicular to the beach and face the mountain at the back or the lagoon-hill-ocean in the front.

The check in process was not very pleasant. We were given a room on the ground floor that had no privacy and faced a white washed wall - 23a. When we complained and asked to be moved we were told that the hotel was overbooked and they had no rooms to spare.

Sharon at the front desk was pleasant to work with but Tameesha (who switched shifts right then) lacked PR skills and was borderline rude and un-accommodating. She kept trying to sell us a ocean view suite which was much more expensive. We noticed that the resort was not really as full as they claimed. We then asked to speak to the manager- Virgil Williams. He was really nice and of great help. A very polite gentleman who was able to give us a very nice suite and was very pleasant to deal with. The safes at the front desk were all gone so they let us store our stuff in the Manager's safe in an envelope. If not for Virgil we would have had a very poor stay and a truly bad experience at the resort.

The restaurant staff is not very friendly and the food very basic and tasteless. The beach where the guests can lounge on is tiny and not that nice. The grounds of the resort are well maintained as are the suites.

The Strip next to the resort has lots of shacks - for food and drinks. We ate at the Shiggidy Shack which was nice. There are lots of restaurants and a grocery store about 5 mins from the resort. Pizza Boy and Ciao are good. We visited the Pelican mall in Basterre but with no cruise ships that day it was dead. Downtown is not really worth the visit. The island is nice for a short stay but the sand is grey due to the volcanic activity in the past on the island. If you are looking for white sand beaches of the Caribbean, St. Kitts is not the island for you to visit.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room or a mountain view room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Ground floor mountain vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texas06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaribMktDir, Public Relations Manager at Timothy Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
The reply below is from Timothy Beach Resort's managing director:

Our first priority is always the happiness of our guests and we are sorry that we were unable to make this guest happy, no matter how hard our front office staff tried. At the same time we certainly do appreciate the nice comments about our grounds, spacious one bedroom suites and excellent front office manager, Virgil.


We attempt to accommodate bookings even when they are needed at the last minute, but always let the guest know exactly the type of room they will be booking. This is particularly important when the rooms are in short supply and we make every effort to make sure our guests are well informed, so as to avoid disappointment.


This guest did book 2 nights at the last minute during one of our busiest times of the year. They were informed by our staff that the mountain view room, which they reserved and is our lowest priced room, would be on the ground floor and then they could move on the 2nd night. They elected to go ahead with this reservation, despite being fully informed of the circumstances they would find upon arrival.


After the guests arrived, they decided to ask to be moved. Had there been another room of the type or nearly the same type they had booked, this would have happened immediately. However, despite the guest’s impression, the rooms were all reserved for guests who had booked weeks and months in advance of them. The front office was very busy with other guests checking in at the same time.


Nonetheless, this guest decided to interrupt and ask that other guests be moved so they could take their room. Our front office staff member, Tamisha, who was assisting another guest and is well known for being polite and courteous, indicated that she was unable to meet this request because the other guests had all booked their vacations well in advance. If she happened to display a slight attitude in her body language, we apologize, but it was certainly not in her speech. Her opinion was that all guests are of equal importance and each of the guests standing in her presence needed to be treated with courtesy and respect.


We are also sorry that our restaurant did not meet this guest's expectations. We serve a variety of local and international food items which have a broad base of appeal, but as is the custom on island as well as the English tradition, these foods are generally not spicy and therefore may appear bland or tasteless to some. On St. Kitts, flavor is modified by the use of local sauces. We have many restaurant staff members who are well known to our guests for being polite, friendly and helpful, however, we are not perfect and it appears we were definitely not so in this instance. We are constantly working to improve so that all of our restaurant guests receive excellent service.


We extend our sincere apologies that we were unable to meet the expectations of these guests and at the same time appreciate the learning experience their feedback has provided.



Richard Boon

Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
183 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.7 mi away
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Frigate Bay
75 reviews
9.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Property: Timothy Beach Resort
Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timothy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on St. Kitts golden Caribbean beach, Timothy Beach Resort offers: •The only hotel in the upscale golf community of Frigate Bay located directly on the Caribbean beach •Friendly, gracious staff who are delighted to help make your vacation your best ever by arranging tours, activities & reservations •Lovely modern air conditioned rooms all of which feature premium channel cable TV and Free WIFI •Deluxe One Bedroom Suites with recently remodeled walk-in Kittitian Rainforest Showers and spacious furnished balconies adding an additional outdoor living space to your home away from home. •Two Bedroom Suite and Townhouse Options •A recently redesigned and rebuilt pool providing private relaxation and a commanding view of the Caribbean beach •The oceanfront Sunset Cafe restaurant and bar open daily for all meals and snacks •The popular Dock bar directly on the sands of Frigate Bay beach with Happy Hour Monday through Friday and Sunday live entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing