We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Timothy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Bay Club(Frigate Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Terrace Inn(Basseterre)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveler rating
235
305
94
26
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
305
94
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdock barsunset cafest kittsmountain viewno safe in the roomshiggidy shackcalm caribbeancaribbean sidefun to watchlaid backlarge balconybars restaurantslocal feellocal flavorone bedroom suitefull kitchengrocery store
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 671 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Resort located on good area , very close to the beach.
On weekends could be very busy with local crowd celebrating b-days,events, party etc.
Beach area on these days is not very suitable for quiet style vacation, more for spring break type of activities :)
Island life is quiet and very simple.
Very hard to find any locally grown fruits or vegetables . I didn't succeed to buy anything but bananas.
Lower your expectations with regard to food and entertainment .
I would however recommend it for nice weather , sea ( specially caribbean beaches) and very close access to airport :)

Room Tip: Select room with terrace or ocean view first floor . Mountain view is very small and balcony is suitable only for a beach towels drying .
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El-Ushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in early Feb. The Pros: We were very happy with our unit and would recommend the resort. We chose a one bedroom studio with kitchenette. It was extremely clean, well maintained and furnished (though just a bit dated), and convenient. Its situation on the hillside gave us a ground floor entry in the back but an elevated balcony in the front. The pool area was nice, the grounds well kept, and the staff friendly. The hotel is located close to lots of restaurants, stores, etc. We had a car, but you could easily walk to a number of restaurants and bars. All in all, a very good, relaxing experience for the money. The Cons: Just a few minor things. WiFi was definitely a bit spotty - especially during "busy" times of the day, but this is true at many places in the islands. The beach towels were gone by noon...get there early. The hotel's beach area is quite small, but you're right next door to larger beach areas on the "strip". The restaurant/bar is convenient, but the food is just OK and the service is quite "relaxed". Not a problem if you're not in a hurry. The office didn't open at 7 a.m. as advertised when we wanted to check out....operated more on "island time".

Room Tip: We liked the quiet rear-facing bedroom in our unit, as it was farther from the beach bar and kids' playground noise coming from the front. but, the balcony off the living room provided lovely ocean views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

After doing a lot of research about hotels on the island of St. Kitts we decided on the Timothy Beach Resort. Fodor's Caribbean 2013 said that it was the only hotel on St. Kitts that was on the beach and the staff was good. We were not disappointed at all. The location was good and the staff excellent. The staff went out of their way to arrange a rental car and a day trip to Nevis for us. We ate at the Sunrise café a few times for breakfast and once for dinner. Breakfast was okay but a little disappointed with dinner. However, we really enjoyed their bar called the Dock. It had great music, good drinks and right on the water. So we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room upstairs with a nice balcony, but carrying our bags up was a little tough.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just returned from St Kitts and Timothy Beach Resort and we loved every minute!! We were there for 10 days and wish we had 10 more. The rooms are huge and the balconies almost as big (in ocean view rooms). Our balcony was big enough for a table and two chairs plus two lounge chairs with plenty of open space as well. We loved watching the monkeys in the morning playing on the grounds and coming and drinking from the pool in the afternoon. The food at the restaurant was good but nothing special. We had a package that included breakfast every morning. The restaurants on "the strip" serve wonderful authentic Caribbean food and plenty of it. The first restaurant closest to Timothy Beach (called Mr X's Shiggidy Shack) is just across the parking lot and serves everything from fish to burgers. Don't miss the Thursday night bon fire and the "Fire Man" but get there early because it fills up fast. We enjoyed all the restaurants and just sitting at a picnic table on the beach watching the sunset and listening to the waves as you wait for your food. Each room has a refrigerator and there is a small grocery store "Rams" within walking distance where we bought snacks and drinks and the stuff in that store is expensive but we were only buying snacks. The beach is not much and quite rocky in spots but we spent most of our time by the pool where there were always plenty of lounge chairs and shade or sun depending on your preference. We walked to the Mariott one day but never ate there. We prefer going to the local restaurants rather than having an experience we could have at home. If you want to try a different beach definitely go to Friars Bay at Carombola Restaurant. Shipwreck beach is also right there but we didn't go there. You can snorkel from Timothy Beach Resort or Friars Bay but the snorkeling wasn't anything we haven't seen other places in the Caribbean. We have heard people say that the beds are hard and while they are not pillow top mattresses like we have at home we found them to be not so bad as to affect the quality of our sleep. We even brought an air mattress because some people said the beds are so bad but we never even took it out of the bag. Over all it was a wonderful trip and we would definitely go there again which is something we can't say about every place we have stayed in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view room. You get a sliding glass door to a huge balcony and a view (through palm trees) of the Caribbean sea. The ground floor rooms have a big patio but I doubt they can see the ocean and the "mountain/garden view" rooms have a tiny balcony with just a door not a sliding glass door.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank timnjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We ended up at Timothy Beach as a time share exchange with another couple. Even though we had a 1 bedroom, the foldout couch had a mattress placed on it to make a comfortable queen bed. My wife and I slept on it all week and were surprised by how comfortable it was.
The 1 bedroom is very adequate for a couple but a little cramped for 4 people. The foldout could not be folded up everyday and thus took up the living-room. We spent most of the time on the balcony anyway.
Sharing a bathroom is always the biggest challenge but friends work this out. Overall, the accommodations were absolutely what we wanted. We had been to St. Kitts before and stayed at the Marriott and, while much fancier, the Marriott is a walled fortress and lends little to Carribean flavor.
The Timothy Beach resort is in the thick of the island activities. The best snorkeling is at your doorstep (just to the left of the beach, by the cactus rock). The line of about 7 or 8 beach bars/restaurants are right next door to the resort. Some fantastic food (ribs, lobster, jerk chicken) at Cathy's and the famed Shiggedy Shack. The fire-eater at the Shiggedy Shack is cheesy but a fun evening. At night taxi after taxi brings people from the Marriott to the beach restaurants to eat. Cheaper and better food with great atmosphere.
We spent our days going to some other beaches. We usually ended up at South Frigate Bay. The Shipwreck bars was a favorite because monkeys and mongoose are always closeby. Food was adequate, drinks good, but they don't take credit cards. Just down the beach is Jam Rock with great food and really good snorkeling (and they take credit cards).
The Brimstone Fortress and Carib Batik are really nice sights to see and easily fit into a single half-day trip. Taxis are cheap and dependable.
One of the highlights of our trip was the ferry trip to Nevis for the day. A cheap ride of about 45 minutes and a quick 5 minute taxi to the beach by Sunshine's Bar. Beautiful beach with free chaise lounges and very few people. Sunshine's serves the fantastic "Killer Bee" and the jerk chicken is the best I have ever had.
The people at the Timothy Beach Resort are very friendly. The restaurant servers are warm and attentive. We met some owners and they were very welcoming. We were even invited up to their terrace for drinks and a sunset.
Monkeys were usually visible around the property and lent a definite charm. This resort was comfortable and quiet even though it is in the midst of the evening vibe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bean1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews