We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Mission Trip”
Review of Sugar Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Bay Club
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Reviewed March 11, 2011

They did everything to make us comfortable, coffee shop and pizza place next door.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bishopg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 186 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

Lovely spot, nice gardens but half the place is over run with noisy students. No services but restaurants close at hand. the sea front is lovely but covered in rubbish, quite the lousiest beach front of all the properties, very sad. Staff tried hard but not trained at all, but very charming and willing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandflopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We left our A.I. resort in Antigua to "chill out" and cut back on our calorie intake for 7 days in beautiful St. Kitts. However, due to the number of super eateries on the doorstep of the Sugar Bay it would have been rude not to take advantage, and our master plan went out of the window. It will be even better when the Indian restaurant currently being finalised over the reception area is finished in December.
10 minutes walk took us to the strip with it's great nightlife and live bands, although by the time the main festivities started, we were well tucked up in bed !
The beach was a bit of a disappointment with a lack of facilities, but we took the opportunity to visit different beaches on the island, and there was always the opportunity to walk to the strip and enjoy the beach there. The hotel is partly occupied by the medical students who study nearby, and unlike students in the UK, they were invariably well mannered and almost unnoticable, leaving the pool areas free to the 2 of us for the whole day if desired.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We only stayed here 1 night after staying in nevis for 2 weeks with my sister who lives there, I thought this hotel was very nice and will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We decided to visit St kitts, but didnt want the "busy scene" that you would get at a large resort.

Sugar bar was our choice in that respect and we found it to be very quiet which was what we were after, and ideal for a peaceful and tranquil break. We had an ocean view room, and it didnt disappoint. We were the only people in the block of 16, so there was no noise anywhere closeby, only the sound of the sea on the beach. The room was large, if a little out-dated but we didnt go on holiday to sit and look at the room. The bed was enormous!!!! Lovely balcony to watch the sun rising over the Atlantic as well.

We went for relaxation and we certainly got that.

The staff were more than helpful, and although the Caribbean has a very laid back attitude, the staff always helped promptly when called upon.

If you are the resort kind of person who likes everything to hand, then Sugar Bay isn't for you, you need to look further up the street at the Marriott. If you want peace & quiet away from the crowd which for me is what the Caribbean is all about, then Sugar bay will be ideal for you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tankerman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Our room was less than 60 feet from the Atlantic with amazing sunrises and the sound of the ocean lulling us to sleep. We were there a week and the time flew by. We also checked out a few of the other hotels we had considered and felt that Sugar Bay had one of the very best locations and the very best in ocean front on that side of the island. This hotel is smallish and in something of a transition, but the staff was great and made us feel welcome. The pool was clean, the grounds really nice and a good place to base your vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geek_herder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed at Sugar Bay on Christmas week 2009. This place is run down and was only 50% occupied during this peak week. We rented a two BR bungalow, which was spacious and clean. However, the roof leaked in both BRs and the electrical wiring was dangerous (the oven gave you an electric shock when touched and the electrical outlets were unreliable). During our week, housekeeping never delivered toilet paper (Complaints to the front desk resulted in a delayed delivery of a single roll, apparently to be shared between the two bathrooms). The pool waterfall featured in photos does not operate. Local restuarts are overcrowded and overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delaware411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
162 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Frigate Bay
81 reviews
7.7 mi away
Oualie Beach Resort
Oualie Beach Resort
#3 of 3 in New Castle
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Club

Address: Zenway Blvd | Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range: $114 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Bay Club 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Bay Club Hotel is located in the lively Frigate Bay area of St. Kitts and our property is set amidst five acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the Atlantic Ocean. We offer four restaurants on property, a duty free liquor store, a souvenir shop, an Express Mart and two fresh water swimming pools. Our St. Kitts Hotel is perfect for a relaxing tropical vacation. The Sugar Bay Club Hotel has eighty-nine rooms and suites. We offer amenities such as complimentary wireless internet access, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, hairdryers, refrigerators, microwaves, tea/coffee making facilities, kitchenettes and private patio or balcony. Choose your view of the Atlantic Ocean, our vibrant garden or one of our two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Bay Club Hotel Frigate Bay
Sugar Bay Club St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing