We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Bay Club
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Pago Pgo
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very nice people and quite convenient to the adjacent market and rituals restaurants ( Indian, Japanese, and the coffee shop too!) but the rooms could use some refurbishment. the air conditioning is just adequate and the hot water was quite hot at night ...and not so hot the next morning. For those interested, the free Internet was spotty as well.

I don't really expect many of the small hotels in the Carribean to be of the same standard as US major chains...but with the new Marriott on St. Kitts ( just down the road) there is a big difference in quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    56
    40
    14
    21
See reviews for
19
50
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel was very clean, I was unable to change the TV channel but it was okay since there was free WiFi available. The service was service was very slow when ordering somethig to eat at the "Cafe" which was not attached to the hotel but was only a few steps away.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 2nd floors they are quieter, less outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marica31_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We recently attended the St Kitts Music Fest 2012 and decided at the last minute that we would stay over, rather than get the early ferry back to Nevis. Found Sugar Bay Club on trip advisor, price looked right and pictures suggested it would be OK. We were pleasently surprised, as the room was bigger than expected, the pool area and grounds seemed well tended, AC worked, bed was comfortable, found somewhere local for dinner before we went to the show, it was just what we wanted.

Now this in not a five star resort, but for the price, it is great for a few nights stay, we would definitely use it again

Room Tip: We chose a poolside room and could see the pool, but were not as close as we expected, so speak to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Sugar Bay recently and wanted something affordable and no-frills, as we were going to the Four Seasons in Nevis later on the trip. It was exactly as advertised. The room we rented was clean and very spacious....the A/C unit worked great as well. The front desk people were friendly and courteous. We thought the landscaping and grounds looked a little neglected, but the pools looked nicely kept. Didn't do beach at all, as that was going to be the focus in Nevis. All in all, exactly what we expected from other reviews and a rate under $120 on Kayak.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stephanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived in St. Kitts and was looking for a place for two nights prior to going to the Marriott Vacation Club that was economical. Sugar Bay Club was recommended at the airport so we took a taxi to have a look. The grounds were a mess, the beach dirty/filthy - non existent. I was asked if I wanted to see the room and I said "no thanks". If the grounds and beach were any indication of what the building had to offer, the above picture is not a true representation. However, if you are on a very tight shoe string budget and aren't fussy, have a look. We decided to pay the extra and stay in the Marriott Hotel for the two nights.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on the above because I chose not to check in.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenlittle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frigate Bay hotels

Gales Ferry
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Sugar Bay Club is a well-kept (and ever improving) hotel. There are two pools (one adult) and a nice fitness center. Short walk to several restaurants (Bombay Blues on site, Rock Lobster, Ciao, Rituals Coffee and snack bar, Frigate Bay beach shacks, and the Marriott Hotel.) Short taxi ride to the airport (now is $ 16 for 1-4 persons.) Staff is very courteous and accommodating. The 50 or so medical students that reside there were very quiet (I asked the staff about them and they only rent to quiet ones.) Great location for going anywhere on the island for tours. Taxis are easy to come by. Drivers are very courteous, love to talk about their island, and take you where you want to go. Activities from horseback riding, catamaran tours for snorkeling, diving, ferry trips to Nevis, shopping in Basseterre all easy to get to via taxi (unless one is comfortable driving on the left and rents their own vehicle. We had a great stay at the Sugar Bay Club for much less than the Marriott. Only downside is that the beach is on the Atlantic side and is small in width and quite windy. But, it is a short walk to the Caribbean Side by Timothy Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Oceanview room on the second floor. Just lovely to sit on the terrace and watch the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DWS177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I loved the island of st kitts. It was awesome. We staied at sugar bay and It was no problems at all. Beautiful beach. Beautiful grounds. Defiantly reccommend If you are on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tortoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.1 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
#5 of 6 in Basseterre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Frigate Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Club

Property: Sugar Bay Club
Address: Zenway Blvd | Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Bay Club 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Bay Club Hotel is located in the lively Frigate Bay area of St. Kitts and our property is set amidst five acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the Atlantic Ocean. We offer four restaurants on property, a duty free liquor store, a souvenir shop, an Express Mart and two fresh water swimming pools. Our St. Kitts Hotel is perfect for a relaxing tropical vacation. The Sugar Bay Club Hotel has eighty-nine rooms and suites. We offer amenities such as complimentary wireless internet access, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, hairdryers, refrigerators, microwaves, tea/coffee making facilities, kitchenettes and private patio or balcony. Choose your view of the Atlantic Ocean, our vibrant garden or one of our two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sugar Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Bay Club Hotel Frigate Bay
Sugar Bay Club St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing