We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience; delightful hosts; couldn't be bettered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rock Haven Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We spent 9 nights at Rock Haven at the end of Feb, early March 2011. My husband had found a review of it in the Sunday Times travel section, he was so impressed by what he read that he emailed Judith Blake immediately. After some to-ing and fro-ing over dates, with Judith responding quickly and helpfully, we managed to secure our stay. We could not have done better anywhere.
Judith, who hails from Dominica, is an elegant, gracious and charming hostess of the 2 bedroomed accommodation. Her husband Keith is a quiet and dignified presence in the B and B and a member of one of the oldest families on the island. Get him to tell you about life there is his father's, grandfathers' and great-grandfathers' days, when some 7 families owned most of the island's sugar plantations. Judith herself, is well known, it seems, by everyone on the island from the lady at immigration to the taxi drivers and the restaurant owners.
Judith met us at the airport and returned us there at the end of our 2 week stay, even though, by then, we had moved on to stay elsewhere. This is typical of her generous commitment to her guests. She offers free access to the internet and phone and laundry is taken care of, all of which made our stay there incredibly easy and stress- free. Judith was always ready with help in recommending places to visit or eat and would willingly transport guests who were carless anywhere they wished to go.
We stayed in the self-contained suite below the house which was spacious and beautifully furnished. (See review of 15th March 2011 by gmack who stayed in the other guest room at Rock Haven at the same time as us.) Our room had a fully equipped kitchen which we did not use, but those more adventurous than us could cater for themselves. We had sole use of the shaded verandah area in front of the suite which was equipped with a table, chairs and sun loungers. This looked onto a beautiful garden and down to the sea on the Atlantic side.
Judith provides the most mouthwateringly delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts. She says she has 11 different breakfasts, of which we enjoyed 9 and would have happily tucked into repeats. These were served by Judith herself and the gorgeous Beverley. I am sorry that I only thought to start taking photographs of these marvels on the last couple of days, as I would love to have a full record of them which would remind us of the variety of fruit and cooked creations offered. Breakfasts came complete with large individual pots of delicious coffee or tea. Breakfast was served either in the family dining room, or, when the wind subsided, on the terrace, overlooking the ocean.
Guests have access to Judith and Keith's living area and we were never made to feel that we were intruding on their privacy, but always welcomed with smiles.(This was even the case when I inadvertently set off the burglar alarm and the Blakes were recalled from their dinner to deal with 'the intruder'!). Judith used to be known as the ice cream lady and we were lucky enough to enjoy some of the ice cream she made while we were there. Sadly she no longer runs this business.
Nothing was ever too much trouble for Judith and the level of our enjoyment of St Kitts was greatly down to her hospitality. We can unreservedly recommend staying art Rock Haven and I hope we shall return there in the future.
We hired a car whilst there and this increased our enjoyment of the island which we were able to explore in its entirety (not too difficult as one can drive around it in about an hour and a half). There are some fascinating places to see: Brimstone Fortress, the former sugar plantations of Ottleys and Rawlins, Caribelle Batik, as well as the stunning beaches, the beautiful coastline and the villages which are dotted along it. In order to enjoy these sights and the myriad restaurant opportunities to the full a car is essential whilst staying at Rock Haven.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prisbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 63 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2011

We chose Rock Haven for a 3-day stay in St. Kitts after a one-week stay in a cottage on Nevis. We chose Rock Haven based on reviews on trip advisor which were generally outstanding. The reviews were accurate. Rock Haven is a remarkable guest house which exceeded all our expectations. The hosts, Judith and Keith, were the most gracious and accommodating we have ever had at a bed and breakfast or guest house, and we have stayed in many throughout the U.S. and Europe. The accommodations were exactly as described on their very informative website, and the breakfasts were even better than described by both the website and other travelers. We stayed in the garden room which connects to the central hall in the home, but we were never bothered by noise or intrusions of any kind. What we did experience was a willingness on both Judith's and Keith's part to attend to any questions or requests with an immediacy which surprised both of us. During our three day stay Judith and Keith both offered repeatedly and immediately to drive us to the beach or to restaurants or to town or to the airport for our departure. Advice on places to go and things to see and do were always available. We felt as if we were staying with family or old friends rather than people we had just met on arrival in St. Kitts. We also, of course, want to extend a thanks to Beverly, who arrived each morning to help breakfast preparation and delivery and always was ready to brew me some fresh French press coffee when she saw me reading in the living room before breakfast.
If you are looking for a quiet relaxed environment with wonderful hosts, a great location, and fantastic leisurely breakfasts to start each day of adventure on St. Kitts, you cannot do better than Rock Haven Bed and Breakfast. The place and the people are that nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grmm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Judith and Keith were excellent hosts. The stay was fantastic. Though short it was completely relaxing. I was definitely home away from home. Mrs. Blake was like a grandmother to my daughter 3 years old, who followed her around the house. Every detail was taken care of, even the laundry if you needed it done.
Every place recommended by Judith either the beach or to eat was a great recommendation.
Rock have has great breakfast food, scenery, and a romantic atmosphere, as well as great employees. Just had to add again that the breakfast was mouth watering. As well as eating with the most gorgeous view. Beverly was very friendly too.
St. Kitts is very unspoiled and I will definitely be returning soon. I took a 3 and 11 year old and the talk about the house and the island all the time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tafari27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Our goal was to see as much of St Kitts as we could while living in a local residential setting. Rock Haven was ideal for this purpose. It is conveniently located, minutes from the airport and from the capital of Basseterre, and is essentially at a crossroads between the roads to the north shore, south shore and the southeast peninsula. Rock Haven is the West Indian style home of Judith and Dr. Blake. They were very gracious hosts and helpful in suggesting things to see, places to eat and filling in some details of island history. They made us feel very much at home. Breakfast was different every morning was always wonderful, often with ingredients fresh from the garden. The banana pancakes were particularly memorable.

Rock Haven is situated high on a hill with stunning views of both north and south Frigate Bay and the peninsula. There are restaurants within walking distance. The closest, Bobsy's, has a good menu at reasonable prices. For something more upscale, try La Belle Vie. We stayed in the Sanctuary Suite, which is a self-contained efficiency. With a full kitchen, ensuite bath, and our own patio looking onto the garden, we had plenty of privacy. Judith had invited us to use their main veranda at any time, and we often did this to enjoy the picture postcard views. Our suite was cleaned each day.

We rented a car from Avis for the week. Traffic is not very heavy in St Kitts and this proved to be an excellent way to see the island. Friar's Bay on the peninsula is about 13 minutes away and became our favourite spot for an afternoon swim. However, you don't need your own car. Taxis are plentiful and not too pricey.

If your idea of an island vacation is lying around the pool all day drinking Pina Coladas, this won't be for you, try the Marriott. For our purposes, Rock Haven was perfect. I would highly recommend it for adults looking to experience St Kitts.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Exquisite setting with spectacular views; sumptuous two course breakfasts and in 8 days we never had the same meal twice. Hostess Judith Blake is gracious, helpful, knowledgeable and unobtrusive. We grew to love her very much and she and her staff catered to our every desire. Judith had great recommendations for sights, restaurants, tours. She made reservations for us. Her gardener washed our car!

We have stayed in B&Bs for 39 years. None have measured up to our new standard -- Rock Haven and Judith Blake. Better make a reservation soon because we are telling everyone we know.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaglassseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Just got back from 11 days of relaxing at Rock Haven. Judith and Kieth are wonderful hosts. Each day started with an excellent breakfast, each days dish was different, tasty, and based on local recipes. Can not get better.
If you are going to St Kitts this is a must stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank See-the-world-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

My wife and I had the privilege to stay with Judith at the Rock Haven B&B, she was a wonderful host. The house is truly one of a kind with a beautiful view and our room was more accommodating then we imagined. In the morning we were treated to a excellent breakfast using mainly local ingredients while we enjoyed a nice conversation with a couple visiting from Finland. I would recommend Rock Haven to anyone who is looking for a unique experience on St. Kitts.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank i20two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
0.0 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Frigate Bay
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.0 mi away
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Basseterre
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Haven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Haven Bed & Breakfast

Address: Scenic Drive, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $192 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rock Haven Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock Haven Bed & Breakfast receives ongoing accolades for its stunning traditional Caribbean beauty and graciousness. Creative architectural and design fusion superbly blends the expansive flow of a Great House with contemporary touches like vibrant fuchsia walls and a modern, over-sized kitchen. Guests welcome the warmth of this tranquil, serene, majestic home as the perfect setting to enjoy the sumptuous and exquisite breakfasts of owner Judith Blake, whose hospitality and cooking exceed all expectations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Rock Haven Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Haven Bed And Breakfast
Rock Haven Hotel South Coast
Rock Haven Bed & Breakfast St. Kitts/Frigate Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing