We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”
Review of La Cucina

La Cucina
Ranked #18 of 33 Restaurants in Frigate Bay
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The meal was good and the staff was very pleasant. The antipasto bar was delicious. Since the hotel was packed, we should have made reservations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    74
    47
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice evening meal”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A nice variety on the menu and a pretty decent wine selection. Staff was cordial and attentive. A pretty expensive meal but then it is on the resort so that was to be expected. Great beef, veal and pork entrees.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Bit of Italy”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Service was excellent, informative, friendly and attentive. This certainly is improved since our last visit to the Marriott. Had reservations, and we were seated immediately. They were out of the tomato mozzarella appetizer so I settled for the Caesar salad (nothing special). Husband had the grilled shrimp- excellent! Entrees: Veal chop and lobster ravioli. Portions were just average, but certainly enough.
Would not recommend the Italian Pasta Fest. Waited on line forever, desserts were bread pudding, red velvet cupcakes, marshmallows to dip in chocolate...not even a cannolli or spumoni!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palmbeach60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of the three Marriott restaraunts”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Do NOT listen to the poor reviews about this place. It is simple a travesty that this is not ranked in the TOP 3 best places to eat on St Kitts after Marshall's and Carambola's. I have eaten here over 15 times since coming to the island and each time is better than the last. Granted they run out of menu items (most items are imported) and the service (like all places on St Kitts can be slow) it is truly the best value for your money in the resort.

Blu (seafood place) is overpriced and serves small portions
Steak House, while fancy and great food, is a bit overpriced as well with small portions and more importantly a small selection of menu items.

La Cucina on the other hand is fairly priced (cheapest of the three restaurants) and has the most extensive menu.

First thing first, avoid the pasta buffet at all costs (its not worth it and the cause of many poor reviews on tripadvisor)

Secondly, make sure you request to have Rudell as your server, he really takes care of us every time my friend and I visit and makes sure we have everything we need including on checking on us every so often.

As a student on the island it's a pain to find consistent eating options but La Cucina is my favorite and i have eaten at nearly every single worthwhile place on the island. The food is always great, the portions are big and the service is the best on the island (along with Marshalls). Sometimes service can be slow but you have to know when to eat (right when they open or right when they close for the best service)

The lobster ravioli and penne salmon are great so is the calamari.

I recommend this place to all my fellow classmates and each try it and share my sentiments. They love Cucina as much as I do. Definitely try this place if you are staying on St Kitts you will not be disappointed. After the pool bar restaurant this is the best value you will get at the Marriott)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WelcomeToStShitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A bit slow”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The service was slow and the first time we ate there the food was late (they forgot about us) mainly due to the fact that there were three other people eating but they apologised brough fresh food and complimentary drinks so all in all not bad and it got better.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trebor5417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina also viewed

Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
 

Been to La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing