We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel you must try.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermigua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights as part of a walking holiday on La Gomera in February 2014. Alex and staff could not do enough for us. Our second floor room had loverly views up and down the valley over looking Hermigua itself. Room really nice, plenty of space and the en suite bath with shower over complimented the room. Some of the previous comments regarding breakfast do not reflect what we found. There was adequate variety of food provided, more than sufficient to start the day. Access is up a steep hill, but the bonus is the views. Evening meals in the local restaurants were very good. You only have to speak to Alex who will let you know which ones are open. Alex can arrange a local taxi with Ramone for those who do not want the walk back up to the hotel after a night out. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room at the corner of the hotel. Views over to Mount Tiede stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 159 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in May, hotel is very clean with pleasant rooms, breakfast simple but won't leave you wanting. Our host Alex, was very friendly & extremely helpful, with tips on where & where not to go. When we visited not all restaurants in the village were open, so a bit of a walk to dine in the evening if not using a car. Car is however almost essential, parking is on the road outside, tight but not a problem. Most definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bikemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This family run boutique hotel is a delightful place to stay. Alex and his mother make a great team. He is fluent in several languages and knowledgeable about to area, local restaurants and walks. She invests her artistic flair and love in the internal decor and the well maintained garden.
The breakfasts reflect local specialities and are varied and healthy. We recommend it without reservation.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank su51ald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a walking tour of La Gomera and were very impressed. Alex was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is beautiful with lots of polished wood and homely touches. Breakfasts were delicious.
All the rooms have names - we stayed in "vinatico" which was a lovely suite with a shower over a (quite short) bath.
The hotel doesn't serve evening meals but was happy to suggest suitable places.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank fifporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We did not stay here, just visited the place. From what we saw we can recommend it to people who love to stay in a quiet, rural accomodation in beautiful, mountaineous scenery. Hermigua is a lovely village, and Ibo Alfaro is located on a steep hill overlooking the valley and the ocean.
The building is well kept, gardens are just lovely and it has good vibes. Next time that I will visit La Gomera I would stay here for a couple of nights to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here recently for 6 nights on a walking holiday. The hotel is in the small town of Hermigua, set in a stunningly beautiful valley surrounded by high cliffs and lush green peaks. The rooms are simple, but very comfortable and pristinely clean. Alex runs the hotel with a mixture of friendliness and precision that is really very charming. He is also extremly knowledgeable and helpful when it comes to helping plans one's stay.

The breakfast is perfect for those going walking, with a mixture of cereal, dried fruit and nuts, fresh fruit, bread and a daily spread of local cheese and meat.

Above all, the views from the terrace and balconies are possibly some the best on the island. The hotel is perfectly set for exploring the varied landscapes of the wild paradise that is La Gomera, with the national park within easy reach by car, and a number of great walks relatively close by.

I would point out that a car is essential here, as all restaurants and the majority of walks are not within comfortable walking distance.

Will definitely plan another visit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this beautiful hotel for two nights - having a holiday (La Gomera) in a holiday (Tenerife). We were met by Alex which is one of the most welcoming, friendly and helpful persons I have ever met. He speaks English, Spanish and German fluently and runs the hotel with his mother (does not speak English very well). We stayed in the Cedronella room, small, but very clean and nice and with windows on two sides. The view from the balcony is great. The breakfast is super, both granola with a lot of fruits and nuts, and bread, jam, ham, cheese etc. So why do we not give the hotel five stars? The water pressure in the shower is not good at all, and there was not soap in the dispenser in the shower. Also there was no light in the main lamp in the room. BUT, that being said, I would love to stay here again and will recommend this hotel to all people looking for a place to stay in La Gomeral.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, the Cedronella room in in the end and has windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermigua
9.5 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
7.6 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Las Casas del Chorro
Las Casas del Chorro
#1 of 4 in Agulo
24 reviews
10.2 mi away
Charco Del Conde
Charco Del Conde
#4 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural

Address: Calle Ibo Alfaro s/n, 38820 Hermigua, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Hermigua
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermigua
Price Range: $80 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibo Alfaro Hermigua
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural Hermigua, La Gomera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing