We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic rural escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hermigua
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“authentic rural escape”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera for two nights over Christmas 2012. Very impressed with all the staff who were very welcoming, friendly and so helpful when it came to highlighting best walks in the area and organing taxi etc. What a beautiful, authentic hotel both inside and out and extremely comfortable and finished really well...a boutique hotel in the middle of the countryside! Good choice of food for breakfast, dinner menu very reasonable and the honesty bar was a very nice, trusting touch. Would definitely stay here again if we come back to Hermigua for longer!
Karen and Peter, Sligo, Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you’re staying in de North of La Gomera, Hotel Rural Casa Los Herrera would be definately the perfect place to stay.

The hotel only has 8 rooms and is completely run by one family. There’s nothing impossible for them. Every morning there's a different kind of breakfast, with fresh fruit from the region. We happened to be there for a few nights at the end of December 2012 until January 2th 2013, and were surprised by a real New Year’s breakfast with Churros con cholocate!

Besides your own spacious room with complete bathroom you have a nice terrace, because balcony is not the appropriate word for it ;-)
The guests have a swimming pool on the roofterrace and a living room on the first floor to their disposal, with computer and free (wifi) access to the internet. The views from the hotel to the mountains are stunning.

Hermigua is located near the access of Parque Nacional de Garajonay, a must see! Actually the whole island is worthwhile, a real paradise for hikers. If you want to make your holidays on La Gomera a memorable one, book a few nights in this casa rural in Hermigua. You won't regret it!

One small point for improvement: there are no free outlets in your room to for instance charge your phone.

Last tip: have dinner in restaurant Chacara (where the locals come to have dinner too) and avoid El Faro if possible (where only tourists come to have dinner). You surely will notice the difference between those two restaurants concerning the meals and the service you get!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sing P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

No.... not a mis-spell...but a word inspired by two of our inspired hosts....George (Jordi) and George (Jorge).!!

and the delightful third member of the team...Josefina.

From the warmth of the opening welcome to the hugs and handshakes of our good-byes, this was a lovely holiday experience in a lovely hotel.

Our room was perfect...spacious and spotless (if you don't count the rose petals used to decorate it to mark our anniversary!!!) and our terrace overlooked the town of Hermigua and the mountains which surround it.

The hotel has a small but beautifully-designed pool area which provided a pleasant opportunity to 'soften-up' after our daily walks in the glorious wooded core of La Gomera.

The food prepared by Jorge and Josefina was superb. Whilst the restaurant is only open for one night a week, we were lucky to be around when the it was opened a second time to accomodate a small party of French visitors...and the standard of food and presentation were again spot-on.

Breakfasts are a delight... with a variety of meats and cheeses and fresh fruit (you must try the star fruit and the kiwi) or a freshly prepared omelette or bacon and eggs for those with a bigger appetite. Jorge provides the cabaret (in four languages if you press him!).

This is an exceptionally friendly place with hosts who are helpful, knowledgeable, accomodating and genuinely funny. Nothing is too much trouble and they really do go that extra yard (meter if you must)....upto, in our case, buying us chocolate and churros at a roadside kiosk when we bumped into Jorge and Joesfina in the town one night!

Jordi is an ideal host and, like the others. made our stay one to remember for a long time!!

TIPS:

Rent a car!

Our favoured restaurant in Hermigua was El Faro (a twenty minute walk down-hill and a tad more coming back!) which takes time to prepare beautiful fresh fish...but it's worth the wait.

If you're on a walking holiday....and after taking stock with Jordi... start with a visit to the Visitor Centre in the Garajonay Park where you can get free walking maps which will show marked routes and the levels of difficulty, times etc.

Walking to Caleta beach is a challenge! Take the car!

MUST DO's:

Visit Efigenia's restaurant/cafe in Las Hayas for lunch ...for her fixed menu delight.

Ditto Maria's place in El Cercado

The best beaches are in Valle Gran Rey.

In Playa Santiago try La Cuevita for lunch...exceptional seafood...and try the limpets!


SPECIAL THANKS TO:

Jordi, Jorge and Josefina (and their daughter who designed our floral treat!)

Bill and Lynne and Das Berlinners for their company

Regards to all Polly and Chris xx

Room Tip: Second floor with a terrace. We stayed in 201. Lovely walk-in shower...and comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nontouristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

A perfect base for exploring an island of extraordinary biodiversity and dramatic landscapes of coastal cliffs and deep canyons. We arrived at dawn and were welcomed warmly. Without a mention of check-in times, our rooms were prepared while we were treated to a breakfast of egg and potato tortilla, exotic delicious fruits, first-class Serrano ham and local chevre cheese, and expresso. The room had a large balcony that looked up the valley’s terraced hills, down the valley to the sea, and across the street to a charming church with a handsome steeple and a courtyard where kids played. The inn has only eight rooms, and over half its space is devoted to spacious comfort: an interior courtyard with a self-service bar, a luxurious lounge, terraced gardens with their plants carefully identified, and at the top of the building a swimming pool with a deck providing further superb views across the valley. The furnishings, linens, and woodwork could not have been of a higher standard, and they were all beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This newly renovated hotel is very well decorated in rustic style and offers many services not always found such as a television lounge with free internet access, a bistro style self service snack area and a lovely pool. The hosts are extremely friendly and the breakfast was very good-both the food and the decor of the dining room. Ideal for a short walking holiday in the area

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermigua
7.5 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#2 of 7 in Hermigua
146 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Casas del Chorro
Las Casas del Chorro
#1 of 4 in Agulo
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa de Hermigua
Villa de Hermigua
#4 of 7 in Hermigua
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera

Property: Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
Address: Pza Nuestra Senora de la Encarnacion s/n, 38820 Hermigua, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Hermigua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hermigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A building with a rich historical value. It is a nineteenth century mansion, with over a hundred years old, carefully restored to maintain its original style and charm of their lordly origin, located in the municipality of Hermigua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Casa Los Herrera Hermigua, La Gomera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing