We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foxholm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foxholm B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawdon B&B and Inns
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We wanted to visit the RSPB reserve at Bempton Cliffs to photograph the Gannets, but didn't want to be in a busy resort.
Google found Foxholm in Sawdon for me, just 21 miles from Bempton Cliffs on a good road, so we booked three nights.
Arriving in the afternoon we were welcomed by Stuart and Rita into a very pretty home, shown to our room and offered coffee to refresh us after our journey, which was very welcome.
Stuart offered to help us in with our luggage which was a nice touch, before he headed off to get our coffee. It came with delicious home made cake - bang goes the diet.

The room was spacious and the ensuite shower room was roomy and well equipped. Soaps and shower gel were available and were good quality and the towels were a generous size and lovely and thick.

We managed to cram a lot into our four days with visits to Pickering, Scarborough, RSPB Bempton Cliffs, Filey, Whitby and a ride on the North York moors railway to Goatland and Grosmont, and each time we returned to Foxholm we were offered refreshments, even though the rooms had coffee and tea making facilities. Those little touches make all the difference.

Bempton Cliffs were superb, I took over 900 photographs and I'd highly recommend a visit - £5 to park all day is all it costs.

We also managed a walk through the woods at Sawdon, I was bemused that all the signposts, and there were a goodly number simply pointed and had 'footpath' or 'bridleway' etched on without actually saying footpath to where so it's a bit of a guessing game.

I admit I found the 'African theme' a bit strange but reading back I see that Rita and Stuart 'inherited' that when they bought the business.

Lots of good places to eat nearby, you would never starve in Yorkshire, and lots of places to visit within easy reach of Sawdon.
A perfect break and one we will likely be repeating in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANDT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxholmsawdon, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay here. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and it just shows a small selection of the attractions which are within easy reach of us.

I must also thank you for the photographs you have sent me of your visit to the area. They are simply stunning. They will go on the website and I can't wait to have a few of them printed to display on the wall.

I will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had two perfect nights...a very comfortable bed, good size room with ensuite bathroom and hearty full English breakfasts. Stuart and Rita were the perfect hosts and anticipated all our needs which together with the easy parking and picturesque garden made Foxholm a liitle piece of heaven.
Following the first night we had a trip down memory lane into Scarborough and walked the length of the North Bay into the South Bay before climbing up to the castle and down again.
Then we parked on the South Cliff overlooking the sea before setting off on the coastal path for Filey. A bit up and down but the sea is in view the whole time making it all worthwhile.Having done all that we had a two hours walk thru the woodlands surrounding Foxholm before finishing off the day with a visit to the Anvil pub across the road...no driving, terrific menu and good company.
A visit to Castle Howard on the way to Foxholm and a visit to York on the way home made for a super weekend. So much more in the area too so we will be back!

Room Tip: Stuart showed us all the rooms and they were all to the high standard we experienced in the room ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxholmsawdon, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your trip down memory lane. Next time you come you will have to call at the butchers to pick up some of the ingredients you enjoyed so much at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a last minute break to Foxholm bed and breakfast and we will be returning. We were warmly greeted by Stuart and Mrs Benson, shown to our beautiful light and airy room and were shown the facilities. We were offered delicious cake and fresh coffee, which was a welcome treat after the journey.
Our room overlooked the courtyard at the front of the property and was of very high standard. It was Immaculate and well presented, with tea and coffee facilities, with fresh milk situated in the fridge in the guest sitting room!
After a great nights sleep and lovely hot shower we had full English breakfast, which was freshly made and extremely tastey and had local fresh produce.
It's fair to say we had a wonderful time and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shevii2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxholmsawdon, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is always pleasing when people enjoy their stay with us. We are really pleased you enjoyed the cake as it was a new recipe we were trying. Our aim is for people to feel at home and not in a standard hotel so it is always encouraging when people want to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steeple Claydon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We needed to find somewhere to stay near Whitby in Yorkshire and we found a delightful B&B run by a son and his mother. We arrived at 3.30 in the afternoon and were offered tea and homemade cake after being shown to our room. We were booked into the Anvil pub across the road for dinner which was excellent. After a restful night we had a fantastic breakfast in the conservatory, full Yorkshire for my husband and scrambled egg and salmon for me.
5 star treatment all round. Would recommend Foxholm to all my friends.

Room Tip: I like to have a bath at the end of a long trip so we booked the largest room with shower and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxholmsawdon, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are always pleased when people enjoy their stay. It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope you will come and stay longer if you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our first visit to Foxholm, and I hope it won't be our last. We had a really fantastic stay. What a lovely welcome from the new owner, we would never have guessed he was new to the business. Our room was spotless and the bed was really comfortable with a view over the beautiful garden. Our room had a bath which was welcome after being out in the rain, and the shower was really powerful and hot also. Tea and home made cake available in the afternoon in the guest lounge was a nice touch not to mention very tasty.
Breakfast was delicious, I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon, and my husband has full English, all made with fresh locally sourced ingredients, and plenty of toast with honey from two doors down, couldn't fault it.
Location is great for the coast and the moors with some great walks straight from the B&B, and the pub across the road serves great food and good guest beers.
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foxholmsawdon, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you had such a wonderful time at Foxholm. It is always good when our efforts are appreciated as we try to welcome all guests to our home as old friends so we can make their time away special. It was lovely to meet you both and we would be pleased to have you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Another wonderful stay again here at this lovely home .
We love coming here and everything is perfect and the breakfast
Is to die for. Wish my scrambled eggs tasted like they do here.
Hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindal699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We look forward to your visits; it feels like welcoming old friends.Our main aim is always to meet guests' needs, make them comfortable and want to return. It's kind of you to take the time to leave a very positive review. It helps to be assured that after all this time we continue to get things right. Blees you, and thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this BB very last minute and the communications were second to none. Upon arrival we had a fantastic, warm and friendly welcome, Tea/coffee and Victoria sponge which was perfect, were served in the guest lounge. The garden areas were beautiful. The breakfast was superb and no lunch was required that day. This is a lovely and tranquil BB, with fantastic and friendly hosts. The recommendation of Anvil Inn opposite is a must. Thoroughly recommend this BB.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris&Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a revue.To have such positive comments is very encouraging and its nice to know our efforts are appreciated. It was a pleasure to welcome you, hopefully you'll plan to return some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawdon
12.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.7 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
17.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
3.0 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxholm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxholm B&B

Property: Foxholm B&B
Address: Foxholm Main Street | Scarborough, Sawdon, North York Moors National Park YO13 9DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Sawdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxholm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 4 star B&B, set amidst stunning countryside. Foxholm has a comfortable, ground floor, ensuite, double bedroom furnished and equipped to a high standard that guarantee you a comfortable stay. The room has its own fridge, tea/coffee facilities and patio door leading onto the garden. The bed is an extra large king size which can be split into 2 singles, if required. A large selection of items is available on the breakfast menu. Set on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park we are in an ideal ideal to explore the North York Moors, with its many pretty villages and country houses or visit the seaside towns of Whitby, Scarborough or Filey. Whatever you want to do we promise a warm welcome and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Foxholm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing