We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #4 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We just booked one night stay here got room on top floor room was very nice and clean. The guy who checked us in was really nice and chatty. We had a few beers then went for a walk its a beautiful little place.We had a meal in the hotel and it was fantastic Chicken with Haggis mmmm.I would go bck service was very good ..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianhodgson377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 343 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I came across this hotel on a voucher site and decided to book the voucher deal plus 2 extra nights. Rothbury is a pretty Northumberland village with the National Trust property of Cragside nearby. The Queens Head is an inn with rooms. The room was lovely and the food very good. we ate there all three nights. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We will revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat195173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed using a Groupon we were greeted with a warm welcome and shown to our twin room which was very clean with immaculate bedding and towels and an ample supply of tea and coffee. we ate our evening meal in the restaurant we chose the pie of the day which was steak and ale it was full of very tender meat and we both cleared our plates. The sticky toffee pudding was the lightest I have tasted and melted in my mouth. My husband really enjoyed the real ales on offer. The beds were really comfortable and the room was quiet with no traffic noise until after 7 am. Breakfast was excellent with good quality cereals etc and locally sourced cooked produce. My request for the scrambled egg with smoked salmon and to try the sausage from the Northumbrian full breakfast was met with no problem. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Just wish the weather had been better as our plan to go for a walk alongside the nearby river had to be abandoned due to rain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueMc410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review, its lovely for the staff to be appreciated for their hard work.
Keep in touch we do our own specials out of season, I will email you anything we do.

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Yet another visitor care of Groupon. We have stayed in Rothbury on other occasions and have eatten in The Queens Head but this was the first time we have stayed here. The room was lovely and the bathroom was huge, both were spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The staff and locals were all very friendly, we ate in the bar as we were already settled there and didn't feel like moving into the restaurant. The food, as usual here, was very good. Plan on staying here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel using a Group On voucher we received as a Christmas gift from one of our daughters. From the minute we walked through the door we felt at home. We were warmly welcomed by Alan who checked us in and showed us to our lovely room. The bar was warm and cosy and the locals were all extremely friendly. We ate a delicious meal in the restaurant and we were very impressed with everything about it from the lovely linen napkins, the very efficient waitress and the quality of the food. We slept really well in a comfortable bed and had a lovely breakfast in the morning. As a bonus after chatting with the owners after our meal we happened to mention an old friend that we had lost touch with and not only did they know him but they told us where he was and we were able to go and see him after we checked out. We will definitely be back for another break at a later date. Thanks to Terry and all the team.

Room Tip: Room 16 was lovely and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimitri696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to find your long lost friends, sure you will be seeing more of them now. Hope we will see you again also.

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Myself and my husband have recently stayed in this hotel through a Groupon deal and i would just like to say i would recommend it highly. We stayed in room 16 which was absolutely lovely and the room was spotless. We found the bar to be very friendly and to have a nice atmosphere. We also ate here and the food was beautiful. We look forward to staying again in the future. Thank you once again for the pleasant stay,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

As with others - Groupon Deal was our "hook", making it EXCELLENT VALUE. Very helpful staff & comfortable, clean, adequate room. Really enjoyed evening meals in pleasant ground floor restaurant. Bar was quite well used on the Sunday afternoon but MT on the evening. The discount given for eating "in-house" was a marvellous extra, covering both wine & food. The morning breakfast was served in a 1st floor Dining Room & was, as advertised, a "Full Northumberland" - a fine start to any day !!!

We'll be back :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
16 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#6 of 11 in Rothbury
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 11 in Rothbury
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
0 mi away
Springfield Guest House
Springfield Guest House
#10 of 11 in Rothbury
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: $77 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the bar / a la carte menu or the daily blackboard are available lunch and dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing