We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and very welcoming”
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #5 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay and very welcoming”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here for a two night break away from Newcastle and it tickem all the boxes to be honest. Its a maximum 40 minute drive and its a step into another world. The hotel itslef is quite an age but very well kept. Its clean and tidy and very welcoming.
We were shown to our room , which was 16 on the back of the hotel. It was a nice size and had all the amenities you need in a B&B.
On the first night we ate in the resteraunt after having a trip up and down the high street and visiting a few other pubs. All were friendly and we had a nice time. The meal was excellent in the resteraunt and we felt we got full value for money. The service was excellent and then we retired to the bar for a couple of more drinks.
The next day we had a hearty, quality breakfast served by a very happy lady. Excellent . we spent the morning in Alnwick and then the afternoon in Cragside where we walked and walked. It was wonderful.
In the evening we ate out at another resteraunt but returned to the Queens for a few night time drinks. The next morning before breakfast we headed down to the river for a walk and spent 30 minutes up and down the riverside walks before returning to tackle the breakfast. Lovely.
A very pleasant place that i would recommend to anyone for a few day break. Lovely area, great walks and good friendly staff. You can't ask for more. Well. done.

Room Tip: back of the building , off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toon_ada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    122
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
26
211
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Arrived and received a friendly welcome. Room clean and provided what we needed. Hotel staff all very nice and polite and friendly, from receptionist, to bar staff, to restaurant girls. Just what we were looking for.
Food very tastey , both evening meal and the hearty cooked breakfast. I like my food and the breakfast beat me! Set me up for rest of day!
Bar very cosey and nice to relax and enjoy a couple of drinks.
Overall would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a hotel that creates a family run atmosphere and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham140968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here as part of a Groupon deal, and even if we had paid full price it would have been worth it. The hotel is easy to find and has a car park at the side. The room itself is much nicer than I had expected, clean, modern, spacious with a nice big en suite. We didn't eat at the hotel, but we walked 5 minutes down the road to a nice Italian restaurant, there was also another pub on the way.

The breakfast the next morning was served promptly, with cereal, fruit, yogarts and a cooked breakfast, it was excellent value. The waitress was very friendly and polite. The only downside was the bed was a bit too hard, but we would still return. Thank you for having us.

Room Tip: Not sure if they have a lift, I didn't check so worth checking if disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thanks for the lovely comments, sorry you found the bed a bit too hard, they are pocket sprung but firm and on a sprung base also. Hope you can visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Myself, my partner and friends who also stayed in the hotel all had a wonderfull visit.
The staff were welcoming and we were made to feel comfortable as soon as we entered the hotel. We were shown round so we knew were everything was and taken to our rooms (no 14 & 16)which were clean,very warm and had all the facilities we needed. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant which was good home cooked food at reasonable prices.
We are already thinking about going back with a larger group of friends and we've only been home 4 days!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisec1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This visit was a Christmas present from the family for my husband and I. (I think they got a great deal as my daugher also stayed for a short break on another occasion). The hotel was well situated in Rothbury. Our room was nicely decorated and there was minute attention to detail - there was plenty of tea, coffee, milk and a vast file of local attractions and events. All the staff were most pleasant. We had dinner and the food was excellent, however was surpassed by the breakfast the next day. There was a wide choice and the two full English breakfasts we had were cooked to perfection. We enjoyed our stay at the Queens Head and would certainly visit it again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spence2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights ad wish it had been 4 weeks. From the initial friendly welcome through to departure we were very impressed. The room was spacious and, as with all other areas of the hotel, it was spotless. Breakfast and dinner used the finest of ingredients and was imaginative and well presented. It would be unfair to single out any of the staff as they were all friendly and helpful. We will return !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Arrived back from Corfu 2 weeks ago after a great week away with my wife, then straight back into the daily grind of work, kids (20 and 21 year old) and house. The thought of Christmas approaching I decided to whisk my wife away but for just one night and somewhere not too far to travel. Saw a great deal for the Queens head in Rothbury a place we had never been in before. I emailed Teresa who runs the hotel and she kindly booked a room and dinner reservation for 8.15pm. On the Thursday evening I picked my wife up from work then headed straight for hotel arriving about 7.15pm. First impressions of the hotel were just what you would expect from a country pub, a majestic old building full of character and charm.
Check in was quick and after receiving our key went up to room 14. Lovely room with a connecting door to a second bedroom with bunk beds in. Room was stylishly decorated and furnished with an equally stylish bedroom suite which included a large comfortable bed, wardrobe, drawer’s chairs and bedside cabinets which all were in keeping with the character of the hotel. Room also supplied with glasses, kettle, plenty of tea, coffee and milk.
Dining room had a top class restaurant feel to it. I had the black pudding fritter with poached egg on top and my wife had the pate, both were delicious. For our main meal we opted for the homemade steak pie and the salmon fish cakes, yet again delicious served with hand cut chips and garnish.
Unable to manage a sweet we left dining room to sit in bar in front of the large old fire place. Comfortably sitting in large leather chairs with a gin and tonic and a baileys a great way to finish the evening.
Breakfast was served on the first floor in the resident’s dining room. Tea, coffee, juice and cereal were all self-service (so as much as you would like) we also ordered two full English breakfasts (most of which was local produce). We enjoyed them so much that after we left the hotel we went to the local butchers in Rothbury to buy some of their local sausages.
What made the hotel extra special were the attention, service and friendliness of all of the staff. Nothing more could have been done to make our stay more enjoyable.
On checking out of hotel we booked to come back in December we enjoyed it that much.
After leaving hotel we had a walk along the beautiful Rothbury river bank, then through the lovely town itself.
Many thanks to Teresa and her staff for giving us a great night away before the onslaught of Christmas.

(Sorry if the review has been to long, but after being a member of trip advisor for many years it’s the first review I have left and so wanted it to be my honest opinion)

Room Tip: Room 14 would be god for familys (two bedrooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
1.9 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Property: The Queens Head
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing