We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Tosson Tower Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tosson Tower Farm
Ranked #2 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose Rothbury as a base for exploring Northumberland and we were extremely fortunate to find this excellent B&B. Stayed in the Millstream barn conversion with our friends downstairs. Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, wonderful views, charming hosts; what more do you need?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Manager at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review . I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the weather this year has been so good for everyone. I hope to see you and your friends another time.
Thank you once again Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
148
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The title says it all ..we've just come back from a week at T.T and it was just lovely. Very comfortable room, thoughtfully equipped,cleaned daily......warm in every sense, spacious, quiet and so welcoming. A huge lounge to relax in.Breakfasts were excellent, eaten whilst we watched the swallows preparing to fly .Thanks to all concerned for helping us to have a much needed relaxing break.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah1506_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for the review - it was a pleasure to have you both staying and look forward till you return
Take care
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely and peaceful. Delightful accommodation. Stayed in The Millstream in the barn conversion. Beautiful room very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good served in the conservatory overlooking great countryside. Our first visit to this area but hopefully not the last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perks112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and breakfasts. This is a wonderful area to explore and I hope to see you another time.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My parents, wife and I stayed in the extension with courtyard, a bit off the main house, in two very nicely appointed rooms. This was perfect for us as we seemed to have the building all to ourselves and it was like self renatl accomodation but with all the convenience of a B&B.

Our building included a large lounge with a card playing table which I believe Anne - the proprietor - may have arranged especially for us after a casual remark we made about us intending to play Bridge when we stayed (if this was the case, THANK YOU!) - it was used every evening and it came in especially useful one day when we were rained out!

The rooms were super - very tastefully decorated with handmade furniture. Rooms had a cornered bath and shower and nice views. We didn't watch TV but it had a decent sized TV with many channels.

A few minor quibbles - our bed had a big gap where the pillows would slide down in the night (this had to be rectified by stuffing a towel down it) and our bed was a bit "springy". We actually think one of the springs may have been broken on my wife's side of the mattress.

The door was also quite stiff to close in the bathroom but was no bother.

Breakfast was a real highlight of our stay - the staff were very friendly and we ate every morning in a conservatory overlooking the fields and sheep. Very good quality bacon and sausages (from a farm 12 miles away I believe as they only have sheep themselves) and the choice was superb (craster kippers, vegetarian etc) and we really liked that you could mix and match so easily.
The freshly cut fruit was also great.

Location wise - was really super. Lots of nice walks near by and we enjoyed exploring Rothbury.

For those travellers who are regrettably tied to their business phones like we were, the B&B does have internet access but at the moment of writing only in the main house. Anne did mention that this would be extended to the other parts in the future. That would have been really great as we did have to trudge over to the main house in the rain a few times when we needed to check for an important email or look something up - not a big deal but would be an appreciated feature in future.

Overall though a really, really recommended place and we wouldn't hesitate in going back there for our next trip. Overall 4.5 stars - with a better mattress, an easy 5 stars.

Thanks to all for a very memorable stay and we hope to back soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearAlarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Sunday, Monday night in this room. I was on my fishing break. Lovely room and excellent service as usual. Best breakfast as well. I would reccommend this farm stay to anyone coming up to Northumberland.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always a pleasure to see you and I expect you may be back for the October fishing?
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thoroughly recommended! Easy parking. Superb room - comfortable in the extreme and equipped with everything one could possibly need. Lovely location, peacefully set in the heart of the Northumberland countryside, yet with easy access to many tourist spots - Alnwick, Berwick on Tweed, Bamburgh, Cragside etc. - even Edinburgh. Great breakfasts in a room at the rear of the house, with a superb view across a delightful river valley with blue hills beyond. We received a very warm welcome and a fresh brewed pot of tea with biscuits on our arrival, and felt instantly at home. There are several excellent places to enjoy an evening meal within a short distance - all conveniently listed for guests in an information booklet in the bedroom. The owner kindly made a booking for us at one of them on our arrival and it was so good that we went there again the following evening! We really could not fault this wonderful B&B and we shall return again next year.
Geoff and Anya F

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Marie and I are really pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay and hope your next visit can be longer!
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our party of four, travelling around Britain via Aviemore on motorbikes used Tosson Tower as our penultimate stop on our way home to Hampshire. We had been delayed due to traffic hold ups and arrived much later than planned.

Almost. Before we had got of our bikes Ann (the owner) had come out to greet us, introductions over we were shown to our rooms which were in the old house, I am over six foot tall and as Ann warned had to duck to miss the doors.

Our room was a very comfortable size with ample space to move around, a full size double bed, full size wardrobe, dressing table and various tables and chairs complete with two bed side cabernets completed the picture. Rest full decor and quality furnishings gave the room a realy friendly, warm atmosphere, full of character. The ensuite was also top quality with little touches like "soft close" loo seat and pump bottles of hand and body wash on the side, a good sensible sized shower cubicle, again completed with a full range of very good quality towels.

With advise from Ann we went into town for our meal and returned ready for a good nights sleep which, as I suspected was all but guaranteed. So very quiet and such a comfortable bed and pleasant atmosphere almost made it I possible to have a "bad night".

We awoke fully refreshed and ready for breakfast, what a sight to behold, the view from the conservatory where breakfast is served is spectacular with views across the rolling hills of Northumberland National Park. All of us had the full English again only the best ingredients were used, local sausage, farm eggs, local black pud, mushrooms and beans, finished with toast and pots of percolated coffee.

One of our party is wheat intolerant, as soon as this was mentioned an alternative toast was offered, something that we had not had offered in any other establishment.

Tosson Tower would make an excellent base for exploring the area, if we are ever in the area in the future with a view to staying more than the one night this would be our first choice for our accommodation.

Our sincere thanks to Ann for her friendly, professional welcome and service.

David Cousins
Hampshire.

Room Tip: If it is character you are looking for , ask for a room in the old house, I suspect the new building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbageno1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I can only say Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. Marie and I enjoyed having you all to stay and if you are ever in the area again look forward to seeing you!
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
10.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
677 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tosson Tower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosson Tower Farm

Property: Tosson Tower Farm
Address: Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tosson Tower Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifull countryside with the most stunning views in the heart of Northumberland. En-suite rooms with king-size beds, goose down duvets and plump pillows for a restful nights sleep. Breakfast is a lavish affair with an emphasis on fresh local produce including farm eggs and Craster Kippers. Try our new Millrace accommodation with "sleigh beds," comfortable large guests lounge and a courtyard garden with fish pond and fountain to sit by. Near to N.T. Cragside, Wallington Hall and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. FREE FISHING on River Coquet. Excellent area for walking with lots of walks straight from the farm house. Lovey pubs and restaurants for lunch or dinner close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tosson Tower Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosson Tower Farm Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing