We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Coquetvale hotel over a very cold Easter weekend. Our experience was excellent and no-one should be put off booking by some of the less kind reviews on the site.

The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Alnwick Castle and Garden, Cragside House and Garden and many other interesting attractions, The roads around Rothbury would be excellent for motorcycling and we intend to return on motorbikes at a future date to explore these further in better weather, Rothbury itself is a lovely little village with good pubs and a number of excellent tea shops. We found all the locals to be exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Our room (room 6) and en-suite bathroom was spacious, spotlessly clean and well furnished. The décor may be a little dated but is clean and what I would expect from a 3 star hotel. The shower fitting was wall mounted and although a little low on pressure was up to the job. Again, what I would expect from a 3 star. The bed was comfortable and the linen was fresh and clean. Pillows were excellent. A well stocked (and re-stocked) hospitality tray was provided.

Breakfast was exceptionally good - fresh, tasty, local produce and plenty of it. Evening meals taken in the Italia Plus restaurant were excellent and well priced.

Other people have mentioned the steep and uneven car park and I agree there are a few potholes and the car park is on a slope but nothing unmanageable and no worse than many our A roads around the UK.

The best thing about the Coquetvale Hotel though is the staff. They were unfailingly friendly, welcoming and helpful, Nothing is too much trouble and we felt relaxed and at home throughout our stay.

We will definitely return to the hotel in future as we enjoyed our break so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    263
    77
    28
    22
See reviews for
91
467
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel on recommendation from a friend...we were greeted by Lynda who was pleasant, she showed us to our rooms the superior suite and the loft suite...the superior room was very spacious and clean with en suite bathroom that had a corner jacuzzi bath and shower with beautiful soft white bath and hand towels, however the bed had a dip in that meant you rolled into the middle of it and it was very squeaky!

The loft room with en suite was nicely decorated with modern touches, very clean but very cold the hotel had supplied a very small heater that kept cutting out leaving the room very very cold, when we mentioned this to a staff member he said "ah yeah it does cut out to stop it over heating" (there was no chance of it over heating as the room was so cold) and he basically left it at that. The bed was comfortable but had a very strange angle to it, it was as though the foot of the bed had been lifted so you felt like you were lying on a slope. Well stocked but over priced mini bar.

Breakfast
Very good selection, excellent quality sausage and bacon. Would recommend the cooked breakfast one of each item on the plate just enough to start the day off.


The restaurant
Well what a disappointment! We had been looking forward to eating here after reading the reviews, the starters were very nice however all I can say about the main meal was that it was mediocre and certainly let this experience down.

The staff
The 4 members of staff that we met were all very friendly and spoke to us.

Would I stay here again ? No.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 28-30th March and our stay included breakfast.
On arrival, the hotel does not exactly have great 'curb appeal' from the outside but has plenty of parking immediately outside the front door as well as on the main road. We booked a superior double room and first impressions were good. It was a huge room with great views looking over the village and beyond. There was a 2 seater leather settee at the end of the bed. The bed was 2 singles joined together, and surprisingly very comfy, but the pillows were too soft for our liking. On closer inspection the room was a little dated and there were some cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. The carpet was a little thread bear in places. The bathroom was huge with both a bath and shower, again certain things could be improved - never known wallpaper in a bathroom, so it was beginning to look a bit tired and tatty around the edges. Personally, I think gold plated fittings don't work and soon begin to look old and dated. The shower could certainly do with an update.
On our 1st night we had chosen to eat in the very popular Italian restaurant. This without question was superb. There was a good choice of menu and it was reasonably priced. The restaurant is very popular with locals as well as resident's and you definately have to book.
The breakfast was very good, and you had a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts that you helped yourself to. You could also choose a full Northumbrian cooked breakfast, but the chef would make whatever you fancied.
We chose this hotel because of it's close proximity to the National Trust property Cragside House, which is only a mile and half away.
We booked through booking.com and thought the hotel was good value for money for the price paid. It just needs a little bit of TLC in places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 15/16 march 2013 on a groupon deal, we took our spaniel Willow which costs a mere £10 extra! Our welcome was warm and friendly they welcomed Willow with a fuss. The room was lovely and clean with an en suite bathroom, this was a bit tired and needed a lick of paint but clean and we didn't really mind. The hotel itself needs a bit of tlc but The staff were all friendly and did not worry that willow had out her dirty paws on the bed which we apologised for. The Italian restaurant in the hotel had good food and was brought to our room as we thought the dog might bark if we left her. The party in the restaurant was a bit noisy on Saturday night but we just turned the tv up! a great weekend in a nice hotel for a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bramz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our short break courtesy of Groupon including two nights b/b and a bottle of wine on arrival, was well worth the £100 we paid including a Friday night. However there were a diverse range of issues which undermined our visit.

Positives
Food was outstanding including the two evening meals we took on site, and was cooked precisely the way you wanted it. If you can tackle the full breakfast good look to you. I was lucky to see another guest tucking in and I ordered a half portion; more than enough for me.

Staff were very attentive and our request for another duvet was met with a swift response.

Negatives
The car park is too small but presumably the property was constructed in the days of horse and cart. The desk is rarely manned and there appears to be a skeleton staff?

However our major disappointment was our room, number 3. The kettle flex did not reach the plug from the cabinet so we had to put it on the floor-health hazard? Despite the room literature stating we could receive Sky News we could not access this channel.

The room was cold and two beds had been pushed together.

The bathroom was not up to the standard we experience elsewhere. There was mould on the bath side and the "shower" was a basic attachment to the taps with no shower screen. When the "shower" was used the bath leaked and there was a puddle next to the door.

The fan from the adjacent bathroom was like a brass band, so we were disturbed at all hours.

We are in a recession but businesses still have to move forward,. We would of course return but only in a much better room. The stairs would be a major issue if you have mobility issues, since there is no lift.

The Groupon literature is at best misleading as it states the accommodation is a "classic double or twin room"; however the hotel website uses totally different terminology to describe the accommodation . If you go, avoid room 3.

.

Room Tip: Go for the best rooms, but these could involve climbing several flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland, uk
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a groupon deal. Upgraded to a loft suite. Location of hotel is great. 2 mins from town + numerous walks/attractions near by. It's in an elevated position so we had nice views from our window.
The building itself is very impressive. Huge inside, wide corridors + beautiful decor. Staff very friendly + helpful.
The room was very nice. Good size, nice furnishings + a very comfortable bed. Plenty of storage space, tea + coffee making + a nice seating area. Bathroom also a good size + had seperate bath + shower.
If I had to find fault, I would mention that our room was very hot, with no way of turning down the radiator. We slept with the bedroom + bathroom window open all night. Unfortunately there was an issue with the drainage from the shower, which management were aware of, so you had to be very quick or risk an overflow!
Breakfast was good, with the usual selection of breads, cereals, yoghurt + fruit as well as cooked breakfasts.
We also dined in the Italian restaurant. Again, very nice + staff coped well on a very busy Saturday night.
I would recommend this hotel. One point to mention, not good for anyone with poor mobility as lots of stairs to climb.

Room Tip: Alnwick room is a good size, with nice views from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiewoo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My parents had bought my boyfriend and I two nights at this hotel for a nice relaxing weekend away. The had kindly upgraded us to the Premiere Loft Room, specifically we were staying in the room Bamburgh. The room was beautiful with gorgeous views of both the village and the surrounding countryside. We dined in the main restaurant on the first night and ordered room service for the second night as the food was delicious as well as surprisingly cheap. We spent the majority of our second day in the room, simply watching films and relaxing. Our only issues were based upon our discomfort during the night due to the heating being quite high and what appeared to be the staffs discomfort at how young we were. The majority of other guests seemed to be a lot older and as a couple of two twenty year olds I felt we perhaps weren't expected. However the hotel was fantastic and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,249 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing