We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff were a delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Staff were a delight”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our walking group and had a great time. Our room was clean and had been redecorated. The bed was a normal double and we would have liked a king but was not a major problem. The bathroom did not have a bath just a shower and was a little dark and dated but clean. The towels were lovely - pure white and soft. The food was of a very good standard and the staff were delightful. Nothing was too much trouble for them even though they were very busy.
I would certainly recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: If required ask for a bath and/or a king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquetvale_Manager, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and for sharing it on tripadvisor. Our staff are certainly the major asset of the hotel and do make a difference. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    263
    77
    28
    22
See reviews for
91
467
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our stay in Rothbury was one night of a four day tour of Northumberland. The Coquetvale delivered on all fronts. Rooms are spacious and well furnished. The restaurant was a special treat - we were there on a Saturday night and it was buzzing with both hotel guests and locals enjoying excellent food in a charming dining room. The staff were exceptional -welcoming and helpful from start to finish. Do not be deterred by intial impressions as you drive in - a coat of paint is needed on the outside but once inside everything is absolutely as it should be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2012

On holiday september 2012.Great place to eat. I love the dining room, the decor. The staff are always attentive, but they do not intrude. It is like a normal italien restaurant in Italy, with all the family. Our family was very pleased with the fillet steaks, the prawns and the ice cream. Also had musssels, which were gorgeous and fresh, a taste from the sea, and the sea bass was lovely too.Just wish i had more room for a dessert.I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Rothbury.That was our 8th visit in two years of holidays to this lovely part of the world.We hope to be making a return visit to the Italis plus !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, Staffs
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lovely comfortable hotel. Very large room and bathroom ( Room 2). The staff were all really helpful, but the star of the show was Gina, so friendly - and nothing was too much trouble for her. You must eat in the Italian restaurant - what excellent food, much more than just a standard Italian restaurant. I even asked for something that wasn't on the menu - and it was cooked for me without any hesitation.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscardog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel and it's a great base for discovering the North East. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff friendly, helpful and professional. We dined in the Italian restaurant on the first night and the food was superb. The second night we opted for room service, chosen from the main menu, and the food was just the same quality. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of selection and cooked to order. Just a couple of points, if you're planning to watch the TV, digital hasn't yet arrived in Rothbury so you've a choice of 4 channels with poor reception. Also there was a party of diners on the Saturday night and the muffled noise went on for a while. These things aside we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Bamburgh room for 5 days and ate in every night. The food was absolutely brilliant, whatever we chose from the menu it was excellent, the mussels the best I ever had and that has taken 28 years beat the best before that. The staff always friendly and very helpful. We would recommend Coquetvale to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is the first time we have visited Northumberland. The hotel was warm and friendly, the staff very welcoming and the restaurant food excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly stay here again - and intend to! We had a double room which was comfortable and quiet.

Graham and Pat Tyrrell

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,247 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing