We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent second time around”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent second time around”
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Our return visit to the Orchard House was as excellent as our first. Visiting in January during the winter months was very warm and cosy with the log fires being lit. Standards of service and attention to detail were excellent. After a long walk in the Cheviots it was nice to return to a long soak in the bath with my "Bath Bliss" menu.... Will definitely return and recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flinstonegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My sister and I were greeted with a glass of chilled bucks fizz, and had a nice informal chat with the owner's wife about what we wanted to do for the weekend. We then found we'd been given a upgrade and were shown to our beautiful traditional georgian room - the Blue Room. I'd also booked a 'deluxe package' - with fruit, sweet canapes, newspaper etc - and the mini flapjacks & brownies seemed to be constantly topped up! The decanter of sherry in the room was also a fab bonus! As were the honesty bar and dvd's to watch.

The breakfast was beautiful, and again, potentially never-ending, and the staff were just lovely. The only slight downside is that the village itself is very quiet (and lacking in nice restaurants/ bars!), and you have to drive a short distance to get to somewhere a little more 'happening' - Alnwick is beautiful, as is the Cragside walk.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina_Lee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Agree with 99% of previous comments about this place. We stayed in the blue room for two nights - cosy with a nice sofa area to chill out after a day in the outdoors.

Great service, nice breakfast .... hard to fault really.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EboracumYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Orchard house is a lovely guest house in a lovely, quiet part of Northumberland.Lovely deco throughout, nice staff and good breakfasts.The blue room is lovely, typical of the era ie uneven floors etc (much like my own house :-) ) The bathroom is nice however i have one minor complaint about the shower, limescale on the head and water going everywhere making it a little dangerous on leaving the bath ! Those who may have diifficuly getting in and out of baths i would choose another room!
Overall the stay was nice and peacefull in a lovely B&B!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishsprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The owner and staff of Orchard House try very hard to ensure that every guest has a special stay. It may look more expensive than some other B&Bs, but it is definitely worth it - it has been awarded 5 stars by the AA, no doubt due to the luxurious bedrooms and bathrooms, the extra treats, and the personable service.

There is a good choice for breakfast: smoothie of the day, various fruit juices, teas and filter coffee, with homemade cereals and a variety of hot options such as boiled eggs and 'soldiers', scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and veggie breakfast.

When looking for Orchard House, be aware that it is not directly on Rothbury High Street but in an elevated position overlooking the main road.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerlinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We were very pleased indeed with Orchard House you read so many reviews that do not materialise when you get there, but Orchard House lived up to all our expectations. From the moment we arrived until our departure we were spoiled, tea and fresh fruit on our arrival, chocolate treats in the evening. Graham and sfaff could not do enough for you. We would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Mr&Mrs Lyons Stockton-on-Tees.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicklyons183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guiseley
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Only booked this B & B on line, 12 hours before arrival, and really have no complaints. Had just joined National Trust and wanted to visit Cragside, so looked on internet for nearest accommodation for one night only as from Leeds, travel to Rothbury, visit to Cragside, and return to Leeds, was to much in on day. Booked with hotels.com and received £20 reduction. Only complaint, for what purports to be 5* accommodatoin, was state of decoration of hall, stairs and landing - there were notices saying that they were in the process or redecoration, but would have thought redocation for a 5* estsblishment would have been done when closed. However, room was very nice, albeit ensuite was outside the room, but this did not bother us for one night only.
Best touches were.... bucks fizz and heated flannel on arrival, and the porridge for breakfast was best I've ever had.
Yes... for a late booking, this was excellent, and as Northumberland is not renowned for cosy country inns which would be our first choice, we can thoroughly recommond Orchard House.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leoleodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing