We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
teesside
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed January 26, 2007

we stayed at the orchard house in january with our 6 month old son and could not have stayed anywhere better!
As mentioned in other reviews Graham is an exceptional host and nothing is too much trouble.
As we were the only guests in the hotel we were upgraded to the blue room which is total luxury.
The attention to detail is a great feature of a stay here, and we had a totally relaxing couple of days
Rothbury itself is alovely place to wander around and you are surronded by beatiful countryside and coastline should you wish to explore further.
We will definitely return in the near future!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babyjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    65
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
301
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

We only stayed at this lovely house for the one night but it was truly memorable stay
Graham greeted us on arrival with hot towels and fresh orange juice which he served to us in the lounge which was immaculately furnished, though not to make you feel that you wouldnt dare touch anything
The room we stayed in was probably the smallest in the house as it was the only room availlable for one nights stay though not at all cramped but needless to say it was still furnished to a very high contemporary standard, there was fresh fruit, a plate of petit fours and the bed was turned down for us when we came back in later that night, absolutley no expense spared in the ensuite shower room
We were given our own keys and told to come and go as we pleased
The breakfast was served again in a very pleasant room with the best laid table I have ever seen, no attention to detail spared and the breakfast itself was another delight, already on each table was freshly prepared fruit, it looked too good to eat but was lovely and refreshing
This is truly an exceptional bed and breakfast hotel, good luck Graham

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnygirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2007

This is a brilliant find and well worth a visit. The attention to detail is second to none and Graham was very friendly and accommadating. From the minute we arrived we felt most welcome. The rooms are very comfortable and we would recommend anyone to stay here. We will definately visit again.

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nadine-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed here after reading several Trip Advisor reviews. I can truly say that this is one of the best hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The attention to detail, the little extras like sherry, fresh grapes, little pastries and a French press (for coffee) in the room were wonderful. And the breakfast was to die for! I only wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights!

We have stayed in many fine hotels and traveled on the Queen Mary II and The Orchard House surpassed all of them!

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — That we could not stay longer.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

I visited the orchard house in rothbury for the very first time and the warmest welcome awaited us.

Graham the owner has an attention to detail second to none.

The Amethyst room is exceptional with nice details like fresh fruit, welcome snacks and a sherry decanter and even fresh single stem roses by the bed.

breakfast is the best I have had in a hotel with fresh bread, organic eggs and local sausage and bacon and I counted at least eight choices of fruit juice.

Graham and his team look after you so well you do not want to go home.

  • Liked — The facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask Graham to book your resturants
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2006

This was our first trip to Northumberland and not knowing the area at all we had to do some research in finding somewhere to stay. The Orchard House appeared to stand out from other accomodation that we looked at and once there, we could understand why.
Our room was furnished to a high standard and very comfortable. We appreciated the little extras - dressing gowns, sherry, and real milk for our first cup of tea of the day. No plastic cartons here that you struggle to open and then end up spraying most of it up the wall!
The breakfast was superb, an excellent selection which was presented well and very tasty.
This was a four star find with a very homely feel. Graham and his team made us very welcome.
We loved our stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacqueline20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing