We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchard House
Ranked #2 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here as a stop over from a visit to Scotland. It was just what we needed after the long drive. We were greeted by Audrey the Manager who could not be any more helpful. We cannot believe someone on here has complained about the hospitality (free bucks fizz and hot towels) it was a nice touch and well needed after our long drive! You just can't please some people! Audrey showed us to our room and we were surprised at how immaculate it was considering the price we paid. TV and DVD player available and bath robes! We had a lovely sized room all modernised. Shower was lovely and the robes were so relaxing when we were watching our DVD which were provided from downstairs. Lots of bars nearby and pub meals. A chip shop / Chinese next door too. Our breakfast in the morning was FANTASTIC! We cannot moan about a thing and would recommend this to any couples wanting a quiet night away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

very good bed and breakfast, excellant service, very good breakfast using local food staff very helpful, rooms have everything needed including little extras, umbrella, shoehorn bottled water,fruit, chocs hairdrier,bathrobes and lots of toileties which were replaced each day. wealth of knowledge re eating out and places to visit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthurdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for a night on a Groupon deal. It was a lovely place with lots of lovely extra touches. Audrey was really welcoming on arrival, despite us turning up quite late, offering us a glass of bucks fizz and a hot towel each as well as telling us anything we needed to know and booking a table for us at a pub for dinner (one which we had looked up and which she also highly recommended) before showing us to our room. Our room was lovely with everything we needed except the information file (a replacement was provided when we asked for it in the morning, since we needed the wi-fi code). Lovely toiletries and a delightful touch of a bowl of apples and some small chocolates as well as a good tea selection and fresh coffee with a cafetiere. Breakfast was also lovely although the cooked breakfast portions (other than the Full English) were quite small - I suspect most people prefer smaller portions but we'd been out on a big walk the day before and had another planned that day.

The only problem we had during our stay was the location of the plug sockets. We were in a room on the top floor and these were all placed in the skirting board or just above it (with the skirting board then sticking out too much below it) so that all our equipment that needed charging couldn't be plugged in - anything that had a cable coming out of the bottom of the plug didn't fit into a socket. We had to do an entire tour of sockets of the room to find one that we could squeeze the kettle plug into! Something for them to think about next time they are decorating and, in the meantime, some 2/3-way sockets or extension leads to change the position of the sockets would be helpful. Oh, and the room nextdoor's toilet made a loud noise whenever it was flushed which our neighbours sadly did several times throughout the night, waking us up numerous times. Perhaps ours was a room to avoid (top floor, front, ensuite if you turn right at the top of the stairs)!

Overall a super welcoming and hospitable night though.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the ensuite at the front right (as you reach the top of the stairs) on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ammiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break at this hotel on a KGB deal. We enjoyed a warm welcome with a friendly greeting and a glass of Bucks Fizz. Lovely place - clean and comfortable room and good breakfast. Nice touch was a fridge in dining room where guests could take a jug of milk for their hospitality trays - so much nicer than the mini cartons of UHT. Would certainly reccommend and return. Ideal for a visit to Gragside.

Room Tip: The "Deals" are for the standard rooms on the second floor but still of a very high standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean3445stephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Hey folks I like to keep things short and sweet, if you want 1st class then stay here its so nice everything about it is perfect and Audrey looks after your every need and does a brilliant job. The room was lovely and very quiet the breakfast was tip top. If you want to eat out I suggest the queens head all homemade food. We will be back to this B&B for sure and if your thinking of staying in rothberry then you MUST stay here its got everything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chater86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very impressed! From the moment we arrived and were greeted with a hot towel and bucks fizz, everything was lovely. the recommendation to eat at the 'Three Wheat Sheaves' in the next village proved to be a great hit - we went twice in two days!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank JAG26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A lovely B&B. Audrey is the perfect hostess. Everything was lovely, from the bucks fizz on arrival to the chocolates in the room to the excellent choice at breakfast. Clean, comfortable room, the bathroom was spotless, soft white towels, comfy bed. A very well stocked tea and coffee tray in the room, with fresh milk in the fridge, good selection of toiletries, and a fresh bottle of mineral water by the bed each night. A very old house, and still some refurbishment going on but absolutely nothing to be concerned about. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Rothbury is a nice little town, and if you stay, The Queens Head restaurant is excellent for dinner, but you might like to book as they do get busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOVETRAVEL60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing