We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very cold stay”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very cold stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for two days in a very cold March. Our room was cold and the breakfast room icy - no heating at all. There is a nice lounge which has an open fireplace but throughout our stay the fire was never lite which was a shame as it would have been very welcoming. Breakfast was good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkiewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamst, Manager at The Orchard House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your review Please accept our sincerest apologise that you felt cold during your stay. It is a shame you did not speak to any of the staff as this is so easily rectified - could it be that the radiator in your room was not either on or on a low seating ? The heating system itself is on and the individual control are at the radiators in the room as are the towel rails etc in the bathrooms.Please forgive us if this was not properly explained on check in. Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Just back from two nights, courtesy of Groupon. It had been about 4 years since our last trip. Other than a little renovation work in the hall it was as we remembered a perfect get away. Our room was warm with Everyting you need. Loved the bespoke chocolates. Breakfast was, wonderfull and the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencerhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed over with my partner for one night for my birthday the hotel location was ideal the rooms were lovely and clean the staff were fab could not of been more helpful and friendly will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chirton23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've just returned from a weekend at The Orchard House with six of my friends we did a 'full house rental' as we were in Rothbury for a wedding. As per previous comments, it is a lovely house and the staff ( Audrey and other lovely ladies who made us breakfast) are very freindly and couldnt do enough for us. A whole hosue rental also gives the extra privacy that we loved, brekfast in PJ's! Great location, lovely rooms, great personal little touches, brilliant brekkie. Highly recommended. We enjoyed it so much we intend to do it again :-)

Room Tip: The blue room is fabulous, I had the amethyst, but to be fair, all the rooms are lovely and to a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittkat401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We've just enjoyed two nights at the Orchard House on a Groupon deal. I can only endorse previous reviewers' comments - everything was very good, be it welcome, comfort, friendliness, guest care.

A very small negative comment is that it would have been nice to have had the offer of fresh fruit at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a lovely Easter break, greeted with bucks fizz, hot flannel and a smile. Room warm and very very comfortable with little brownies and fresh fruit and an extra heater, lovely extra with all this cold weather, much appreciated. It's a beautiful place, great location, 12 miles to Bamburgh, will be returning again later this year.

Room Tip: No need, the street is quiet and from what we noticed all rooms are wonderfully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful place, in the main street only yards from the nearest shop and friendly pubs.
We were met on arrival by Audrey the house keepr with 2 glasses of bucksfiz and 2 warm hand towels to freshen up, She advised a few walks and local places to eat which was very helpful.
We stayed in the double en suit room at the top of the building, the room was very clean and had some lovely touches, bottled water, fruit, small brownies as well as tea and coffee.
Breakfast was lovely too, and again Audrey was very friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to much trouble. All in all a very relaxing over night stay which is just what we wanted to get away dfrom the hustle and bustle of work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve0ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
9.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing