We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchard House
Ranked #2 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for one night with friends to do some walking in the area.
was met by Graham with bucks fizz and warm towels. Upgraded free of charge to the Lauren suite, which was first class. Rooms oozed with luxury, everything was to a very high standard.
Lovely village, couldnt ask for more

Room Tip: there all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Have just stayed for 3 nights with my Husband, what a warm friendly 1st class establishment this is. Stayed in the blue room and everything from bed to bathroom was of a high standard. The welcome of Buck's Fizz and a warm cloth most appreciated after a long journey. We have recommended Orchard House to friends and family.

Room Tip: we chose a suite but everyone we spoke to at breakfast seemed happy with their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jredfernBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We enjoyed a comfortable stay at Orchard House while walking St Oswald's Way. The room facilities were of a high standard and the heated bathroom floor was an ideal way of drying wet walking boots. Sorry not to have been offered the bucks fizz that other guests enjoyed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Orchard House in the Amethyst Room for one night. We were greeted with Bucks Fizz and warm towels before being shown to our room. The bottled water and tray of treats was a welcome treat. Next time we go I'll make use of the offer of candles etc for my soak in the bath. Nothing seemed too much for the Housekeeper who made us feel extremely welcome and recommended an excellent pub for tea, which was fantastic - The Three Wheat Heads in the next village. Breakfast was great, perfect runny boiled eggs for me and a fry up for the other half! Any real ale and pub fans should make the effort to visit The Star at Netherton - a very different but quirky personal experience, we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma_D13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We came to the Orchard House in Rothbury for 5 nights. We couldn't find it at first, but this was completely our own fault as after visiting the very helpful tourist information we found that we had parked practically outside!
We arrived early to a warm greeting from Audrey the housekeeper who presented us with a refreshing glass of bucks fizz. She asked if we had any special requirements and was more than happy to go out and purchase anything that we required that she didn't have. I must say that this goes far beyond our expectations and in the past we've just gone without cereal in some places due to the lack of soya milk. Also, she asked when we would like breakfast! We've never known this! Usually we stay in places that operate a very strict times. Finally we were given the low down on the local restaurants- plenty of places to try. The staff clearly understand the needs of their guests as Audrey also offered to supply plates should we just want to bring an evening snack back from the local shop.
We stayed in the amethyst room which was just the right size, beautifully clean and well decorated. Upon arrival there was a plate of flapjack to enjoy. The room has an enormous tv which was great for watching the Olympics on! Little things has been thought of like a muddy shoes tray to place your shoes in after a days walking. The toiletries in the bathroom were regularly topped up, a fresh bottle of water was placed by the bedside every day, coffee was ground not instant and fresh milk was available from a fridge downstairs. We were even told we could place our own things in the fridge if required.
The hotel boasts excellent free wifi for guests which was great for uploading pictures to the Internet when we returned for a busy day.
Breakfast had plenty of choice and the eggs were poached to perfection. The fruit platter was delicious and colourful
We had a fantastic time at the orchard house and would recommend it to anyone wanting a stay in Northumberland. It's in a brilliant location for almost everything you could want to do.
For a five star establishment, Orchard House gives the impression that the 5 star rating comes quite naturally to them.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jpreston27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the luxury room on the top floor. Very comfortable bed and modern contempary style bathroom. However it was the little touches that made it special, for examaple the glass of bucks fizz and hot towel on arrival to the fresh fruit and flapjacks in the room. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and a special mention to Audrey, who is fantastic and nothing is to much trouble. Lovely breakfasts in a wonderful house. Will definatly stay again at Orchard House next in Northumbria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Having just read the above review I felt I had to comment on my stay. We had a wonderful and delightful stay at Orchard House, Both the host Graham, and his team of staff were more than helpful, we found them all to be extremely warm and friendly.The room we stayed in on the top floor was lovely, and certainly didn't have any problems with the bed or mattress. The staff were very courteous and friendly and constantly asked if there was anything else we needed, and if so we only had to ask. Our breakfast was lovely with no complaints. Had I read the above review before booking i would, perhaps, have booked elsewhere, thankfully all the reviews I read were positive. Personally, I thought the bucks fizz, hot towels and nibbles were a really lovely personal touch. I would recommend Orchard House to anyone. I'm sure had we had any complaints, then we could have raised them with the Housekeeper, who I was led to believe is in charge when the owner is away. Personally, for me whether the owner was there or not was neither here nor there, as long as the service was as good, which it was, in my opinion as long as the housekeeper is able to resolve any issues then I don't think there is any problem. I have not stayed in many hotels/guesthouses where the owner is there every breakfast time.
This is just based on my personal experience, but as the saying goes "You can't please everyone all of the time". If you book you can make your own mind up but I'm sure you will thoroughly enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mol01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing