We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place to stay”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Orchard House is undoubtedly a charming, delightful place to be. We enjoyed 2 nights there in July, but it felt like 4 such was the tranqulity of the place. Met with a glass of Bucks Fizz by Marlene, we were shown to the Red Suite. As we booked last minute we had to change rooms to the Blue Room for night 2. Both rooms were fabulous and I would recommend either, but I have to say the Red Suite had the edge. A whopping, comfy bed, a fabulously HUGE bathtub and a wonderful sitting room views of the beautiful tree lined street. In fact, we loved it so much we elected to stay in and enjoy a take away from a lovely Italian. We ate at our little romantic dining table set for two and spent the rest of the evening listening to clasical music on the Bose stereo on our comfy squashy sofas which we had all to ourselves in our suite - yes, ALL to ourselves.

It was refreshing not to be faced with the usual "buffet" style breakfast. Instead we choose from a selection of delicious breakfast treats, such as a mango and passion fruit smoothie, scrambled eggs with local smoked salmon on Brioche or porridge with cream and banana. My husband went down the tradtional English breakfast route and I have to say despite not being much of a meat eater, I was a little jealous!

The staff and Graham, the host were charming, helpful and friendly. If I had any criticism it would be that we would have liked some different toast at breakfast...maybe rye bread or spelt, but then we are bread freaks! All in all, we can't wait to return to this charming house which is in the perfect location to enable you to park the car and enjoy the delightful town of Rothbury and it's amazing neighbouring countryside. By the way- eat lunch at The Congregational - they have a delicious original menu.

Room Tip: The Red Room was fantastic. Blue Room excellent. Both had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 400 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed our third stay at The Orchard House last week and I'm pleased to report that the high standards are being maintained by owner and host Graham and his team. We were in the Amethyst Room this time and although it was very comfortable it was a little too warm and we had to leave the window open on the night and use the fan. However, as soon as Graham heard about our temperature issues he gave us a free-standing air conditioning unit which did the trick. The Orchard House has a lovely friendly atmosphere and nice little touches like miniature chocolate brownies and millionaire's shortbread and fresh fruit left in your room. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows almost swallow you up. The bathroom is of a luxury standard with underfloor heating (if needed). Breakfasts are a delightful experience - a good choice of food with use of local high quality ingredients. Lovely cold and fresh fruit juices, porridge, granola, sausages and bacon from the local butchers down the street, and lashings of toast and conserves. Graham is usually around for a chat and has a really good team working for him. Audrey - a local with an Aussie accent having lived over there until fairly recently - was welcoming and helpful with information about what to do and where to eat. We just love Rothbury - a small town which feels like a village and where you get such a warm welcome wherever you go. It was so nice to do our shopping in the row of high street shops like the butchers, bakers, greengrocers and deli rather than pulling up at an out of town supermarket! It is far more personal and satisfying and it is like shopping used to be. The other good thing about Rothbury is the ample free parking in the town centre, a real bonus as we were able to park outside the Orchard House each night. We also stumbled on a new art gallery and cafe next to the Orchard House - The Congregational - which is well worth a visit for the array of local art but also the selection of teas and coffees and yet another warm welcome! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Four of us stayed for a night in this lovely warm and tranquil part of Northumberland, welcome was excellent and the rooms superb. Audrey born locally, but with a strong Australian accent is ever so accomodating, we had a friend who could only use soya and Audrey was only to keen to help. En-suite bathrooms are very luxurious and the breakfast is very hearty, and if you are still wanting more then please ask as the staff are only too willing to keep their guests happy, Graham you have a little gem in Audrey. We stay at a lot of places and very few of them do we return to, but we are already planning our second visit to the Orchard House. Thank you very much once again.

Room Tip: The blue room is for those special occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 787Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

It's all been said. From our greeting by Graham to the moment we left, everything was excellent. Our third visit, and our third stay in the Amethyst Room. The staff are all friendly and breakfast was up to the usual high standard. Looking forward to visit number four!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ericb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted with Bucks Fizz by Graham, the owner, made to feel comfortable straight away. We were on a Groupon voucher but were made to feel as a full paying guest. Room was very comfortable - king size bed in our room, we slept like logs. Great small touches eg fresh fruit, bottles of water (over and above the mandatory tea and coffee) and fresh flowers as a result the room smelt wonderful. Good choice of breakfast options and the staff very friendy.Will deffinately stay again. Appears to be very child frinedly. Great place to stay after a day long visit to Cragside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Groupon deal and extra night.
We were warmly welcomed with a drink on our arrival.
We stayed in the Amethyst room.This was excellent and very comfortable.
The hotel is well situtated on the main street easy access for everything and walks.
Extensive choice of breakfast,'full english' great!!.
Would definitely go again and highly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in Amethyst room, at rear of hotel,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were also treated to a Groupon coupon as a gift from family. The B & B is situated on the main street of this beautiful market town and is being delightfully and sympathetically restored to its former glory by the present owner. We were welcomed with a warm towel and a glass of bucks fizz to refresh us after our journey. Very acceptable on one of the hottest days this year. Our bedroom was on the top floor and described as a standard double. The bed was kingsize, and very comfortable with duck and goose down duvet and pillows. Having delicious nibbles and ground coffee instead of the usual Nescafe was a pleasant surprise. The ensuite was quite small but we were provided with toiletries and fluffly white towels. There was an very good selection of cooked breakfast, my only negative comment is that the options were not clear and there was no yogurt or fresh fruit available (personal choice for breakfast). I did however manage the very good granola and a locally produced sausage sandwich with very little room left for anything else. The staff are friendly and only too happy to show the more expensive rooms which definitely have the WOW factor. The recommended Queens Head Pub was a little disappointing as they had several meals missing from their menu due to being very busy. The comment that they had run out of salad,when the local co-op could most likely have supplied it very quickly, was to say the least perplexing. Overall this was a very pleasant overnight stay which we will no doubt return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller60England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahamst, Owner at The Orchard House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are going to look at our breakfast service as this does seem to cause some confusion. We do not offer a buffet and everything is ordered from the menu and of course you could have had fruit and yogurt however I do fully appreciate that if the menu is not explained properly it can cause confusion with guests not appreciating that they can order as many dishes as they wish and are not restricted to one course. I do hope this did not mar your enjoyment too much and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Orchard House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
16.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Address: High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: $131 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian townhouse has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing