We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Guest House”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in the Lauren Suite and it was lovely to have all of that space to relax and move around in. There are some lovely touches - nice plasma screen TV, Bose music system and the small dining area in the sitting room space that was all nicely laid out.
The building also has some lovely original features and breakfast was lovel using locally sourced quality produce.
However, there were some little niggles, things not quite finished off properly (eg the paint around the ceiling lights in the bathroom) , running out of orange juice on the first morning so we couldn't get any with our breakfast (you would imagine they know how many guests they have staying!).
Overal a nice place that I would recommend for a stay in Rothbury but I would have expected a little better finish for the price and I don't know that I would stay there again if I could find another good guest house in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sc00bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 400 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Received an exceptionally warm welcome from Graham which included a glass of Bucks Fizz and warm towels to freshen up. We were shown to our room (the Blue Room) and entered into the lap of luxury with fresh flowers, fresh fruit, chocolates, sherry, bubble bath and robes all provided as unexpected extras. This place is absolutely fantastic and the service we received could not be faulted - even offering to iron our clothes when we asked for an iron and board!! The breakfast was great and we were always asked if we wanted anything else - it's a wonderful place to get away from it all and just relax - without even taking a step out the door to explore wonderful Rothbury and the surrounding countryside.

Would highly recommend this to anyone and everyone - we'll definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The Blue Room is on the front and some street noise can be heard - not detrimental to us though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koowac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have stayed twice at the Orchard House and have always been bowled over by its lovely charm and the perfect welcome and attention to detail from owner Graham Stobbart. For a start, Rothbury is a lovely village set in the Northumberland countryside with lots of character, a picture postcard main street, a nice selection of shops - butcher, baker, greengrocer etc - and some welcoming and comfortable pubs. It's a good base from which to tour the wonderful countryside and coast of Northumberland - and it is also 10 minutes from Cragside, the former country home of Lord Armstrong, and a great place to spend the day. Orchard House is a bed and breakfast at the top end of the village and there is plenty of parking in the street outside. Graham welcomes you with a Bucks Fizz and some hot towels to freshen yourself up - a really nice touch. The lounge is tastefully done with antique furniture, ornaments and books. We had the Lauren Suite on our second visit and not only do you get a beautiful sitting room and bedroom you also have a large and well-appointed bathroom with free-standing bath, shower and all the little touches to go with it. We had breakfast in our room because the dining room was being decorated at the time and Graham had laid out a table for us in our lounge so we were able to eat breakfast at our leisure. We were asked what time we wanted our food and it arrived bang on time. All the ingredients are locally sourced and there was plenty of it - all cooked to order! There is a sideboard to help yourselves to drinks - and an honesty book to register what you've had. A selection of DVDs are for use if you fancy the night in instead of trying out the local pubs or restaurants - most within walking distance.
We can't speak highly enough of Orchard House and will definitely be returning for our little piece of heaven in the lovely village of Rothbury!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed at this b&b for two nights with my partner after a long drive from Edinburgh.
On arrival we were greated by very friendly staff who gave us bucks fizz and warm towels to freshen up, which was a nice suprise. The rest of the stay was much the same we stayed in the suite which was very spacious and tastefully decorated, few nice touches in room and bathroom was very nice.
Breakfast was fantastic and we chose to have it in are suite which had a separate area for sitting and dining.
Could not falt the place had fantastic time so much so we decided to stop another night.
Only down side to stay is there are no good restaurants within walking distance from b&b. Staff recommended local Italian and kindly made a reservation for us unfortunately the food was not brilliant and would recommened you take a drive to some nearby pubs to dine.
All in all a fantastic place with friendly staff and real attention to detail, would definatly visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owenjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My parents stayed here for 2 nights on a surprise visit at the weekend.They were overwhelmed with the size of the room (it was enormous) bathrobes, slippers and glamourous bathroom. The attention to detail and helfulness shown both prior to booking and during their stay was greatly appreciated.

Ann was extremely welcoming and friendly and had both reccomended and booked a bistro near the river for dinner on arrival for us all.

My father never stopped talking about the sausages served at breakfast and we have promised to send some 'cragside crackers' over to Aberdeen in the future from the local butcher.

What a little gem of a place.

Room Tip: The lauren suite was a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tranquil41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were looking forward to our stay at The Orchard House - especially after reading the great reviews but were sadly disappointed.
Upon arrival there was no-one to welcome us. Place was deserted. We had to search around Sherlock Holmes style and eventually found a mobile number. Had to ring a few times before anyone answered.
Eventually shown to our rooms ( The Lauren Suite ). Accommodation was ok but not 5*. Fruit in room was beyond ripe. DVD player but no sign of any DVDS. TV mounted on wall with the cables hanging down and only four channels and poor reception.
Woken REALLY early (before 7am) by the owner arriving and turning on every appliance in the kitchen ( including washing machine and tumble dryer by the sound of it !). Then talking VERY loudly to staff as they arrived. Think the Lauren Suite is above the kitchen.
Breakfast was ok but had to ask for more toast as 4 half slices not enough for a family - same with drinks. One couple arrived in dining room to be completely ignored and they had to go into kitchen and ask to be served.
Not 5* star service. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caramax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I shared our first anniversary together with a stay here - I used to work in the hotel industry and find some 'boutique' b&b's to have cut corners with the fine details in order to charge more - not here. We stayed in The Lauren Suite which was immaculate. We required champagne which was simply not a problem to be provided for us and the breakfast was superb. This is the first time I have reviewed any place we have stayed and I would obviously highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n16flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
16.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Address: High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: $113 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian townhouse has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing