We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Turks Head
Nearby Hotels
$122
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tosson Tower Farm(Rothbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Head(Rothbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Haven(Rothbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
58
40
15
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
40
15
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomthe pubbeer gardenlovely friendly pubbirthday nightlady servinghot beefprices are reasonablesteak and ale pieon arrivalsofa bedmashshort drivewarm welcomebrilliant staffate herefeel very welcome
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 125 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Disappointed with overall standard. Was billed as a country hotel but is in fact an average pub with some rooms. Comfortable bed and acceptably clean, but very small bathroom and no window in bedroom. Advertised as having WiFi but staff gave us the wrong password and eventually we had to go to neighbouring hotel to get on line. Breakfast was good, but bar in the evening was not welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

I'm sorry you didn't love your stay with us, your issue seems to be mainly with the WiFi our cards were printed incorrectly and this wasn't picked up on for a day or to and for this we apologies. There are some coverage issues- which is fairly normal in such a rural areas combined with our building structure and age. I am however confused that you felt you had to go elsewhere to get on line, as it was on the 2nd morning of your stay over breakfast when this issue was flagged. I sat next to your table and sat with a couple of german guests who were also struggling with this for the same reason, when we realised the error I logged in for them and gave them the correct code, I would have been more than happy do this for you too-as would any of the staff had you made us aware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I booked this place on spec just because we were visiting Hadrian's Wall the following day.

The room was a decent size and although it was above the bar it was not noisy. The bed was comfortable....the bathroom was enormous bit the shower was on,t tiny.....but adequate.

The bar was very busy on a Saturday night but the food was excellent.

I'd recommend it and there is a nice National Trust House and gardens to see in Rothbury too !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thanks for your kind review, we do hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just had a nice weekend in Rothbury stayed at the Turks Head. The welcome was warm and friendly the service was really brilliant. Food was homely and served with a smile by Megan and the girls. They gave a lesson in how to make people feel at home and at ease.
All in all a fine place to spend a few days.
Well done to the team we will be back :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review, I understand your coming back this weekend for the party we're hosting. I look forward to seeing you again, we have added you to our offer's list - also you might want to join our facebook page which keeps everyone informed of our up and coming events.
Look forward to welcoming you back, also are you the couple that sent in the lovely thank you card? Our staff really appreciate it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited the Turks Head on Easter weekend fir 2 nights. Our family of 4 in the patio room anfmd our friends in the garden room. I am making these judgements with our expectations set that this B and B gets a four star rating. Let's start with the positives the staff were friendly on arrival, the room was clean and the beds comfortable. That is probably where the positives finish. The patio room is small and the door to the room opens out straight into the pation/ smoking area for the pub. Not very pleasant for our children, particularly at night when it gets a bit noisier. The room itself was strange to say the least. It was split into two with one small area with a double bed that was pushed up to the wall on one side, a strange single wardrobe affair with curtain pulled across to hide what you hang up, and a plug in wall heater as no central heating. There was also a large stain on the rather cheap beige/brown carpet. This led to the tiniest bathroom I had ever seen. I am not kidding when I say this, think of asmall shower cubicle and times by three, that was it. The washbasin was the size of one of those really annoying ones that is just about big enough to wash your hands and nothing else. The decor was fairly cheap with triton shower, basic toilet and sink and dodgy light fitting and voile curtain affair across a recessed window. It was reminiscent of a student house bathroom where effort had been made but it has all been done on a budget.
This theme continued into lounge area where a really bizarre decision had been made to put a cheap run of kitchen units across one side. At least we now had a better sized sink. Even more bizarre they had soved spare duvets into the kitchen cupboards, not very appealing. The cheap lino did nothing to lift the room and the manky doormat had seen better days. All in all more 2 star than 4. The worst but for us was on the second night when we came back for a shower and between us and our friends cottage. We managed to trip the electrics over 70 times in an hour an a half.when reported to staff we were told that there had been a problem and they were having them fixed in a few weeks time. Not very good in my view as we we here now not in 2 weeks and I was now starting to question how safe the appliances were. The breakfast were adequate but the Tupperware container for cereal was a bit odd for a 4 star. All in all a very strange experience and definitely not the rating that they are being awarded. Maybe the other rooms are 4 star but the patio room is more b and m home stores and wilkinson! See the photos and decide for yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharpes68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

I would like to apologize for the loss of power during your stay. However I feel the discount and refund you accepted was more than ample compensation.
We informed you we had upgraded from a phase 1 to a phase 3 power supply the week running up to your stay, we had no issues prior to your arrival and although we did have some occasion outages in the few months prior , whilst waiting for our upgrade.
The power was tripped 12 times not 70 (we keep records) and the engineers were called out and found it was not an issue with the mains power supply but a simply distribution error they had made on installation of a circuit board which was corrected there and then.

I apologies for the stain on the carpet, which is far from cheap it's pure wool and from house of Fraser, the stain was removed as soon as we were aware of it- it was spilled coffee and the cleaner notified us of this during your stay, however we couldn't remove it during your stay as your carpet would have been wet- so once again we do apologize for this.

And the bathroom is small- however you gain a lounge & kitchen in lieu- which the majority of our customers find a bonus, bearing in mind its a cottage for the same price as the average bedroom only room rate in Rothbury.

Unfortunately you can't please all the people all the time & i'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for one night ex route to the coast. the room was modern clean and quiet. Breakfast was delicious. Bar is lively with good beer and helpful friendly staff. Good location in high street and close to cragside.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Munch-bunch5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Owner at The Turks Head, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thanks so much for your kind review for the Turks Head. We do hope you come back and visit us again and will add you to our offer's list :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews