We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of River Neuk

River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
River Neuk is an historic building, part of the original Armstrong Estate dating back to 1890
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
The Living Room is spacious with character, 32' LDC TV, Wii games console, books and DVDs
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
All the equipment, crockery and cutlery you could possibly need for your self catering holiday.
The Master Bedroom has a stylish double bed, wardrobes and chest of drawers
The second bedroom is a twin and has a single and a large day bed.
The extremely well equipped kitchen includes all modern appliances and a slimline dishwasher
River Neuk is deceptively spacious with it's large entrance hallway
The outside space is landscaped and provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine.
The outside space is landscaped and provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy the sunshine.
River Neuk offers a small secure courtyard, ideal for letting the dog out and increased security.
Plenty of games, cards, DVDs and even a Wii Games Console to entertain the kids!
The stunning riverside views & children's play area - less than a minute walk from River Ne
The beautiful Village centre of Rothbury, River Neuk is just yards from here.
With local views like this River Neuk is the perfect base to discover the Heart of Northumberland.
Great country pubs nearby, with great views from the beer gardens!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Lesle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

River Neuk is a delightful, clean, comfortable, home from home country retreat. On entering you immediately felt at home and soon realise there is everything you could possible want, the owners have paid attention to detail to make it so. A thoughtful welcome hamper and fresh flowers are a lovely touch. Tucked away in the centre of Rothbury with everything you need on the doorstep, a hidden gem. We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work hard to try and make sure our guests have a good experience at River Neuk so we are thrilled to hear you found it a home from home. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and would definitely choose to return again. Thank you again for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jet711897
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time in the cottage at Rothbury. We were lucky to be there for the traditional music festival and enjoyed, for some of the week, glorious weather. Rothbury is an excellent place from which to explore the northern part of Northumbria, both coast and country. River Neuk was the perfect place to them come back to in the evening. I would heartily recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Many thanks for leaving your review. It's great that you caught some of the Rothbury Traditional Music Festival. The festival is a small friendly, community based music event which draws musicians and singers from all over the UK, sharing music and Northumbrian traditions. It takes place over 3 days every July so if you were to return to visit us at the same time in the future you might just catch it again! Thank you once more for your review and also for saying you heartily recommend us to others. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felnomad
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stylish and spacious apartment”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A spacious and nicely furnished apartment in a quiet location right in the middle of Rothbury. The shops are on the doorstep, but because the apartment is tucked away down an alley it's quiet and private. The river, which is a lovely place for an evening stroll is just a few steps away. Parking wan't a problem at all - on the couple of occasions we couldn't park on Church Street by the green, we parked on the other side of the river and came over on the footbridge. We'd definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
We very much appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your time at River Neuk. It is also good to hear you really liked the location and although there is no parking directly outside the property I'm pleased to know this wasn't too much of an inconvenience. As you say, it is usually possible to park close-by and the bonus for us is that being located down a quiet alley there is no traffic noise and we are so close to the river too. Thank you for your review it would be our pleasure to have you return again to our holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caz7250
2 reviews
“Excellent property everything you could want & more!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Fantastic property excellent location with all the amenities you could want & more. Attention to detail is excellent & the lttle extras of fresh flowers & welcome hamper are a very thoughtful touch. would have no hesitation in recommending this property.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2017
I just wanted to say a big thank you for leaving such a great review of River Neuk and for you lovely comments in my guest book. I really do appreciate you taking the time to do that it means such a lot to us. I know you originally only intended to spend a week in Rothbury but loved the area so much you wanted to stay another week and I could not be happier we could accommodate you at River Neuk. The feedback we receive is really important to us to ensure our guests are happy with the service we provide so I am extremely grateful for you doing that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Thank you for your "Amazing" review! We could not be happier to hear how much you liked River Neuk and the surrounding area. We very much appreciate you talking the time to post your review and to recommend us so highly. Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
pamela v
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well designed and equipped - good value”
Reviewed November 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Spacious well designed apartment. Good well equipped kitchen. Only downside is distance between vehicle access and apartment. Has we realised we would have brought 2 moderate sized wheeled cases rather than several smaller bags
Fresh flowers were a thoughtful touch - unless one has a lily allergy!

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotswold2...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

River Neuk was a beautifully equipped,homely cottage.immaculately clean and very spacious.
The welcome basket was much appreciated on our arriival and the fresh flowers. It's a perfect base for exploring all the attractions of northumberland.Rothbury is a lovely village with lots of nice local shops,bakery,butchers,fruit and veg,as well as a coop just across the road.
The local pubs offer a good selection of meals for evenings and lunches.We ate at the Newcastle Hotel and The Queens Head Inn, both of which were very good and has very friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side this time,but we would certainly like to return to explore some more and would definitely like to return to The Neuk.

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
It is always wonderful to hear our guests response to staying at River Neuk and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review it means so much. Thank you also for you kind comments in my guest book and for leaving the cottage so beautifully clean and tidy it was so thoughtful of you. I hope you choose to return sometime in the future it would be a pleasure to have you as our guests again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing