We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

The Congregational Art Gallery and Cafe
Cuisines: British
Description: Art Gallery with a cafe.
Restaurant details
Description: Art Gallery with a cafe.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It's difficult to categorise this restaurant. It's part coffee shop, part art gallery and it serves the most delicious home made soup as well. I call in every time I'm up walking in Rothbury and it's been consistently good. There is a large selection of teas and coffees and the cakes are just lovely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

If you just want a great coffee and cake of scone look nowhere else, also lovely homemade soups. For sandwich or something larger head to bunkhouse

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snitterbeachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful scones!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were enticed in by the sight of scones on the menu, and certainly weren't disappointed. The cafe is a set in a lovely art gallery. The building itself is beautiful, light and airy, and you can admire the art in a completely non-pressured environment whilst you're waiting for your food or drinks. We all had one of the date and cinnamon scones, which were probably the best scones we've ever tasted. Lovely jam too. The staff were very friendly and let us wander off to look at the tea selection at our leisure. The cakes are obviously handmade and they have some really interesting flavour combinations, as well as old favourites. The tea was beautifully served, and very tasty, I can certainly recommend the Grapefruit Black Tea. My mother asked for a slightly weaker coffee and the staff were more than happy to oblige, making a cup that suited her tastes perfectly. It's a great place to chat with family and friends as the tables are far apart from each other, and the nice music means it isn't too echoey, so you don't feel overheard. Spotlessly clean too. Would love to return to try some of the delicious smelling soups!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RachEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, Bucks
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very friendly with top-quality food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here quite by accident as we literally were running out of petrol. The owners were able to find us help but it was also quickly apparent we'd found a special spot. Delicious hand-crafted foods and beverages, local artwork and even some helpful recommendations for the remainder of our travels. Top quality-now we're hoping to pass through Rothbury again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annalisapw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A tranquil Saturday afternoon”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I visited this charming cafe over the weekend. We found the soup to be the best we have tasted whilst eating out. The soup is delicious, filling and wholesome and served with home baked bread. There is a nice selection of cakes and scones all freshly baked and a little different. Try the apricot jam with a scone, delicious, forgot to ask the owner if they sell their own jam. The coffee and the spearmint tea was very nice too . A charming way to while the time in a friendly interesting environment . Reasonable for the quality and experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olivia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Congregational Art Gallery and Cafe also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing