We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & drink”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food & drink”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

On arrival in Rothbury at lunchtime today coming from Hexham on the B6342 we came over the refurbished River Coquet Bridge and we saw a delightful looking cafe that allowed access for dogs. We parked in the centre of Rothbury and we walked a few yards back to the cafe. When we went into the cafe we sat at a nice set of table and chairs made of solid wood and the place was bright and very clean. Me and my wife had jacket potato and salad and a lovely hot drink of latte and tea. While sitting in the cafe we scanned through a book which was on the window cill of Northumberland and Durham and we remembered seeing that type of historic buildings at Beamish Museum a few days earlier. Because we were very relaxed we decided to have another hot drink and a cake to finish having a lovely time in this wonderful cafe. The food and drink was excellent on a day the weather was a bit dreary outside in the lovely village of Rothbury in Northumberland. Me and my wife live just a couple of miles outside Durham City which is about 50 miles away from Rothbury.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    31
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We decided to visit on a rainy winter day and were promptly sat down and seen to by an attentive young waitress who despite our indecision was happy to return a second and even third time.
I chose to have one of the spicy burgers that was competitively priced at under £10. I would have paid more had I known how tasty it was going to be. Good choice of food and drinks. Friendly staff. The only criticism I would give is that the cutlery could be better as it was rather school cantine-esq but that is only a small negative compared with the food quality and friendly staff. Despite being quite far away I shall return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDun34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Tomlinsans is situated just by the river Coquet in the village of Rothbury, Northumberland. I have not used the bunkhouse accommodation but the cafe has become has become a regular drop in for my wife and I.
The menu is quite simple but it is we'll prepared and tasty. The scones, cakes and above all the coffee are to die for. We'll worth a visit.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeffNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We wanted somewhere to eat and sit with our dog. We were all welcomed and the food was amazing it is all clearly homemade using high quality ingredients. The coffee & walnut cake is to die for and the service was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isladawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

There is a very friendly service, very good food and they even provided a bowl of water for my dog. They provide accommodation for walkers and cyclists. I didn't get the chance to try out the bunkhouse because I live too near. I walked here from Lordenshaw car park which had beautiful scenery. The dog is now looking at me, wanting to walk back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank StEllesmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A great café in the centre of Rothbury - very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, a nice welcome and excellent food and attractive décor and in a pleasant setting . Also has Wi-Fi, which is really handy. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Amazing value, great accommodation, friendly and helpful owners and superb breakfast. What more could you ask for? Stunningly beautiful scenery, an excellent range of pubs for evening meals. 5 of us stayed for the night so that we could continue our Reivers Way walk. The Tomlinson Bunkhouse provided everything we needed and is an excellent place to stay in Northunberland. Breakfast was taken in the Café and the real coffee and tasty cooked breakfast set us up for a great day of walking in the Northumberland hills.

Room Tip: Room 2 excellent - River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse

Property: Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
Address: Bridge Street | Rothbury Northumberland, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing