We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for purpose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

A lovely cafe with sound accommodation and excellent service. Our bikes were overnighted in their plush lounge area and we (two families) were offered separate rooms (having booked a single large room) for our kids allowing each to have fun without causing aggro. Cool communal spaces. A top place - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeavering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
35
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found this place on a cross country trip to Seahouses. What a great find. Food was delicious, so fresh and filling, the cakes were to die for! The blonde waitress (didn’t get her name), was a breath of fresh air, so lovely helpful and chatty, an asset to this business. I would definitely recommend a visit and will be returning when next in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 000Rach000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had read the reviews and planned to visit following a walk on simonside. Even asked for directions from a local to find. Great location and beautiful cafe. However, we asked where we could sit with our dog (it is great when cafe's allow dogs), we were curtly advised 'anywhere you want'. The cafe didn't appear over busy but we waited 15 minutes then went to ask if we could order, to again be spoken to very abruptly, 'we know you are there, we are very busy'. We are happy to wait but not to pay to be spoken to rudely! It was disappointing but we left, along with a couple of elderly ladies. My advise would be to allow people to place their orders directly if you are busy and customer service and politeness do not cost anything.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
230 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just called in on the way to somewhere for a bit of refreshment and after a walk round town decided this was the best option. Nice rustic/modern décor with wooden tables. Had coffee and cakes,all cooked on site and big portions. Menu looked good for hot food,staff were putting linen out for evening service. Everybody really friendly and made you feel like you wanted too come back,free wifi. Lounge for bunkhouse looked comfy but didn't stay so cant comment on accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireManinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went there twice and on both occasions the staff were lovely, nothing too much trouble, laid back and friendly. The cakes are just out of this world and portions very large !

Really great cafe you can tell it is a high standard when you see local people using it as opposed to other cafe's in the village. Great location by the river I wish I owned the place seems fun to run an popular enough to make a few quid and the owners deserve it well done

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Today, me and my wife thought we would have a trip up to Rothbury and have a walk along the river. We have been to Rothbury many times before and somehow have never came across Thomlinson's! And by gum haven't we been missing out! The interior is bright and relaxing with big bulky tables which are great if you bring kids as we found out there are draws full of colouring pencils and colouring books! We arrived just after a big group of lads (must have been over 10 of them), the waitress came over very promptly and told us if we would like to order food there would be a bit of a wait as all the lads were wanting a meal. We explained that it wasn't a problem and we didn't mind the extra wait. A young boy came out of the kitchen (either dish washer or kitchen prep) and took away dishes from tables as soon as customers had left, I bring this up and you can't beat cleanliness in a food and drink environment. He then made the point to come over and ask what food we were expecting and went back into the kitchen to chase it up. Our food arrived shorty after but it was definitely worth the wait as everything on our plates were definitely home-made. While we were at the cafe we saw 4 members of staff and all had big beaming smiles on their faces, obviously very happy to work there. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the chef needs an award! We will definitely be back again and will recommend it to everyone.

William & Mary

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Asby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Tomlinsons is a breath of fresh air in Rothbury, it is light airy with rooms that are amazing value for money. The atmosphere is jolly, and welcoming with a feeling of belonging ~ I can assure you, you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotorBikeHolidaysUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse

Property: Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
Address: Bridge Street | Rothbury Northumberland, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing