We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Head - Restaurant

The Queens Head - Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Rothbury
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run traditionally English friendly Inn. Situated in the beautiful village setting of Rothbury in the Coquet Valley. We have letting rooms a cosy bar and a separate restaurant. You can choose to eat in the Bar (dogs allowed) or in the restaurant, same menu and very reasonable pricing. We make our own sausages, black pudding and burgers and bake our own bread, Come and visit soon.
Bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good value, clean and friendly hotel ... nothing fancy, but a nice place to eat well. Reasonable menu, good beer and courteous and happy staff

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bpavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    114
    59
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good family meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a good night here. Nothing revolutionary to eat, but everything was well-cooked and the portions were generous.

Service was really good, and the kids gave a couple of hugs to the people that'd looked after us on the way out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Long23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your time with us and left a review, thank you very much. We enjoyed having the children, it makes for such a nice atmosphere.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rothbury”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Lovely Place Rothbury called for Dinner at the Queens Head staff lovely and friendly and very helpful, meal was nice enough but just ordinary pub grub.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyNortheners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us, its very much appreciated. We try to do good pub grub, at a reasonable price, so pleased you enjoyed it.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“e Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We did not expect fine dining from a basic pub menu but what we got was poor:-
1. A child's meal of pizza and beans where the "pizza" was a roll spread with tomatoes then cheese where the roll and cheese were burnt while the tomato was cold and the roll soggy with the tomato. The beans were half cold;
2. Fish and chips where the fish was greasy and not properly cooked;
3. Scampi and chips with only 4 (admittedly large) chips and a pile of salad tossed on top.
To add insult to injury our bill contained several items we hadn't ordered !
In fairness, it was a Bank Holiday Sunday and they were busy but..............
they should only have taken reservations for the number they could cater for.
Alternatively, the "chef" isn't capable of heating up a tin of beans .

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head - Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Sorry you had such a bad experience of our food, which is not acceptable under any circumstances, you did not mention what time it was you ate with us but I can only apologise and hope you will try us again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Staying in this beautiful Northumbrian town and visited most local hostelries.The food ,service and choice of bitter was first class at The Queen's Head and other than the intrusively loud music,the dining room was a pleasant place to be.Alexandra served us very well and no doubt this will be a place to which we will return.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffreybanwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queens Head - Restaurant also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Been to The Queens Head - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing