We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely clean and equipped cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Delightful cottage right in the heart of Rothbury.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Delightful cottage right in the heart of Rothbury.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Delightful cottage right in the heart of Rothbury.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MytripsLi...
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely clean and equipped cottage”
Reviewed June 15, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Great little cottage, with everything you need. Well maintained, clean and spacious for a couple to stay. Decor smart, fixtures and furnishings of good quality. Only downside was the lack of water pressure to the shower, but we are told that is to be addressed next week!
ideally located for exploring Northumberland, quiet but just off the high street of Rothbury where you have cafes, pubs and restaurants as well as independent shops. The locals are all really friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2018
Hi Sharon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. The plumber is installing a pump on the shower this week. Hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Graham and Dorothy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clickgran
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Dragonfly Cottage is lovely. It has everything you could want, a real home from home with very helpful owners. We would recommend it to friends and family. Rothbury too is an ideal location, close to many attractions like Cragside, Newcastle and the coast. It has plenty of shops and pubs to be able to eat in or out, all at good prices. The bus service was reliable too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you, Pamela, for such a positive review. It's always good to hear that guests have had an enjoyable time and you seem to have appreciated what Rothbury has to offer.
Best wishes,
Graham & Dorothy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary...
Denby Dale
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Partly I dont want to tell you about dragonfly cottage and Rothbury...its a hidden gem and selfishly I'd like it to stay that way. But to be fair... a great cottage, with all you need. We fell in love with the area, its a great base to explore the wonderful Northumbrian countryside. We hope to return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Rosemary, it is appreciated. So good that you enjoyed your time with us and loved the local area. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes,
Graham & Dorothy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmurphytr...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable and well equipped - in a convenient location.”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is our 3rd visit to Rothbury, but our first stay in Dragonfly Cottage. The cottage is located in the heart of Rothbury, but is very quiet, especially as it is just behind the High Street with it's many cafes, shops & pubs! It is a perfect location for visiting the spectacular Northumberland coast, Alnwick, etc., and has the stunning Cragside on it's doorstep! I would highly recommend a stay in this cottage - we will return!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and so pleased that Dragonfly Cottage lived up to it's reputation. We look forward to having you back in Rothbury in the not too distant future.
Kind regards, Graham and Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary D
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cosy and Comfortable.”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Well positioned for Rothbury. Cosy but spacious. Very well equipped. Friendly and accommodating owners who provide a good welcome and pack of goodies to get the holiday off to an excellent start.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Rothbury and that Dragonfly Cottage had everything that you needed. Thank you for your review and hopefully you will return in the near future.
Best Wishes, Graham and Dorothy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbrush17
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Home from Home”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We have been coming here for a few years now so of course we think it is wonderful.
Not just the cottage but Rothbury itself and the people here are very welcoming and friendly. Always lots to do and places to visit ,we highly recommend it. Everything you might need is in the cottage What more could one ask.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it's so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Rothbury. We live here and we're still exploring all that Northumberland has to offer! Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Graham & Dorothy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and cosy cottage, ideal for 2.”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Dragonfly Cottage - we loved it so much. Very quiet location, but at the same time close to village amenities (good butchers, bakers, general grocer etc.etc.). Cottage well equipped with everything you need - clean, cosy and comfortable. Good location for exploring Northumberland.
We'll be back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thank you for such positive comments. It's always good to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
Graham & Dorothy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing