We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfield Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Springfield Guest House
Ranked #11 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Wakefield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

In the centre of the town. A good B & B with nice spacious room, excellent breakfast and friendly owners. The Queens Head nearby has nice food but plenty of others to choose from too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gupta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    25
    8
    13
See reviews for
30
84
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Located in a quiet little village, large rooms, wonderful breakfast every morning. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. A recommendation to dine at The Queen's Head next door gave us a great 3 days of high-quality food at very reasonable prices as well. My only negative comments would be that for a 4 star place, no soap in the room and the bed was rather uncomfortable in that we both have bad backs and it was uneven (Room 2), but we'd still stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

good B&B, nice big rooms, comfortable and well serviced. Parking outside the door. Really good breakfasts. All the staff/owners where very friendly and helpful. Nice location in the centre of the village.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudywoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

what a fantastic b&b the owners are great people always there when you need them, very clean spacious rooms, room serviced all the time, food was fantastic i would reccoment this b&b to anyone coming to rothbury as it is resonably priced and in the centre of rothbury, so you are close to all amenties.
i have stayed in a few b&bs and this is far far the best i have ever stayed in defenitly a 5* for me.
i will defintly be coming back very soon.
thank you to the owners danny and gavin for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I have statehood here twice. Excellent. Owned by a lovely couple. Warm and friendly. Couldn't ask for a nicer welcolme and service. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmymcowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very warm welcome and lots of information of where to eat etc. Room was lovely and very spacious and breakfast was good. Our only complaint was that our room wasn't serviced, we arrived back from a day out to an unmade bed and no clean cups. A little disappointing for 4 star accommodation. We also had trouble unlocking our room (4) from the inside so had to leave it unlocked during the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nothing really to add to those 5-star reviews already on the site. Excellent courteous service (which I must say, we received everywhere we went in the north-east) and a lovely freshly-cooked breakfast served every morning. The room was huge - we were given a triple room but only used the double bed. I must say if our 18-year old son had been with us he would probably have complained about the single bed - when I sat on it it was as hard as concrete! However the double was lovely and comfortable! I would definitely stay there again - location was great and parking right outside the door - all parking is free in Rothbury; such a bonus! Don't be put off by the grotty front garden. It definitely needs weeding. One thing I would say about the Queens Head next door, where everybody raves about the food - I thought the lasagne was awful. We had much better food at the Cross Keys in Thropton which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frostycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Guest House

Property: Springfield Guest House
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Springfield Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Springfield Guest House is a three story Victorian townhouse. We have six large en suite rooms. Bed and breakfast starts at a very reasonable price. We have double, twin and family rooms which can sleep up to five persons. We are located right in the centre of beautiful Rothbury, an ideal base to visit the whole of Northumberland. We have off street parking and cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Springfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Guest House Hotel Rothbury
Springfield Guest House Northumberland/Rothbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing